We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Leconfield

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
French, British, Contemporary
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
New Street, Petworth GU28 0AS, England
+44 1798 345111
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tue - Sat 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Leconfield restaurant and bar is nestled in the heart of Petworth...
The Leconfield restaurant and bar is nestled in the heart of Petworth, voted by The Times as one of the best 30 places for Sunday lunch in the UK
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 203 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 110
    Excellent
  • 43
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Spacious but intimate

My family and I were at the Leconfield to celebrate a birthday. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. The food was very good, perhaps some London prices for certain dishes, but we were all happy with our food. Importantly for me the staff were very accommodating with... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 10, 2015
Andreaguernsey
,
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Special occasions
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015 NEW

Had a fabulous evening at the Leconfield. We couldn't fault the service - from drinks at the bar and into the restaurant. Although the restaurant wasn't full, there was a lovely atmosphere and it didn't feel cliquey. The dishes were tasty and beautifully presented. I had the crab & tiger prawn ravioli to start which was delicious, followed by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Petworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 NEW

Loved the place, great food, only too happy to cater for my wife with a coeliac intolerance. Welol done all their!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

My family and I were at the Leconfield to celebrate a birthday. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. The food was very good, perhaps some London prices for certain dishes, but we were all happy with our food. Importantly for me the staff were very accommodating with regards dietary issues. Worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

Popped in here for lunch on the recommendation of my good friend heather denham antiques. The whole experience was faultless from the beginning . Perfect service , perfect drinks served at the bar , faultless food . Im not going to go on about each dish we had , it was all good . The menu was not too large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

This restaurant deserves four stars but fell down badly on Sunday! First impression was a nice welcome, coats taken and we were guided to our seats. Ordered 2 Kirs which were excellent and a red wine also (good barman) by which time our friends had joined us. We ordered our meal from Sundays menu - one had Mozarella salad and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

I was disappointed to have made a reservation, travel some distance, then on arrival, experience an embarrassing wait in the arrival area, before the staff handed us over to be helped by the front of house manager. The manager took us upstairs into an empty room, devoid of atmosphere, at which point I made the decision to find an alternative... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
guildford
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

I eat out a lot but this place really stands out. Impeccable service from start to finish. Friendly and fun too. Fantastic food. I do not usually write reviews but felt I had to. Treat yourself and visit soon! Xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Leconfield, Assistant Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your experience at The Leconfield. We are glad that you felt that the food and service were both up to excellent standards as we take pride in providing this. We hope that you return to visit us again. More 

Staines, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

After visiting the Petworth Estate we asked the receptionist if she could recommend a good local restaurant for lunch. She named a few but added if we were looking for fine dining the Leconfield would not disappoint. This was an understatement. It's not often that a Sunday lunch becomes a dining experience.Charming unpretentious service and wonderful skills from the kitchen,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Leconfield, Assistant Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing your dining experience on Sunday. We are so pleased that you did not expect your Sunday lunch to turn into a "dining experience", this is a lovely compliment to all of the team here as we take pride in providing great food and service at all times and we are glad that you recognised... More 

Petworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

The whole evening at the Leconfield was a truly enjoyable experience. From the moment we walked in the staff and the manager were so friendly and welcoming and the environment is very stylish and elegant. The wine was really lovely and the main courses delicious. I'm not usually much of a desert person, but I think these deserts were the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Leconfield, Assistant Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review on The Leconfield Restaurant. We are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your dining experience when you visited. Thank you for your compliments on the food and especially the desserts. It is always pleasing to know that we are maintaining standards and serving the customers well. We hope that you return soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Ok if you are anything like me you would like a really good restaurant in Surrey but don't want to pay stupid money and also don't just want want pub grub.I keep going back to this place and never seem to get a bad meal quite the reverse.Its always good and although not cheap here is my quick list of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Leconfield, Assistant Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience at The Leconfield Restaurant. We are glad that we tick all of the boxes on your "quick list" and we are extremely pleased that you always feel we are consistently excellent in all aspects of food and service. The dining rooms upstairs can be rented out for private functions... More 

Travelers who viewed The Leconfield also viewed

Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 

Been to The Leconfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: New Street, Petworth GU28 0AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Petworth
  • Phone Number: +44 1798 345111

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 39 - 76
  • Cuisine: French, British, Contemporary

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions

Description

The Leconfield restaurant and bar is nestled in the heart of Petworth, voted by The Times as one of the best 30 places for Sunday lunch in the UK
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Leconfield staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?