We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Leconfield

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
French, British, Contemporary
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
New Street, Petworth GU28 0AS, England
+44 1798 345111
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tue - Sat 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Leconfield restaurant and bar is nestled in the heart of Petworth...
The Leconfield restaurant and bar is nestled in the heart of Petworth, voted by The Times as one of the best 30 places for Sunday lunch in the UK
read more
Good for:
Special occasions

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 192 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 102
    Excellent
  • 42
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
High class restaurant

Top quality service Very good food : very good quality, perfect cooking and seasoning, estheticly brillant.

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 27, 2015
85Fred69
,
Paris, France
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 NEW

Top quality service Very good food : very good quality, perfect cooking and seasoning, estheticly brillant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015 NEW

A lovely meal Great wines recommended by Richard who was very much in charge and extremely attentive and competent A very good experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
Petworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015 NEW

A long booked evening with four good friends lived up to and exceeded expectations. We were warmly welcomed and well looked after from start to finish by polite and attentive staff. The food was all first class with a special mention for the signature starter of crab ravioli and the very fine baked oysters. The wines recommended by the well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worthing
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

We were looking for somewhere a bit special for lunch in Petworth and accidentally stumbled on the Leconfield. Very happy we did! We had the lunch set menu, £25 for 2 courses and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Service excellent, good value. Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barnham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

A little rushed getting us to our table - would have liked a little more time to sit and have a drink but the food was excellent, very well presented and served and we had a very good evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Having read about the bad service I was expecting nice food but a hard time to get any service. Well we were welcomed with warm smiles from the moment we arrived and until we left. It s a young front of house team who lack any experience but where very pleasant and kept an eye on our party of four... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

this restaurant is nicely decorated and should have a good atmosphere but unfortunately the staff let it down the service is not great and the very YOUNG staff do not give this restaurant warrent to charge what they do, the food is lovey no question but we would not go back again for an evening meal the dinning experience be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Leconfield, Assistant Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your dining experience at The Leconfield. We are disappointed that you felt your experience was not up to standards as we take pride in being a restaurant that provides excellent, consistent service no matter whether it is lunch or dinner. We are known for being an establishment where customers come for special occasions and the quality... More 

Chichester, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 via mobile

We tried the Leconfield and although we had heard mixed reviews from friends, we thought we should give it a chance. First impressions were good with a stylish and well appointed feel as we were shown to our table, but it went downhill from there. We were not presented with menus and sat ignored at our table before someone with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Leconfield, Assistant Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your dining experience at The Leconfield. We welcome all feedback on our diner’s experiences and want to learn from any comments and criticisms. We apologise for the confusion that arose with regards to your aperitif order with one of our front of house staff members. This matter has been discussed with our management team... More 

Pulborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015 via mobile

We were disappointed by our recent visit to the Leconfield. The prices lead you to expect something exceptional and that was certainly not the case. The ambience is very pleasant and the staff are friendly and helpful but the food was nothing special. As a relatively local resident I know that West Sussex can offer much better than this at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed on your recent visit to The Leconfield but do welcome all feedback. We attract regular customers both locally and from neighbouring counties as well as London and offer a variety of menus for all tastes, occasions and budgets including a set menu which offers 2 courses for £25 and 3 courses for... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Stopped here on the off chance as we were driving around the beautiful Sussex countryside. What a lovely place, really friendly and courteous staff who made us very welcome and comfortable even without a reservation. The level of service was just right, promt to take our order but not rushed. The food was superb in both quality and presentation. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Leconfield also viewed

Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 

Been to The Leconfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: New Street, Petworth GU28 0AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Petworth
  • Phone Number: +44 1798 345111

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 37 - 73
  • Cuisine: French, British, Contemporary

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions

Description

The Leconfield restaurant and bar is nestled in the heart of Petworth, voted by The Times as one of the best 30 places for Sunday lunch in the UK
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Leconfield staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?