We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ecola Seafoods Restaurant & Market

$$
Chowder, Seafood
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
208 North Spruce Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
503-436-9130
Website
Today
10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 307 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 108
    Excellent
  • 125
    Very good
  • 45
    Average
  • 21
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Seafood at its best

This establishment isn't much to look at, but the seafood was amazing. As an added bonus, the prices couldn't be beat, and the size of the portions was just right. This little eating place was recommended by our innkeeper, at it did not disappoint.

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 18, 2015
John P
,
Phoenix, Arizona
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
  • Dining on a budget
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 NEW via mobile

Had seen review in magazine and thought we'd try. Not great. Yes, it's a fish market.....not fancy. Wine in a plastic cup. They tout their clam chowder. Ugh! It's potato soup, NOT clam chowder. Thick and bland. Also ordered fried oysters....lightly breaded. Just fair. Greasy. Yes, lightly breaded with lots of fries. In a paper tray w plastic forks. Not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015 NEW

This establishment isn't much to look at, but the seafood was amazing. As an added bonus, the prices couldn't be beat, and the size of the portions was just right. This little eating place was recommended by our innkeeper, at it did not disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Cola Seafood used to be a staple stop when visiting Cannon Beach. We would primarily get their crabs to take home. But the last couple of visits the crab has been previously frozen (never buy frozen Dungeness Crab!!) and the staff cagy about that issue. This place is a Road Food favorite and now I am concerned it is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy B, Owner at Ecola Seafoods Restaurant & Market, responded to this review

If you ever have any concerns please let me know. I try to be very clear with signage and informed employees on what is fresh, including what is coming in off our boats. The crab season is winding down and it is very hard to get fresh crab but our signage is clear. We too are disappointed in the tough... More 

Freeland, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

This is just a little seafood shop that also cooks to order several varieties of fish and chips. Delicious, plenty and very casual.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sherwood, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

It was Spring Break, and the place was packed, so we figured it would be decent because of all of the "fresh Seafood" signs. Boy were we wrong. I'll break it down as quickly as possible for you. And honestly, it wasn't just poor food, but horrible cleanliness, so I'm writing this review as a public service announcement. To start... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Walked into a fresh sea food market expecting healthy good to discover deep FAT fried food. Disappointing as fish tacos looked rolled into one long tortilla with nasty looking fish. Sad! Visit again. NEVER

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cindy B, Owner at Ecola Seafoods Restaurant & Market, responded to this review

I am sorry for the poor impression you had upon visiting our family operated market and fish and chips restaurant. We take great pride in fishing our own boats and providing fresh seafood directly from the Pacific to our customers. We are primarily fish and chips, however with the sometimes overwhelming amount of customers it is easy to miss that... More 

Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

The whole crab dinner looked great at a good price and you sit at picnic tables with hordes of people coming and going and bumping into you... very crowded and noisy. if you want some fish and can go elsewhere to eat it unless you want loud and chaotic-- do that. rather uneven service....at counter...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We tried the fresh prawn cocktail - delicious, and the clam chowder - good and tasty but not the best we ever had. Then we tried the crab melt. Not what we expected - bland cheese smothering crab on a toasted bread, blah!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

This place is a must-visit in Cannon Beach. It's off the main street by one block but just across the street from the parking lot/public bathrooms. The seafood is always fresh tasting and flavorful. Fish and chips is always my favorite but my husband goes for the clam chowder. Definitely a great lunch!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Every time we come to the coast, this is a must-stop. Many varieties of fish and chips (I get the salmon and chips). Very local and authentic. It gets busy, and is a bit expensive, but that never stops us from coming here. When you're in Cannon, you want to eat quickly and then get outside and have fun, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Ecola Seafoods Restaurant & Market also viewed

 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Ecola Seafoods Restaurant & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 208 North Spruce Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
  • Location: United States  >  Oregon (OR)  >  Oregon Coast  >  Cannon Beach
  • Phone Number: 503-436-9130

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15
  • Cuisine: Chowder, Seafood

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 7:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ecola Seafoods Restaurant & Market staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?