We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great Karoo Marketplace

7000 Kalahari Drive, Kalahari Resort, Sandusky, OH
(877) 525-2427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 159 restaurants in Sandusky
Cuisines: Family Fare
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
6 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    25
    21
    19
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The buffet was delicious- lots of gourmet looking creations (eggs benedict, smoothies, pastries, etc.). The french toast and pancakes, potatoes, bacon....all were delicious! The $14.99 price tag however....was a little steep. We probably wouldn't have eaten there if we didn't have vouchers to do so, and with a $14.99/person price, I would expect custom omelets or belgian waffles or something.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Great Karoo Marketplace, responded to this review

Thank you for giving Great Karoo a try. I am happy you were able to find some delicious eats on the buffet. The eggs benedict, pancakes and bacon are all my favorite parts of breakfast. What a bonus that you were able to use vouchers for your buffets. Thanks again for the review and we look forward to seeing you... More

Parma, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Service was good and the food average but not really HOT so by the time you sat to eat it was barley warm. It is a buffet so you can have seconds etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Great Karoo Marketplace, responded to this review

Thank you for giving the Great Karoo a try. I am sorry to hear that your food wasn't to the hot temperature. I can assure you that all of our food is cooked thoroughly and the time spent out on the buffet before consumption is minimal. I hope you will give Great Karoo a try in the future so that... More

Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The buffet quality was quite good. In comparing their buffet to Great Wolf Lodge Niagara Falls buffet, I would say they're comparable. The kids preferred GWL because they have a self serve soft ice cream machine. We would eat here again next time we visit Kalahari.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Great Karoo Marketplace, responded to this review

Hey Manny. Thank you for the review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed Great Karoo and that you'd eat here again. Thank you for the suggestion about the soft serve ice cream. I'll send that on. In the mean time, next time you are at Kalahari, stop by our Chill Factory frozen yogurt bar! Thanks again and we'll... More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

the food was good ..not that wow but good with very affordable price and good and fast service ..its actually more than three stars but less than four ..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Great Karoo Marketplace, responded to this review

Hi Sarah. I am sorry to hear the restaurant experience at Great Karoo wasn't fully satisfactory for you. I hope that on your next visit to Kalahari Resorts, you not only get a great value, but you enjoy the quality and service that we hold our standards to. Take are and thank you for the feedback. More

Warren, OH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our family had breakfast here, cold cereal, donuts, yogurt. It was good. My husband got a breakfast Panini and he loved it! It was fast, a little pricey.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Great Karoo Marketplace, responded to this review

Hi Dawn! Thanks for your compliments on our croissants & food! I will be sure to pass them onto our Food & Beverage Director & chefs! Take care! More

Orchard Park, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our family went to the Great Karoo for the breakfast buffet, and were surprised at the wide variety of options. The fruit was fresh, well prepared, and constantly refilled. The pastries and eggs benedict were also very good. There is something for everyone here, with four different types of eggs benedict alone. Our server was very friendly, even if the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
travelinmama11
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Breakfast buffet to die for! My big-breakfast-lovin 4 year old was in heaven! Very clean, huge selection, delicious food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Great Karoo Marketplace, responded to this review

I'm very glad that your big-breakfast-loving 4 year old loved it! Thank you so very much for your comments about our breakfast buffet! We hope to have the pleasure of having you & your family as our guest again soon. More

Yale, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Dinner buffet was very good. They had an array of foods from all types of cusine, Italian, asian, etc. The dessert buffet was huge featuring cheesecake, cake, little tarts, triffles, and cookies. It was very pricey but I would go back maybe one more time due to the cost.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Great Karoo Marketplace, responded to this review

Hi Christine! Thanks for the compliments on our buffet in Great Karoo. I would like to suggest that you check out some of our packages, some of them include the buffet & guests find the "all-inclusive" pricing a great value. We look forward to seeing you again! More

Sandusky, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had 7 people in our group, had to wait. Bit for a table. The line for the buffet was slow moving, food was ok ~ nothing special. We decided to eat off the resort the next morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Great Karoo Marketplace, responded to this review

Hello Sarah, I appreciate you taking the time to review us & provide your feedback. I will be sure to pass your comments onto our management as we are always looking for ways to improve. Thank you for being our guest. More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Great Karoo never disappoints, great breakfast and worth the money, *tip* prepay for the buffet when you make your room reservation to save a few dollars

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Great Karoo Marketplace, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience & for being our guest! More

Travelers who viewed Great Karoo Marketplace also viewed

 

Been to Great Karoo Marketplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Karoo Marketplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing