We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sarah Mansfield Country Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Main Street, Rugby cv23 0sh, England
+44 1455 553133
Website
Add hours for The Sarah Mansfield Country Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 88 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 51
    Excellent
  • 26
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
lovely pub with great food (and ales)

Took wife here for a surprise 50th birthday meal with party of fifteen (kids, teens and adults). Lovely character pub with good ales and the meal was excellent. Quality and portion sizes were very good and great value. (It kept my father-in-law happy so that is a feat in itself). The only wait we... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 23, 2015
Stef G
,
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

Took wife here for a surprise 50th birthday meal with party of fifteen (kids, teens and adults). Lovely character pub with good ales and the meal was excellent. Quality and portion sizes were very good and great value. (It kept my father-in-law happy so that is a feat in itself). The only wait we had was for the bill at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 NEW

We visit the Sarah Mansfield on Sunday evenings because it's open (when few decent places are around here), it serves great food, responsibly priced and in a nice atmosphere. It's a good village pub serving proper English grub. The streaks are great but so is everything else. The gammon and eggs, spot on. The beers good, the people are friendly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malmesbury
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

Met up with my sister and her husband here. This pub was half way for both of us to meet. She's from Grantham and we are from Wiltshire. Very clean and friendly place. Food was good and ample portions. Staff very helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Booked a table as we previously called in without booking and they were fully booked. Excellent choice of food, staff very welcoming and friendly, food was tasty well presented and served piping hot. Portions were large. Staff asked more than once if we needed anything else and if we were enjoying our meal. Will definately be eating here again, excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

This was our 2nd visit in as many months. Sunday lunch was plentiful and very tasty, the pub was very busy so we did the right thing by booking. Our second visit was midweek lunchtime, I had the sizzler gammon and my husband had a sizzler mixed grill, the food was piping hot and delicious, on this occasion we didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Been several times before and its OK. Last Friday evening was poor. Waited far too long for food. Vegetables had zero taste and the swordfish steak looked like it had been divided in two for another customer. Worst of all, service was pretty poor. Next to no understanding by waiting staff of how to serve tables properly. Don't expectmuch!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah M, Owner at The Sarah Mansfield Country Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit to the Sarah Mansfield on 29th March. I have read your other reviews from your trips elsewhere and appreciate your comments. However I am very disheartened that none of your comments were mentioned on the evening in question to any of my staff or myself. Had you done so... More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Celebrated a 40th,65th and 75th birthday a couple of weeks ago. The food was fabulous and staff couldn't do enough to make our night special. We are going back again this Friday with friends. Very food value for money. Look forward to trying something different on the menu

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We went with family and friends, when we rang to book a table we got the last one. The staff were polite and the food was lovely everyone enjoyed their meals and the prices were reasonable, will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

The menu is comprehensive. We took the family for a roast dinner a few Sundays ago, although it is not a cavery very good value for money since you can have a selection of meats plus the vegetable are served seperately.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

We went here stupidly thinking we wouldn't need to book because it was the middle of the week. We were very much mistaken! It was packed. The friendly bar staff informed us that we wold have to wait a while because all the people sat at tables had either just sat down and the empty tables had been reserved. Luckily... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Sarah Mansfield Country Inn also viewed

 
Rugby, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Sarah Mansfield Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Main Street, Rugby cv23 0sh, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Warwickshire  >  Rugby
  • Phone Number: +44 1455 553133

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Pub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Sarah Mansfield Country Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?