We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Leconfield

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
French, Contemporary, British
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
New Street, Petworth GU28 0AS, England
+44 1798 345111
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tue - Sat 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Leconfield restaurant and bar is nestled in the heart of Petworth...
The Leconfield restaurant and bar is nestled in the heart of Petworth, voted by The Times as one of the best 30 places for Sunday lunch in the UK
read more
Good for:
Special occasions

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 186 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 97
    Excellent
  • 42
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Don't go for dinner

this restaurant is nicely decorated and should have a good atmosphere but unfortunately the staff let it down the service is not great and the very YOUNG staff do not give this restaurant warrent to charge what they do, the food is lovey no question but we would not go back again for an evening... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed March 3, 2015
stephanie p
,
Surrey, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015 NEW

this restaurant is nicely decorated and should have a good atmosphere but unfortunately the staff let it down the service is not great and the very YOUNG staff do not give this restaurant warrent to charge what they do, the food is lovey no question but we would not go back again for an evening meal the dinning experience be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chichester, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 NEW via mobile

We tried the Leconfield and although we had heard mixed reviews from friends, we thought we should give it a chance. First impressions were good with a stylish and well appointed feel as we were shown to our table, but it went downhill from there. We were not presented with menus and sat ignored at our table before someone with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015 via mobile

We were disappointed by our recent visit to the Leconfield. The prices lead you to expect something exceptional and that was certainly not the case. The ambience is very pleasant and the staff are friendly and helpful but the food was nothing special. As a relatively local resident I know that West Sussex can offer much better than this at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed on your recent visit to The Leconfield but do welcome all feedback. We attract regular customers both locally and from neighbouring counties as well as London and offer a variety of menus for all tastes, occasions and budgets including a set menu which offers 2 courses for £25 and 3 courses for... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Stopped here on the off chance as we were driving around the beautiful Sussex countryside. What a lovely place, really friendly and courteous staff who made us very welcome and comfortable even without a reservation. The level of service was just right, promt to take our order but not rushed. The food was superb in both quality and presentation. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Enjoyed an excellent lunch with friends on Wednesday, 11.2.15. We were looked after superbly by Richard Luna and his staff. With a very good choice of food and wine in a comfortable setting we couldn't have asked for more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pulborough
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015 via mobile

If you enjoy being pampered and cared for plus enjoy good wine and food - then dinner at the Leaconfield is a must. Whenever we dine here we are made to feel very special as the food is so wonderful and the ambience is just the greatest. Thank you for looking after us. Yours Jacky and Greville xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fittleworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Lovely smart setting ,great service by pretty immaculate girls and very good food ...great value if go mid week or Sunday lunch ..think prices a bit steep at evenings at weekend !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Birthday surprise, service first class with a young staff, warm welcome, good table, easy fish orientated menu and good wine choice Loved the warmth and ambience, good menu, great food and enjoyable interaction with the team there. Loved it

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sussex
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

The Leconfield is a charming place in Petworth. The dining area is open and airy and they have managed not to be greedy and make the tables too close together, so you can have a conversation without being listened to or having to listen to next door. Full marks there. We started with the Foie gras pate which was excellent.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

We were taken by friends to the Leconfield as they go there quite regulary. They, like others, say generally the have excellent meals but a couple of times not so good. Well I'm pleased to say we had a terrific meal. I started with the seafood ravioli which was superb, followed by the slow cooked blade of beef, which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Leconfield also viewed

Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 

Been to The Leconfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: New Street, Petworth GU28 0AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Petworth
  • Phone Number: +44 1798 345111

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 38 - 75
  • Cuisine: French, Contemporary, British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions

Description

The Leconfield restaurant and bar is nestled in the heart of Petworth, voted by The Times as one of the best 30 places for Sunday lunch in the UK
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Leconfield staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?