We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Leconfield

New Street, Petworth, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 21 restaurants in Petworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: New restaurant in Petworth, fine dining and a warm welcome
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    78
    38
    17
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arundel, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We ate here on Friday 8th August for my birthday. I had the lamb to start, chicken tagine and the creme brûlée. I couldn't find fault with any of it??!! This is the second time we have eaten here, the service is faultless and it was busy. Good wine list. I'm not sure how it could be improved here? A*.

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Leconfield, Supervisor at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your dining experience at The Leconfield. We are pleased that you enjoyed your birthday meal with us and thought it was faultless and couldn't be improved. It is great to know that we are keeping our standards high and pleasing our customers. We look forward to serving you again in the future. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I ate here with friends who live locally and were keen to try it. Consideration for them prevented me expressing my views at the time but really this place is a total abomination. The menu looks OK, the waitress was good and the fit out is pleasant enough but the food was really poor. My chips were way too salty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Leconfield, Supervisor at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience at The Leconfield. We are disappointed that you were unhappy with your meal and that you felt you were unable to express your views at the time, as we would have done our utmost to rectify this. We have high standards and we strive to maintain them. Since you... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I went here for my Birthday on 03.08.14, with my partner after we discovered it casually walking by. There is nothing within miles of Petworth, that can even come close to the standards we experienced here. Faultless in every regard - great value. We had the Roast (one Beef and one Pork) which melted in the mouth. I had Oysters... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Leconfield, Supervisor at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your dining experience at The Leconfield Restaurant. We really appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your meal. We hope to see you dine with us in the future. More

Houghton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was our third visit.and will be our last ! The waitress showed us to our table,one of three or four who waited on us.That is the first sign of a chaotic night. We ordered drinks to start.Then our food. two starters arrived and the second about five minutes after.We then had to ask to order wine as one of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Leconfield, Supervisor at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your dining experience. We are sorry that your experience was not a positive one. When looking at your bill, we did our best to try and rectify the issues that arose on the night by giving all of the steaks you were unhappy with for free and taking off... More

Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was our first visit to The Leconfield. On stepping inside you are greeted by lovely polite young staff who showed us to our table. (I agree with a previous reviewer about couples sitting next to rather than opposite each other, we'll know next time to ask.) It is very well presented. I had the Comfit of Salmon with Basil... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Leconfield, Supervisor at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review on The Leconfield Restaurant. We are so pleased that you enjoyed both the food and service on your visit. When booking a table, we will always try our best to accommodate all needs, so if you require a table where you are facing each other we shall provide that for you next time. We... More

Vancouv er
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Well worth while visiting this reapstaurant. Dinner was excellent and the value was ver very good. Make it one of the places to visit on your Petworth stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Leconfield, Supervisor at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for the review on your experience at The Leconfield restaurant. We are glad that you appreciated the beautiful décor within the restaurant and also enjoyed the food on offer when you visited us. We hope that you return to dine with us again in the future. More

Caterham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The restaurant appeared very recently refurbished and in the very old Sussex oak framed building, has been created a most tastefully decorated interior, spreading from ground to first floor, providing distinct areas for eating, drinking and relaxing and supplied with a range of furnishings, all differing slightly but obviously chosen with the utmost care to reflect the high quality and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hextable, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were spending the day in Petworth rummaging through the antique stores and stopped here for lunch. It was a fixed price 2 or 3 course menu which I think represented very reasonable value for money. The waitress who served us was very sweet and most attentive and the food was delicious. The dessert was especially good made all the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Leconfield, Supervisor at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Leconfield Restaurant. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food, service and ambience within the restaurant. We hope that you return to dine with us again soon. More

Southwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Great wine list, excellent menu, pleasant staff BUT when I booked I asked specifically for an outside table with the option of moving indoors if the evening air proved too chill. When we moved indoors we were given a too large table in the bar and I had to set off in search of service for the dessert. Our main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Leconfield, Supervisor at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on The Leconfield Restaurant. We are sorry that you felt that certain aspects of your dining experience were not up to their usual standards. We have discussed the issues mentioned in your review with the front of house and kitchen staff and will ensure that this does not happen again. We hope that you dine... More

Worthing
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Two adults and two children aged 5 and 12 came here for Father's Day lunch, following good press reviews. The set menu was identical to the regular Sunday lunch menu, but £5 more. I asked the waitress if I was due for a Father's day surprise or anything "special", and she replied: "the menu". Hmm.. The food was pretty good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Leconfield, Supervisor at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review you dining experience at The Leconfield Restaurant. We are disappointed that you did not find your experience to be an entirely positive one. The Sunday lunch menu that was offered on Fathers Day is the same price as our Sunday menu that runs every week, with 2 courses for £25 and 3... More

Travelers who viewed The Leconfield also viewed

Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 

Been to The Leconfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leconfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing