We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sarah Mansfield Country Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Main Street, Rugby cv23 0sh, England
+44 1455 553133
Website
Add hours for The Sarah Mansfield Country Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 84 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 50
    Excellent
  • 23
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Sunday Lunch / Midweek Lunch

This was our 2nd visit in as many months. Sunday lunch was plentiful and very tasty, the pub was very busy so we did the right thing by booking. Our second visit was midweek lunchtime, I had the sizzler gammon and my husband had a sizzler mixed grill, the food was piping hot and delicious, on this... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed April 2, 2015
inspectorbigboy
,
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

This was our 2nd visit in as many months. Sunday lunch was plentiful and very tasty, the pub was very busy so we did the right thing by booking. Our second visit was midweek lunchtime, I had the sizzler gammon and my husband had a sizzler mixed grill, the food was piping hot and delicious, on this occasion we didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Been several times before and its OK. Last Friday evening was poor. Waited far too long for food. Vegetables had zero taste and the swordfish steak looked like it had been divided in two for another customer. Worst of all, service was pretty poor. Next to no understanding by waiting staff of how to serve tables properly. Don't expectmuch!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah M, Owner at The Sarah Mansfield Country Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit to the Sarah Mansfield on 29th March. I have read your other reviews from your trips elsewhere and appreciate your comments. However I am very disheartened that none of your comments were mentioned on the evening in question to any of my staff or myself. Had you done so... More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Celebrated a 40th,65th and 75th birthday a couple of weeks ago. The food was fabulous and staff couldn't do enough to make our night special. We are going back again this Friday with friends. Very food value for money. Look forward to trying something different on the menu

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We went with family and friends, when we rang to book a table we got the last one. The staff were polite and the food was lovely everyone enjoyed their meals and the prices were reasonable, will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

The menu is comprehensive. We took the family for a roast dinner a few Sundays ago, although it is not a cavery very good value for money since you can have a selection of meats plus the vegetable are served seperately.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

We went here stupidly thinking we wouldn't need to book because it was the middle of the week. We were very much mistaken! It was packed. The friendly bar staff informed us that we wold have to wait a while because all the people sat at tables had either just sat down and the empty tables had been reserved. Luckily... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

My wife and i had not been to the Sarah Mansfield for many years but decided to try it last saturday night after reading good reviews. We were not disappointed. There was a good selection of beer, which kept me happy, and my wife enjoyed the ZInfandel. The food was excellent and served promptly with a smile. All in all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Celebrating my brother's 40th birthday, we visited to sample the delights offered. Very crowded until about 8pm. We ordered a Chilean Merlot, which was fruity, the some of us had three courses which was a struggle as the portions given are very generous and filling. The chips have a wonderful light taste and texture to them too. For the six... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

14 cyclists called in at lunchtime today - had rung up beforehand to forewarn and was delighted to find they had reserved tables for us. 12 of us ate, ranging from soup or a baguette up to full meals, all came out together, and were very good - the Scotch Broth was perfect for a cool windy day. Made to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Wow! What a Warwickshire gem. Not to be missed. Staff couldn't have been more friendly, attentive and helpful. Great beers from a Cask Marque pub. Real rural, traditional country feel to the place which is situated in a very small village. Food was stunning with char grilled steak which melted in the mouth, cut with zero pressure and all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Sarah Mansfield Country Inn also viewed

 
Rugby, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Sarah Mansfield Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Main Street, Rugby cv23 0sh, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Warwickshire  >  Rugby
  • Phone Number: +44 1455 553133

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Sarah Mansfield Country Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?