We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Halfway Bridge Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
British, Family Fare, Gastropub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Halfway Bridge | Lodsworth, Petworth GU28 9BP, England
+44 1798 861281
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Sat - Sun 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Our menu bursts with locally sourced and seasonal ingredients. Fish, game...
Our menu bursts with locally sourced and seasonal ingredients. Fish, game and traditional English and Mediterranean dishes. There is always something to excite the appetite A simple but elegant decor includes fabulous open fires, with dining offered in a choice of intimate nooks. In good weather alfresco dining on our pretty terrace or in the sheltered garden is idyllic. Small group bookings are easily accommodated in one of several private dining rooms. A connoisseur's wine list complements the menu, including local sparkling wines. Many are served by the glass to help you discover a favourite! A fine selection of Sussex ales is also available.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 106 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 54
    Excellent
  • 35
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Excellent place to stay

The Halfway Bridge is an excellent place to stay. We stayed for two nights and had a great meal in the bar as well. The room was well furnished and finished to a good standard. The breakfast choice was better than expected and all round service matched the other excellent features.

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 24, 2015
Paul Y
,
Matlock, United Kingdom
Add Photo

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015 NEW

The Halfway Bridge is an excellent place to stay. We stayed for two nights and had a great meal in the bar as well. The room was well furnished and finished to a good standard. The breakfast choice was better than expected and all round service matched the other excellent features.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beds
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

We popped in on spec on a busy Saturday evening... Credit to the manager he squeezed us in. One would class the food as very presentable restaurant come pub grub fancying old faves we were not disappointed. Well worth the effort this is certainly somewhere we may revisit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Graffham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

The Halfway Bridge advertises 'All day breakfast' so 2 friends and I went in at around 8.30am. We were greeted by an extremely unfriendly and, quite frankly 'stroppy' waitress. We said we would like to have breakfast - bearing in mind the restaurant was TOTALLY empty, she said we should have booked, but would check with the chef. She came... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billy L, General Manager at Halfway Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Concerned that other readers may come away confused we'd like to mention that we do not offer or advertise, an 'All Day Breakfast' at The Halfway Bridge Inn. We do serve an excellent and enjoyable breakfast to those staying in our rooms. On the restaurant page of our website, near our opening hours, we do highlight that breakfast... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

Atmosphere great. Staff friendly and helpful. Although we only had good tasty English pub grub it was well prepared and presented. As a unpretentious gastro pub it and its young and friendly staff are hard to beat. Only the absence of a wicker gate in the pub garden stops me from rating it as a five star family pub restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Perfect place for a business meeting which included lunch, the food was excellent as was the service. Because of the awful weather we couldn't eat outside but were given a nice table by a window. It was very busy but not too noisy Will definitely use again next time in the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chichester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

It makes a change to stop somewhere 'on spec' and find an excellent welcome, service and good food. Only a couple of miles off a route that we regularly travel and we will certainly return. However, I am told that one really does need to book in advance and I can quite see why.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clanfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

The first time here in a number of years and it did not disappoint. Still cosy and intimate inside with tasteful and comfortable furnishings. Lovely, well kept local cask beers and an interesting menu which is likely to appeal to most people. The food itself was delicious and well presented by efficient, unobtrusive staff. I would thoroughly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Chiltington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Lovely evening with friends. Would definitely like to make this place a regular BUT veggies just aren't catered for enough. (Otherwise would definitely have scored full marks!) At least one vegan starter and main course would be good (or even better a separate veggie/ vegan menu or page!) I don't doubt chef would have cooked something if asked, but hate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Had a very good meal here on a busy Saturday night, they were able to accommodate us (table for two) without a reservation. Good choice on the menu as well as several specials, drinks were brought quickly, as were bread and olives (fantastic olive marinade!) and we were able to browse the menu without any rush. Service was attentive and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Halfway Bridge for three nights in room 6. It is easy to find as it is signposted just off the A272 midway between Petworth and Midhurst. The room was excellent, large, clean, warm, well furnished with a nice large window into the garden. It is just a 100 yards walk to the Inn where we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Halfway Bridge Inn also viewed

Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 

Been to Halfway Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway Bridge Inn

Address: Halfway Bridge | Lodsworth, Petworth GU28 9BP, England
Phone Number: +44 1798 861281
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Petworth
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm  6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm  6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm  6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm  6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm  6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 16 - 39
Cuisine: British, Family Fare, Gastropub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Halfway Bridge | Lodsworth, Petworth GU28 9BP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Petworth
  • Phone Number: +44 1798 861281

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 16 - 39
  • Price Range: $ $ $
  • Cuisine: British, Family Fare, Gastropub

Description

Our menu bursts with locally sourced and seasonal ingredients. Fish, game and traditional English and Mediterranean dishes. There is always something to excite the appetite A simple but elegant decor includes fabulous open fires, with dining offered in a choice of intimate nooks. In good weather alfresco dining on our pretty terrace or in the sheltered garden is idyllic. Small group bookings are easily accommodated in one of several private dining rooms. A connoisseur's wine list complements the menu, including local sparkling wines. Many are served by the glass to help you discover a favourite! A fine selection of Sussex ales is also available.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Halfway Bridge Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?