We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Leconfield

New Street, Petworth, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 21 Restaurants in Petworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Tue - Sat 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: New restaurant in Petworth, fine dining and a warm welcome
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    38
    17
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014 NEW

My husband and I have lived and traveled in many metropolitan cities throughout the world. We have lived in the Petworth / Easebourne area for almost 4 years and we are always looking for the best food and ambiance experiences. We eat out a couple of times a week, and after re-discovering The Leconfield Restaurant, we find ourselves going there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014 NEW

Had my 40th B'day Drinks Party upstairs in their beautiful Stag Room. They were so helpful when organising it, provided impeccable service on the night, served delicious and beautifully presented canapés, fab wine menu to chose from .... couldn't have wished for a more fantastic night!

Was this review helpful? Yes
vikkiwood1
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Eaten here a few times and never been disappointed. It is the top end of the price range but not overpriced. Look forward to an excuse to eat here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stopped off from antique shopping for lunch at the Leconfield and were pleasantly surprised by the relaxed interior and comfortable dining facilities. The menu is interesting and the food was delicious ,so much so that we skipped the rest of the shopping and settled for the dessert menu instead

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Quite by chance we happened to be driving through Petworth last week and stopped to try the tapas. My husband ordered the calamari paella and cuttlefish in garlic, and I had the wood pigeon with a mint and yoghurt dip, and the king prawns, which were absolutely fantastic, really delicious and beautifully presented. The staff were very welcoming and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arundel, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We ate here on Friday 8th August for my birthday. I had the lamb to start, chicken tagine and the creme brûlée. I couldn't find fault with any of it??!! This is the second time we have eaten here, the service is faultless and it was busy. Good wine list. I'm not sure how it could be improved here? A*.

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Leconfield, Supervisor at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your dining experience at The Leconfield. We are pleased that you enjoyed your birthday meal with us and thought it was faultless and couldn't be improved. It is great to know that we are keeping our standards high and pleasing our customers. We look forward to serving you again in the future. More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I ate here with friends who live locally and were keen to try it. Consideration for them prevented me expressing my views at the time but really this place is a total abomination. The menu looks OK, the waitress was good and the fit out is pleasant enough but the food was really poor. My chips were way too salty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Leconfield, Supervisor at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience at The Leconfield. We are disappointed that you were unhappy with your meal and that you felt you were unable to express your views at the time, as we would have done our utmost to rectify this. We have high standards and we strive to maintain them. Since you... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I went here for my Birthday on 03.08.14, with my partner after we discovered it casually walking by. There is nothing within miles of Petworth, that can even come close to the standards we experienced here. Faultless in every regard - great value. We had the Roast (one Beef and one Pork) which melted in the mouth. I had Oysters... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Leconfield, Supervisor at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your dining experience at The Leconfield Restaurant. We really appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your meal. We hope to see you dine with us in the future. More

Houghton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was our third visit.and will be our last ! The waitress showed us to our table,one of three or four who waited on us.That is the first sign of a chaotic night. We ordered drinks to start.Then our food. two starters arrived and the second about five minutes after.We then had to ask to order wine as one of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Leconfield, Supervisor at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your dining experience. We are sorry that your experience was not a positive one. When looking at your bill, we did our best to try and rectify the issues that arose on the night by giving all of the steaks you were unhappy with for free and taking off... More

Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was our first visit to The Leconfield. On stepping inside you are greeted by lovely polite young staff who showed us to our table. (I agree with a previous reviewer about couples sitting next to rather than opposite each other, we'll know next time to ask.) It is very well presented. I had the Comfit of Salmon with Basil... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Leconfield, Supervisor at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review on The Leconfield Restaurant. We are so pleased that you enjoyed both the food and service on your visit. When booking a table, we will always try our best to accommodate all needs, so if you require a table where you are facing each other we shall provide that for you next time. We... More

Travelers who viewed The Leconfield also viewed

Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 

Been to The Leconfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leconfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing