We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Gryphon

54 Mount Gretna Rd, Elizabethtown, PA 17022-1395
717-367-1859
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #14 of 36 restaurants in Elizabethtown
Cuisines: English
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    10
    13
    5
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We discovered The Black Gryphon a few months ago while hunting for a place open on Sunday and have added it to our list of regular favorites. My husband has a passion for good beer and loves their selection of unique varieties and craft brews. Their food is consistently great and I am always impressed with their use of seasonal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Downingtown, PA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Although this restaurant was recommended to us we were very disappointed with the food. The service was OK however when we expressed our dissatisfaction with the food which we hardly ate any of it, we were shocked that they did not discount our check. I doubt we would go back to this restaurant. They have a huge bar if that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
blackgryphon, Owner at The Black Gryphon, responded to this review

Sorry for your disappointment with your dining experience at our restaurant. We train all of our staff when a patron is not pleased that we are informed right away, so that gives us a chance to correct the situation. We have spoke with our staff who would have been present at the time that you dined with us and they... More

Carlisle, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I must say I was very surprised to see some of the reviews posted on this site. I can only express my opinion based on my personal experiences, and I have been to The Black Gryphon countless times over the course of the past year. I have never had a negative experience or a meal that I was not completely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My wife and I stumbled onto this place more or less by accident, but was drawn in by the hope of an inviting English pub. It almost got there. I think there is a lot of potential, but based on our experience, it fell way short. There was no one thing that gave me that impression, just lots of little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackgryphon, Owner at The Black Gryphon, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with our establishment & your experience. Let me first explain that you were here on a Thursday, which is $1 Taco Night, which was not mentioned in your review, so, yes, the portion in each taco are smaller than what you would normally get on our taco plate on our lite fare... More

Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This place is gross. The exterior of the building is covered in mold and mildue - so you can imagine what the kitchen must look like. The interior of the place is dark, dingy, has a "dirty-mop" smell, with food all over the floor (welcome critters). The service was slow, the food was cold, the drinks had an odd scum... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackgryphon, Owner at The Black Gryphon, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with our establishment. To respond to your concerns about cleanliness, I will do them one at a time: Exterior of the building is not soiled by mold it is caused by road dirt, since we are in a heavily traffic area. Also, it has been caused by damage to our gutters over... More

Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife had made reservations for last Saturday night based on a recent article's advice. At the last moment I wanted to double check the address and I came upon the reviews. We almost cancelled our reservation but took a chance anyway. All in all everything really was pretty good. We were greeted by the chef (the owner I guess)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Repeat visit, first time was extremely bad. During this visit the place was quite busy and yet they were able to keep up fairly well. Food was really good. Service good. Interesting menu so maybe not the place for a meat and potato lover. Need to visit again to experience more selection of menu and consistency of service. I would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Just visited this business, 1/3/14. Never again. Worst experience I have ever endured. Looked forward to the visit based on reviews and a Double Take certificate. Mildly busy Friday evening arrival 5:30 pm. Bar was busy but chairs were vacant but had coats on them as if saved or reserved for someone, we choose a pub table in the bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackgryphon, Owner at The Black Gryphon, responded to this review

We are very sorry for your experience at our restaurant. Though we strive to provide everyone who comes in an excellent experience, we fell short with yours. Unfortunately, due to the weather situation, we did not have all of our workers there that evening and, as you witnessed, we had a full house of patrons. When asking about a managers... More

E-town Pa.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

It is a hit or miss when I eat here sometimes great and sometimes Ok. Very,very exspensive beer on tap would be nice to have a domestic beer on tap for those of us who don't like spending upwards of 5plus for a beer. Good music and great entertainment going on but a bit snooty there

Was this review helpful? Yes
pennsylvania
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We've been the Black Gryphon 3-times now and we've always had a nice experience. The last time we sat at the bar and enjoyed really great service from Dave. He probably just thought he was doing his job, but I thought it was all the little extra things he did that made the evening very enjoyable. Happy hour is great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Black Gryphon also viewed

Elizabethtown, Lancaster County
Elizabethtown, Lancaster County
 
Elizabethtown, Lancaster County
Elizabethtown, Lancaster County
 

Been to The Black Gryphon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Gryphon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing