We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Petworth Restaurants

The Leconfield

New Street, Petworth GU28 0AS, England
+44 1798 345111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Petworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $39 - $77
Hours:
Tue - Sun 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tue - Sat 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Leconfield restaurant and bar is nestled in the heart of Petworth, voted by The Times as one of the best 30 places for Sunday lunch in the UK
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    41
    18
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 NEW

Had a meal here last week. Vegetarian choice was very very good. Lovely atmosphere in the restaurant. They were very busy, as you would expect near Christmas, but the service was very good. Would recommend this place. Will definitely go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 NEW

A Balmy Wednesday in December when 20 of us descended on the Leconfield for our annual Senior management Christmas party. The restaurant set in the lovely town of Petworth is a mixture of old world charm and contemporary design. On arrival we were ushered through to the oak beamed reception area on the first floor where we had drinks and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wiltshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

I went here for a staff christmas lunch and can't recommend it highly enough. The service was impeccable from start to finish, relaxed, friendly and very professional. The menu was a set christmas one with good and varied choices. The main course of blade of beef bordelaise was the highlight, cooked to perfection and extremely good. The white chocolate creme... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014 via mobile

An impromptu lunch time visit , 2 courses @ £25 a head . I had the breast of duck followed by the cod loin /squid cassoulet . My guest had the crab followed by braised beef ,all washed fins with a very reasonably priced Malbec . Perfectly sized portions and the waitresses were extremely attentive and friendly . A very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

My family and I recently dined at The Leconfield to celebrate a birthday. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food, although quite taken aback by the pricing, which was out of line with the overall experience. As good as the food was, the service element was not up to par; the servers were confused, seemed inexperienced, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Petworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014 via mobile

Friendly well trained staff looked after us very well in simple chic country style surroundings. An exciting menu with some food sourced locally. Quality cooking but London prices . For those on a limited budget there are interesting bar snacks served before 8 pm. A great venue but not on a budget.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Rarely have I decided so quickly to go with the set menu at a restaurant. Pan seared foie gras, hare pie and praline semi freddo with honeycomb for 29 quid? Don't mind if I do! Great place. Too many cushions in the front dining area (tiny tiny criticism!).

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Epernay, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Return visit to this restaurant, ( My parents first time) and it was just as wonderful as I remembered. The service was attentive & friendly, in fact spot on. We all choose from the set lunch menu - £25 for 2 courses £29 for 3. We were all delighted with our choices. Clever combinations of flavours and textures without being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Leconfield, Supervisor at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review on The Leconfield Restaurant. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable meal and felt that the food and service were to a good standard. We hope that you return to the restaurant soon. More 

West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Having booked this for an anniversary meal, we were initially excited by the menu. Starters were lovely, but we found some of the attention to detail irksome; no knives on the bread plate, having to go and find someone to take a jacket, asking for a spoon for the soup that was delivered without one. The mains were OK but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Leconfield, Supervisor at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience. We are disappointed that your experience was not entirely a positive one and have discussed your review with the kitchen and front of house staff. We do have high standards at the restaurant and it is a shame that you felt you did not experience this when you dined... More 

London, England
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Came to The Leconfield last week for lunch on a gloriously sunny afternoon. Sitting in the garden area was perfection, as was the food selected from the great value for money set menu. I thought the Tiger Prawn Ravioli could not have been bettered and I could easily eat a few of these as a main course! However had the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Leconfield, Supervisor at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review on your dining experience. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our courtyard on the day you came and are pleased that you had an enjoyable lunch and felt the food and service were up to great standards. We hope to see you return to the restaurant soon. More 

Travelers who viewed The Leconfield also viewed

Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 

Been to The Leconfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leconfield

Address: New Street, Petworth GU28 0AS, England
Phone Number: +44 1798 345111
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Petworth
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 39 - 77
Cuisine: French, Contemporary, British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Leconfield staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?