We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 40 Bewdley Restaurants

The Hop Pole Inn

Hop Pole Lane, Bewdley DY12 2QH, England
01299 401295
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 40 Restaurants in Bewdley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    53
    25
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

This was our third visit to the Hop and our first on a Sunday. Knowing the pub can get quite busy we booked in advance on Sunday morning for the afternoon and looked forward to trying food from the Sunday lunch Menu. The Sunday lunch menu consists of a number of starters, mains and desserts offered at a price (as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely remarks. To read all the good points is very rewarding. I will pass on your comments to everyone. More 

bewdley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

After hearing very good reviews for this place I and my freiends were looking forward to a nice meal just before Christmas. I rang and booked and was asked to pay a deposit. I replyed by saying that I was a local and it was only for Sunday lunch for 4 people and not a chrismas special menu for which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. I guess we cant get it right every time, we do get it right though the majority of the time. Cant be bothered to reply as I know The Hop is the Biz. Happy looking for the perfect restaurant. Remember though most restaurants in Dec are packed full and accidents such as yours do happy. Human... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Food was absolutely great, really good for allergies too,but the service was excruciatingly slow. Nice people but it took 2:hrs 15 mins to get through the meal. Worth the wait for the food though as that was great?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Saturday was a very busy night and although we try to get the bookings right with times so we can have a steady flow of orders into the kitchen occasionally if guests arrive late and other tables arrive early we get a bottleneck. The food is all cooked from scratch so as you can imagine is very busy for... More 

Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

What a great place. The food was excellent, a Steak and Ale pie with a proper shortcrust pastry topping, perfect! I like my Guinness and have to go to Dublin normally to get a good punt but the Guinness here is pretty damn good. We all had a great time and it will now become a regular for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. Always a good pint at The Hop. :-) More 

Bewdley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

A fantastic Sunday lunch. The staff front and back of house do such a great job. Thanks guys. Looking forward to trying out the new weekday menu, the lamb breast sounds awesome.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Sonia. Its a pleasure having you with us at The Hop. :-) More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Both my wife and I loved the hop pole as soon as we entered, the staff were friendly and we were at our pre-booked table instantly. Our food arrived shortly after ordering it. We both loved our food and the waiters made sure we were well looked after throughout our meal. Despite the quality of our food the bill still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. Look forward to seeing you again. :-) More 

Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015 via mobile

Have visited the hop a couple of times and it has been a really pleasant night on both occasions. It's a shame to see bad reviews coming in because I know how good the food and service can be. Can not complain at all. All food received was top notch and came within a decent amount of time. The front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

Many Thanks. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. :-) More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Second visit to The Hop Pole and brought friends who had never been before and had a thoroughly enjoyable night. We arrived early so could have a drink and catch up with friends and as soon as table was available we were seated. Food was ordered and when arrived was all devoured with no complaints as was delicious!! We didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

What a nice review. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. Look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Arrived prior to reservation for a table of 4. Pointed to table at allotted time from the bar. After 20 minutes had to request menus. 20 minutes later order taken. Starters fine. 3 mains arrived as requested, whilst fourth was to await accompanying vegetables. After 15 minutes had to request vegetables, at which point 3 mains mostly finished, fourth left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

Again, this must of been the same evening when service was not top notch. Thanks for the heads up we usually look after everyone really well so not sure what happened of this night. A phone call would of been great to put me in the picture so I could do something about it in more detail of who served... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

I don't live far from Bewdley, whenever I'm in need of a good meal I always think of the Hop Pole.. Until now.. Arrived at 7pm (table of 8), ordered drinks, had to ask for a menu as the waiters/waitresses had handed menus to every table apart from ours, ordered starters at 7:30pm however didn't receive them until 8:20pm! Had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

Not sure what happened here guess we never hit the spot on this occasion. We've taken your comments on board and will be talking to those concerned. I'm guessing if you have been many times you will know this isn't the usual Hop Pole so please do feel like you can return, we must of been having an off night... More 

Travelers who viewed The Hop Pole Inn also viewed

 
Bewdley, Worcestershire
Bewdley, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Hop Pole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hop Pole Inn

Address: Hop Pole Lane, Bewdley DY12 2QH, England
Phone Number: 01299 401295
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Worcestershire  >  Bewdley
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Monday 12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Thursday 12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Friday 12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Saturday 12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Cuisine: English

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hop Pole Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?