We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hop Pole Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Mexican, English, Pub
Improve this listing
Redo Search in Map
See more hotels in your map view
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Hop Pole Lane, Bewdley DY12 2QH, England
01299 401295
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 405 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 280
    Excellent
  • 65
    Very good
  • 29
    Average
  • 20
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Very good

Felt very welcoming, staff friendly, and meal was good :) nice and relaxed , clean and tidy atmosphere

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 21, 2015
laura200991
via mobile
Good for:
  • Special occasions
Add Photo Write a Review

405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015 NEW via mobile

Felt very welcoming, staff friendly, and meal was good :) nice and relaxed , clean and tidy atmosphere

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 NEW

Three of us had Sunday lunch at the Hop pole inn as part of a large ( around 40 ) birthday party. We ordered my 9 year old the 'mini roast ' with some trepidation, as we have experienced some very tiny children's meals, but luckily this was very generous indeed. Our roast dinners were also very good, all was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

Many Thanks. More 

Bewdley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 NEW

Good pub grub,a little above the average.Good choice and good service.Not an easy place to get into if you have mobility problems.Good,well priced Sunday Lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 NEW

excellent and varied menu. changed regularly using fresh and local produce where possible. will most certainly go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madeira, Portugal
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 NEW

My wife and I visited the Hop Pole last evening and enjoyed a fabulous meal. The staff were also very polite, informative and ensured our needs we met. A very enjoyable evening

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015 NEW

A lovely smell of dog as we walked in, with at least 3 in the doorway as we entered. One was walking under the table as we ate, with no apology from the owners or staff. Took ages to get a drink, in fact as service finally arrived we were in the middle of working out where else to go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

Can't believe how rude this review is! The owner of the dog that came over to you did apologise as I watched on. I was conscious of the dog so we moved you immediately into the restaurant where no dogs are allowed. You never requested this we took it upon us as we sensed that dogs aren't your bag! Our... More 

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

We went to The Hop Pole Inn for a family celebration. We had a fabulous meal and service was outstanding. One of our family members came from Birmingham and was very impressed and said he will definitely be back. The fish pie was the best I have had my partners beef was perfect (his words). Very impressed with The Hop... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015 via mobile

Could have been lovely, but it wasnt! Lovely ambiance & Food nice once all cooked properly. however one fish dish arrived VERY raw (surely it should be checked). Sent it back to wait 15 minutes for a new one. I understand it has to be cooked again. But Obviously by which point everyone else has finished there meals. Not the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

The reason there was no discount given was because the freshly cooked fish came out within 4 minutes and we apologised for the inconvenience. The original fish was very slightly under would of benefitted from 10 seconds longer as we said we were very sorry. The plates were totally cleared and on asking if you had all enjoyed your meal... More 

Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

8 of us booked lunch at The Hop Pole, Saturday 9th May, our 6 friends came from Birmingham, and around. We had been in November for my Birthday Lunch, which was equally as Fab! In fact it was that good 1 of our group, rang a couple of weeks prior to this visit and asked Darren & Louise ( hosts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hagley
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

It may have been an off night based on other reviews but we were disappointed with the service and the food. The bread and olives starter took ages to come and when we were asked where it was we were told the bread was being baked. When it did come the bread was all white and bland. The next course... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

Yes this is true our chef did undercook your fish which we were very apologetic about. We did ask you if your main course could be taken to the kitchen while we addressed this so that you would be eating at the same time as your wife which you declined. What we did when the dish was returned to you... More 

Travelers who viewed The Hop Pole Inn also viewed

 
Bewdley, Worcestershire
Bewdley, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Hop Pole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Hop Pole Lane, Bewdley DY12 2QH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Worcestershire  >  Bewdley
  • Phone Number: 01299 401295

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Mexican, English, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hop Pole Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?