We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy

Mexican
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
5010 Deerfield Blvd., Bldg. 8000, (in Deerfield Towne Center), Mason, OH 45040
513 336-7449
Website
Today
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 54 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 20
    Excellent
  • 17
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Good food, miserable bartender!

Ate at the bar. Food was great. Blonde, short haired bartender was a BI! Never smiled. She hates her job! No one bussed the bar. Would have given 5 stars if not for her. Been here before; different, nice bartender! Maybe I'll wait for a table next time.

4 of 5 starsReviewed November 22, 2014
justsabrinad
,
Mason, Ohio, USA
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Abuelo's has a large menu. They bring an assortment of salsas with the chips. The food seems like run of the mill Mexican. We had drinks that were pretty good. It's a good place for children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David H, Manager at Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, responded to this review

We definitely want to be more than run of the mill here. Thank you for the feedback, and we'll be sure to look into it for you. We do hope you'll stop by again soon so that we can have another go at impressing you. Best, David More 

Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

What's the point of an upscale Mexican restaurant when the food is on par with other, more authentic, less expensive, south of the border "watering holes". Sure, the atmosphere is comfortable...the salsas are unique...the food is decent....and the service attentive...but the prices are excessive for tacos and beans! In my opinion, $14.00 (incl. tip) for a single lunch is too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David H, Manager at Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, responded to this review

Steve, thank you for leaving your feedback -- it's very much appreciated. We always want to improve here, and your opinion is so valuable to us in troubleshooting. We want to make sure that the food and service here are always worth the prices you're paying, so please rest assured that we will look into the lunch issue for you.... More 

Loveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

bring your readers, the menu is huge... it reads like a book.. lots of great offerings, creative, broad range of meats, presentation, etc. - can be a bit loud.. but service is always positive, responsive, and friendly. - their green enchiladas are a perfect balance of flavor, quality and substance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David H, Manager at Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, responded to this review

Ben, we're so delighted to hear that you liked the variety in the menu. Those green enchiladas really hit the spot for you! We';re always happy to serve you here, so don't hesitate to stop by whenever you feel like grabbing a meal! Best, David More 

Mason, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Food is usually week cooked and the choices of fare are varied. If you can't find it here then you must've one to the wrong place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David H, Manager at Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, responded to this review

Hi there, Terry. I'm glad to see that you enjoy the variety of food that we offer here. Definitely hope to see more of you. Be sure to let our staff know what we can do to make your experience even better next time. Best, David More 

Mason, Ohio, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Ate at the bar. Food was great. Blonde, short haired bartender was a BI! Never smiled. She hates her job! No one bussed the bar. Would have given 5 stars if not for her. Been here before; different, nice bartender! Maybe I'll wait for a table next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David H, Manager at Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, responded to this review

I'm so embarrassed to hear about the bartender -- we definitely want all our staff to add to the Abuelo's experience, and to hear that her attitude was off-putting is very disappointing to hear. Please rest assured that I will be speaking to her to figure out what went wrong. In the meantime, we hope to see you back here... More 

Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

We went here on a Friday night and had a 30 minute wait. This is a popular place on a Friday night! We both ordered seafood entrees, one salmon and one barramundi. Both were OK but not great. They jazz up the fish with various toppings which some may like but to me, it hides the real taste of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David H, Manager at Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, responded to this review

Sorry to hear about the cilantro rice. We want all our dishes to be equally good, and to hear that that side-dish was a let down is certainly disappointing. We hope that the free dessert we offered made up for it. Thank you for your patience with us, and the next time you're here, feel free to try another dish... More 

West Chester, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

My wife & I went out for dinner with neighbors one night recently. We had the intention of dining at another restaurant. Well, that particular restaurant doesn't happen to be open on Mondays. We found ourselves without a destination. So we starting naming restaurants that we knew we could get to without having to drive much farther. None of us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David H, Manager at Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, responded to this review

Nothing like stumbling upon something you like by coincidence! We can't thank you enough for picking us that night -- it must've been pretty frustrating to find out that your first choice wasn't open, but we're happy we were able to pick up the slack! You can always expect those big portions, great food, and awesome service with us. Hope... More 

Hayling Island
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We've been many times when visiting the area over the years and we do enjoy the flavours of Abuelo's dishes. We were fairly late for lunch and the restaurant was almost empty. I still enjoy looking at the murals. It's lovely the way that the warm nachos and salsa dips arrive so quickly and you have to take care not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David H, Manager at Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, responded to this review

Always glad to have you come in on your trips! Thank you for picking us all this time -- we'll make sure that you can expect the same (if not better) great food, service, and atmosphere each time you come in. Always be sure to save some room after the chips! See you on your next trip! We'll be counting... More 

Mason, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

I used to love going to Abuelos. The interior is decorated as if it were an open courtyard and is a nice change of pace from the typical chain restaurants. The food is good, and a good value. But The service and quality of the food seems to have gone downhill over the past couple of years. Ordered our old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David H, Manager at Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, responded to this review

Bryan, this is certainly distressing to read. As a return customer, the last thing we would want for you is to see the consistency and good flavor of our food decrease over the years. We only want the best for you. Whether it's a chile con queso or a house special, it should be delicious. I will definitely be talking... More 

Ohio
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

The restaurant is a bit loud, but festive and the service is very good as is the food. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David H, Manager at Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, responded to this review

We'd love to have you back anytime! Our apologies about the noise -- our festive atmosphere does tend to get a bit rowdy at times. Be sure to ask your host to give you a quieter table. We'll be more than happy to accommodate your request. See you soon! Best, David More 

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy also viewed

Mason, Warren County
Mason, Warren County
 
Mason, Warren County
 

Been to Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 5010 Deerfield Blvd., Bldg. 8000, (in Deerfield Towne Center), Mason, OH 45040
  • Location: United States  >  Ohio (OH)  >  Warren County  >  Mason
  • Phone Number: 513 336-7449

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Mexican
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?