We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Leconfield

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
French, British, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
New Street, Petworth GU28 0AS, England
+44 1798 345111
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tue - Sat 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Leconfield restaurant and bar is nestled in the heart of Petworth...
The Leconfield restaurant and bar is nestled in the heart of Petworth, voted by The Times as one of the best 30 places for Sunday lunch in the UK
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 219 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 121
    Excellent
  • 45
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 14
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Agree with a previous contributor..

My friend and I arranged to meet at the Leconfield for the lunchtimeTapas menu that had been advertised in a local magazine. It wasn't offered and we had to ask for the menu..we were only given the full lunch menu....We did get the impression of disappointment that we were having tapas and not... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 30, 2015
Deborah R
,
Billingshurst
Good for:
  • Special occasions
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015 NEW

This was our first visit to The Leconfield - and it absolutely won't be our last! We were lucky enough to be treated to this visit for a birthday celebration so we had private dining in the Woodcock room on the first floor, which has a lovely ante-room beside it which has squashy sofas! The restaurant is beautifully appointed -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

The food is really very nice and the service is always friendly, very professional and quick. The atmosphere is beautiful. We love coming to the Leconfield for every chance we get.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

Have you ever been in a restaurant, enjoyed yourself but left not really sure why you enjoyed yourself?! That is what happened to me the other day after having lunch with some friends. The Leconfield is delightful, lovely atmosphere as you enter and the staff are really cheerful, warm and friendly. We sat downstairs, nice table in a corner but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pulborough
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015 via mobile

Not sure what August comments are a about but the food, quality of service and total experience was exceptional - although they were bust that evening with Goodwood Race goers we were made to feel very special and our food was of exceptional quality. Well done and thank you to Richard and all the members of staff who made our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Leconfield, Assistant Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your experience at The Leconfield Restaurant. We are so pleased that you feel the service and food are up to exceptional standards as we take pride in providing this to our customers. It is important for the team to know that we are maintaining standards and also pleasing the customers. We hope to see you dine... More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015

Not sure what the fuss is about. Food was ok, service was defiantly just ok. Wine not chilled just slightly under room temp. There are many other places offering this standard of all round service for half the cost. I would shop around.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Leconfield, Assistant Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience at The Leconfield. We are sorry that your experience was not an entirely positive one. Our standards are high and we strive to maintain them, we take pride in offering excellent food and service. Your review doesn't offer us much detail on your visit and we would like to... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

I had lunch at The Leconfield today and found the food, wine, service and atmosphere to be of a very high standard. The set menu was excellent and the staff were attentive and well mannered. I dined with my partner in the Courtyard, which was wonderful and intimate (despite the wasps) and made for a delightful afternoon. I would recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fittleworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

My son and I decided to stop off for lunch, after a lovely morning shopping in Guildford. We were not disappointed. The warm welcome and level of service was as good as ever and the food simply delicious. The Leconfield never disappoints .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billingshurst
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

My friend and I arranged to meet at the Leconfield for the lunchtimeTapas menu that had been advertised in a local magazine. It wasn't offered and we had to ask for the menu..we were only given the full lunch menu....We did get the impression of disappointment that we were having tapas and not ordering from the lunch menu......Also, we felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Leconfield, Assistant Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your experience at The Leconfield Restaurant. Our tapas menu is offered Tuesdays to Saturdays and we wouldn't expect a member of staff to give you the impression of disappointment that you had chosen from this menu when you visited. The tapas menu runs alongside our Set Menu and A La Carte menu to give customers a... More 

Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

We were greeted by Richard as we walked in. What a change to feel welcome in a restaurant of this standard. We knew we would enjoy the evening then. The staff were attentive and unobtrusive. We had a table by the window. Very well set up. I chose a lamb rump with a Moroccan style casserole. I am unable to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Plaistow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

I have twice used the private dining rooms for birthday lunches.On both occasions, our particular requirements were adhered to and the food as well as service outstanding.An excellent venue for special occasions when a private room is needed.Alternatively, the downstairs retaurant is also excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Leconfield also viewed

Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
 

Been to The Leconfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: New Street, Petworth GU28 0AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Petworth
  • Phone Number: +44 1798 345111

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 38 - 75
  • Cuisine: French, British, Contemporary

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions

Description

The Leconfield restaurant and bar is nestled in the heart of Petworth, voted by The Times as one of the best 30 places for Sunday lunch in the UK
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Leconfield and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Leconfield staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?