We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Bouchon

517 NW 14th Ave, Portland, OR 97209-2201 (Pearl)
503-248-2193
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #471 of 3,561 Restaurants in Portland
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Bouchon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $21 - $40
Hours:
Tue - Thu 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Tue - Fri 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Fri - Sat 5:30 pm - 11:00 am
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Pearl
Description: Welcome to Le Bouchon! Our family owned restaurant offers an authentic French dining experience and traditional French cuisine with a country flare.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We enjoyed our anniversary dinner hear at Le Bouchon. We try to come here when we are in town, first time was nine years ago. The appetizers, the lamb, fish, shell fish right on through to desert. The restaurant is small, the staff the perfect pay you just enough attention without being obtrusive, plus they have a great since of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Claude M, Owner at Le Bouchon, responded to this review

We're humbled by your nice review. Thank you! it's our pleasure to be able to share our passion for food with others, but this kind of support is greatly appreciated. Happy anniversary to the two of you, and thank you for celebrating with us! Merci, Claude, Owner More

Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Authentic bistro food and atmosphere. Excelkent price and very reasonable menu. The daily specials are always excellent, especially the cassoulet and snapper.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claude M, Owner at Le Bouchon, responded to this review

Thank you, kindly, for spreading the word about our place. I hope we'll be seeing you back for a great lunch sometime soon. Merci, Claude, Owner More

Banks, OR
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Although we've dined (and enjoyed) dinner here several times, this was our first lunchtime experience at Le Bouchon. We both had the Lyonnais French Onion soup, which was singularly excellent. My wife enjoyed the chicken breast with cream sauce, and I had a lunch special of porc (served over a very flavorful pasta). Both were very good. We finished with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Claude M, Owner at Le Bouchon, responded to this review

Comments like these make our day. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and everyone else. It sounds like you two really enjoyed everything, from the French Onion soup, to dinner and dessert. I greatly appreciate this nice dose of encouragement, and am looking forward to passing it along to everyone else! Sincerely, Claude, Owner More

Cary, NC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were expecting to be "wowed" by this restaurant, based on the reviews. Unfortunately, that didn't happen. Food was good, but not great. Atmosphere was not intimate, as we thought it might be. It is more like a bistro rather than a romantic french restaurant. The Coquille St Jaques was very good, but entrees were just average. For dessert, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claude M, Owner at Le Bouchon, responded to this review

I, too, am disappointed that you weren't "wowed" by your experience here. I'm curious — which main courses did you order? A lot of detailed thought goes into all of the dishes on our menu, and any specific feedback that you have is always appreciated. As far as our atmosphere, we want everyone to feel welcome in our unpretentious setting.... More

Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Le Bouchon is an unpretentious cafe that serves absolutely delicious French food at very reasonable prices (including the wines). The is a family run operation that takes pride in every aspect of your dining experience. We sampled a wide variety of dishes from the menu and daily specials: salmon, red snapper, confit of duck, coquilles St. Jacques, tarte tatin. All... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claude M, Owner at Le Bouchon, responded to this review

I really enjoyed reading this – thank you for sharing your experience and summing us up quite nicely. I hope that you enjoyed Portland. If you ever find yourself near, we'd love to have you back. Enjoy your week, John, and thanks again! Sincerely, Claude, Owner More

Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I've been to Paris many times and Le Bouchon could be found on any fashionable street there. Every dish served has been prepared with the typical love and care of the French. Sample any entree and enjoy each bite of pure gustatory delight. I love this place. Good wine selection, good, but small dessert offerings. Try the Coquille St Jacques... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Claude M, Owner at Le Bouchon, responded to this review

"Pure gustatory delight" -- what a way with words! And what compliments, thank you! An authentic experience is really important to me. Please do come back again soon. Cheers, Claude, Owner More

washington st.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Good ambiance..French/Lyonnais owners know their food. Nothing is even average ..top shelf. Impress your friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claude M, Owner at Le Bouchon, responded to this review

What a pleasant way to start my week! Thank you for your kind words – I'm glad you enjoy the scallops. Hope to see you back by soon. Best, Claude (Owner) More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Authentic French cuisine in an intimate and romantic setting that is family friendly. It is affordably priced with a French atmosphere and food made from scratch and local ingredients. I highly recommend the escargot, French onion soup, lamb shank and all of their desserts, especially the chocolate mousse.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claude M, Owner at Le Bouchon, responded to this review

Thank you for the review – I'm pleased you find the food superb! We try to bring a little bit of Paris to Portland, so it's nice to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience. Join us again soon! Take care, Claude, Owner More

Hillsboro, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Went here for lunch. Had the shrimp salad special and the split pea soup. The salad was a bit oily but still managed to be very flavorful. The shrimp were grilled to perfection. The soup was also very good. Had the creme brûlée for dessert. Had an almond flavor to it which was a first for me. It was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claude M, Owner at Le Bouchon, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Your feedback is very much appreciated. Glad you were impressed by the food – your dessert choice was definitely a great one. I hope to be able to help you add more of our menu items to your repertoire soon. All the best, Claude, Owner More

Seattle,WA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I went to Le Bouchon after reading all the positive reviews. We went on a Saturday night so we expected it to be busy. What we weren't expecting was for there only to be one server for a fine dining restaurant of fifteen tables. We had a reservation and were seated fairly quickly, but it took fifteen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claude M, Owner at Le Bouchon, responded to this review

I appreciate your detailed review. It's very helpful to read through our customers' experiences. I want to apologize for the stale service you received. It sounds like we were understaffed that night -- which is no excuse, but I do want to stress that we usually maintain a much higher level of service. It's important to me that every customer... More

Travelers who viewed Le Bouchon also viewed

 

Been to Le Bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bouchon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing