We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Roebuck Inn

Certificate of Excellence
English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Strinesdale, Oldham, England
0161-624-7819
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 8:15 pm
Mon - Thu 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Fri 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Great standard of food every time and good portions. Well worth a visit...
Great standard of food every time and good portions. Well worth a visit. We have been 3 times this year and have not been disappointed.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 115 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 71
    Excellent
  • 26
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Fantastic menu, brilliant pub

Having last visited this pub almost 30 years ago, and since leaving the Oldham area for Yorkshire, I infrequently visit Oldam, but on Saturday decided to visit the area that once was Counthill school, and happened to drive past the Pub, I'm so glad we decided to turn round and pop in for our... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed April 26, 2015
dereklb1965
,
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Having last visited this pub almost 30 years ago, and since leaving the Oldham area for Yorkshire, I infrequently visit Oldam, but on Saturday decided to visit the area that once was Counthill school, and happened to drive past the Pub, I'm so glad we decided to turn round and pop in for our lunch,as what greeted us was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Our Choir held its Annual Meal at the Roebuck one again. There was adequate choice on the party menu which gave good value for money. There were thirty-three of us who were served in our own area with a three course meal which was enjoyed by all. We have held our annual meal at a number of establishment but we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Whether it is a special occasion or just a mid week meal when we can't be bothered to cook, the Roebuck never fails to deliver on all counts. There are a lot of regulars but the owners, Sue and Mark treat everyone the same. The menu is varied and they are happy to accommodate any special requests. We cannot fault... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
suehowarth1, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of The Roebuck, with reference to your 2 negative comments- we've been waiting for the weather to improve a little, but we have booked our car park in for a bit of a makeover!! as soon as weather permits, we are also having a disabled persons ramp put up to the front door at... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Yet again another fab meal at the Roebuck. Never had a bad one and have been lots of time. Service is very good although they were very busy as it was Mothers Day. I didn't get what I ordered but was changed very quickly. Also given a gift for Mother's Day which I thought was a very nice touch. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

We have been to the Roebuck several times and have always had excellent service and food. The Roebuck platter is massive and include three different meats, prawns, cheese, pate, pickles and salad. The Thai green chicken curry was very tasty. Staff are very friendly and efficient. Good pub grub - value for money Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

I went to the Roebuck just after Christmas as it had been recommended by a friend as being terrific for food... So disappointed with my meal, atmosphere and lack of interest from the staff. Maybe it was an off night for the Roebuck, I hope so. Had the confi duck which was over done and horrible... Left pretty much all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

I went there for the first time with the group of seven on Sunday late afternoon. The pub has rustic charm, attentive and helpful staff and very welcoming owner. I had fish and chips but it was average, nothing special. The batter was a bit soggy. My other half had mini pudding, it was a bit dry and sad. it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
suehowarth1, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that you weren't completely satisfied with the quality of your food, You say the service was excellent, our staff would have readily brought you a sauce boat of gravy for your pudding if you had asked one of them. I can assure you that all our fish is purchased twice a week from Smithfield market,... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 via mobile

Celebrated our sons 21st yesterday. 28 members of our family and everyone said how lovely the food was. The staff they couldn't do enough for us especially the waitresses. The service was prompt. Would defiantly recommend .

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

The roebck you need transport you could get a tram to centre then get a taxi it would be cheaper But it is well worth the trip food is great view you have a great view of the hill and can see Manchester on a clear day The staff go out of there way to make you comfortable and if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

The food is great, The staff are pleasent and curtious at all times ambiance. Me and my wife are regular customers. No dislikes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed The Roebuck Inn also viewed

Oldham, Greater Manchester
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Roebuck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Strinesdale, Oldham, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Oldham
  • Phone Number: 0161-624-7819

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English

Description

Great standard of food every time and good portions. Well worth a visit. We have been 3 times this year and have not been disappointed.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:15 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Roebuck Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Roebuck Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?