We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cannon Beach Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
1116 S. Hemlock Street, Cannon Beach Hotel, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
+1 503-436-1392
Website
Today
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A small Parisian-style Cafe located inside the historic Cannon Beach Hotel...
A small Parisian-style Cafe located inside the historic Cannon Beach Hotel featuring a fresh, delicious gourmet lunch menu which consists of sandwiches, soups, salads, Lunch Boxes To Go. Freshly brewed local coffee, specialty teas and fine Italian sodas are available. With upscale decor featuring original Cannon Beach seascape and landscape black and white photographs, wine colored walls, floors of classic black and white tile with rich wood trim, and a stunning tin ceiling, the interior provides the perfect setting for lunch during a beach get away. An open air patio with tables and umbrellas allow for al fresco dining. Bon Appetit!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 92 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 55
    Excellent
  • 18
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Delicious food, great atmosphere.

The food was full of taste sensations. We began with two starters: scallops and the charcuterie plate. Both were excellent and the cured meats, many of which were local, rivaled anything we have tasted. They were paired with small yellow plums and thinly sliced pear and apple. Fantastic. The... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 16, 2015
Robin G
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Local cuisine
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015 NEW

We had a very disappointing experience, especially given our expectations. We had reservations for our family of 4, and after a short walk from the Seagull Inn we were greeted by... no one. There were two tables with customers on the patio, and one table inside---so not exactly a packed or busy night! I stood in the doorway for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015 NEW

Made reservations for five on Wednesday night, 7/28. Waitress was friendly. Food took a long time to come out. Quality was OK. Chowder was average and heirloom tomato salad as an entree was more like an appetizer. The seafood dish was good. Overall, the food was overpriced but the outdoor seating made up for it. Might come back for lunch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015 NEW

What a disappointment. Initially greeted by a rude individual who we later learned was the chef. The restaurant missed its daily shipment, so a lot of items were not available. The wait staff were very apologetic, however it was a tense environment with the chef. Meals were long to wait and not complete, seems the chef was off his game.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at Cannon Beach Cafe, responded to this review

Dear VR Crews, We are terribly sorry, this is not the customer service we provide. Our customers are everything to us. I spoke to the Chef. The restaurant had already closed when you arrived and the kitchen in the process of closing. We were short staffed and he sincerely apologize that you did not feel welcomed. Our server was indisposed,... More 

Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 NEW

We chose this restaurant after a pleasant walk from the Stephanie Inn. We were greeted by a very rude individual who we later learned was the chef. We inquired at the desk of the hotel as to whether restaurant was open because the signed on the door said closed. It was a mistake and was angrily removed by the person... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 NEW

Stood 15 minutes at the entrance waiting to be seated at 1:30 on a weekday. Waitress was taking an order from the only occupied table (granted they took their time), never looked up, never acknowledged our presence. By the time she got around to seating anyone, there were 3 couples waiting, ans she seated one that arrived 10 minutes after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cannon Beach, Oregon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 NEW

This place has changed chefs more times since the new owner took over than years of change. Plenty of good talent but they never stay more than a season. Hmm, makes you think it's probably not the help that is the problem. The same menu has been recycled each time a new chef comes in and quality goes down considerably.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Although our lodging was fantastic, the dinner at the restaurant was far from fantastic. The meal was very expensive e forward such a mediocre food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

The food was full of taste sensations. We began with two starters: scallops and the charcuterie plate. Both were excellent and the cured meats, many of which were local, rivaled anything we have tasted. They were paired with small yellow plums and thinly sliced pear and apple. Fantastic. The entrees were made with fresh local ingredients and were individually prepared.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

There are only a few tables in this very small restaurant so you could be forgiven for expecting more attentive service. The menu boldly reads "Ask about our daily specials" but when we visited there weren't any. The food was very disappointing. My wife's filet was half medium, half raw (not rare, raw). My beef bourguignon was cold and without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at Cannon Beach Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Talisker, We apologize and are simply appalled at your experience, this is not the customer service we are so proud of, the time with your family at the beach should be a memorable occasion. Our chef, who worked under Wolfgang Puck, is a perfectionist. Our ingredients are the best we can purchase and we provide excellent customer service.... More 

Kankakee, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Decided to try this place after a trip to haystack rock. Had a great Porkbelly BLT with awesome home made pickles and a sweet potato salad. reasonably priced in such a touristy town

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Cannon Beach Cafe also viewed

Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Cannon Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannon Beach Cafe

Address: 1116 S. Hemlock Street, Cannon Beach Hotel, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Phone Number: +1 503-436-1392
Location: United States  >  Oregon (OR)  >  Oregon Coast  >  Cannon Beach
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 10 - 35
Cuisine: French, American

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1116 S. Hemlock Street, Cannon Beach Hotel, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
  • Location: United States  >  Oregon (OR)  >  Oregon Coast  >  Cannon Beach
  • Phone Number: +1 503-436-1392

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 10 - 35
  • Cuisine: French, American

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic

Description

A small Parisian-style Cafe located inside the historic Cannon Beach Hotel featuring a fresh, delicious gourmet lunch menu which consists of sandwiches, soups, salads, Lunch Boxes To Go. Freshly brewed local coffee, specialty teas and fine Italian sodas are available. With upscale decor featuring original Cannon Beach seascape and landscape black and white photographs, wine colored walls, floors of classic black and white tile with rich wood trim, and a stunning tin ceiling, the interior provides the perfect setting for lunch during a beach get away. An open air patio with tables and umbrellas allow for al fresco dining. Bon Appetit!
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cannon Beach Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?