We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Victory Inn

English, Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Warninglid Road | Staplefield, Haywards Heath RH17 6EU, England
01444 400463
Website
Add hours for Victory Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 55 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 18
    Excellent
  • 23
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Thinking of moving in...

I wouldn't normally review a place I eat in too often to keep count – it is a five minute stroll from home – but the experience of another Sussex pub gub place reminds me how important it is to have fresh reviews. The Victory continues to provide good, well cooked and at a reasonable price... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 10, 2015
Michael K
,
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

I wouldn't normally review a place I eat in too often to keep count – it is a five minute stroll from home – but the experience of another Sussex pub gub place reminds me how important it is to have fresh reviews. The Victory continues to provide good, well cooked and at a reasonable price. There are proper pies,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

An old pub lost in the Sussex countryside overlooking the village cricket pitch sporting a decent pub menu and happy staff. Not outstanding but pleasant enough. Food prices a little expensive with service quite leisurely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Went here today, the food was very overpriced for what it was, poorly presented, luke warm at best! extremely disappointed with choice of beers which were all flat warm almost as if they had never been served, the bar left a lot to be desired, after we had finished our food we were made very unwelcome almost as if we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Janshutts, Manager at Victory Inn, responded to this review

Hi Please can you specify what you ate and drank and who served you as this matter needs to be taken further. Once you let me know what you had and if it was lunchtime or evening I will be able to deal with the problem. Janet More 

Ringwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

I grew up in Staplefield and I have been to the Victory Inn many time in my teens, this however is the first time I have returned for many years.I had lunch with friends, we prerecorded from their menu. I ordered the standard cod and chips, my friend ordered the large cod and chips, both were quiet expensive. When our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
cuckfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

our group were very well looked after and we all enjoyed three courses and coffee and all were happy with their choices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We were so lucky that the manager Janet took pity on us and squeezed us in this afternoon after a disastrous booking at a local pub. From the minute we walked in we enjoyed excellent and attentive service. The staff can't do enough for you and my mum and I even got a little box of homemade treats as a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janshutts, Owner at Victory Inn, responded to this review

Hi Sian Thank you for your review. Coming to your rescue made the day even better! We are all pleased you enjoyed your visit, hopefully we will see you again Janet More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Food only average but quite expensive Waitress services very good Quite dark and not a lot of atmosphere

Was this review helpful? Yes
surrey, england
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Every 3 years or so we’re passing and call at the Victory, and have never been disappointed by our meal. This was one of the best: generous portions, hot and brim-full of flavour with a wood fire crackling in the background (thankfully, no Muzak to ruin matters). My venison was perfectly pink, tender and matched with a good sauce. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

On behalf of my wife and me and would like to say thank you to the management and staff of the victory. From booking our reception to the wedding day nothing was to much trouble. The food,service and effort put in by everybody was fantastic. All our guests commented on the service and effort to make our day even more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rye Harbour
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

7 of us sat down for a great pre Christmas lunch. Notable starters the venison and the smoked salmon with blinis. Most had a Christmas roast with an excellent selection of vegetables stuffing etc. my 6 & 9 year old boys ate all their Brussels! So that tells you how good they were. I had an excellent curry followed by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Victory Inn also viewed

Lowfield Heath, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 

Been to Victory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Warninglid Road | Staplefield, Haywards Heath RH17 6EU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Haywards Heath
  • Phone Number: 01444 400463

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English, Pub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Victory Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?