We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gate Inn

Main Road | Osbaston, Market Bosworth CV13 0HP, England
+44 1455 290502
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Gate Inn is situated on the A447, just south of Ibstock and only 4 miles from the historic Bosworth Battlefield. The pub is easily accessible from Leicester, Loughborough, Burton on Trent and Hinckley. Situated in a rural setting, we provide an extensive menu which boasts a range of classic dishes, complimented supported by a broad range of specials, which are changed regularly. This menu is supported by our fantastic Two for £10 offer - Monday to Friday 12pm - 5pm! Having had an extensive refurbishment in May 2011, the pub now offers more dining space and a fantastic new garden area, with a series of dining areas and a new children's area. With a great range of products available form our bar, our extensive menu we assure of a relaxing time, both inside the pub and in our fabulous garden.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

48% Recommend
    15
    6
    6
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have been visiting the Gate for years as it is within walking distance from where I live. We have had some good and bad meals ...also good and awful service....this time everything was spot on. The staff were friendly and the service was quick. We were eating outside but it started raining and we were quickly found a table... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan G, Manager at Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much and see you soon More

Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Been to this pub a few times and never been impressed, however this time was very different. Friendly welcome, great food and attentive staff. Will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jonathan G, Manager at Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you More

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We go to the gate because it is local to us and we can walk home ... We have been going for years and have had some diabolical meals and service but we keep going back ( we must be gluttons for punishment) Last night we went and Wow ... We ate our starters in the lovely garden that's set... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan G, General Manager at Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Having taken over on the 1st of July I am happy to see people enjoying The Gate. We hope to see you again very soon. More

Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Visited on Thursday with two friends. No wait for a table and all had the 10oz gammon steak on the two for £10 menu. Could not fault the food at all, gammon was excellent and so big that our friend couldn't eat all of her steak. Meal for four including drinks only came to £28 in total. We have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan G, General Manager at Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We will see you again soon. More

Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Been to The Gate a few times, but never have we had such a bad meal, my steak was half the size of my daughter's steak?? The veg (a spoonful of peas) had obviously been microwaved & the new potato's not only looked grey & shrivelled, they were black when we cut into them after i tried one & it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan G, General Manager at Gate Inn, responded to this review

Me and my partner have taken over management of The Gate and would love for you to give us another try. More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

After visiting the gate many times before in search of a cheap but nice meal, I have never really been that disappointed by the service, although never amazing, you wouldn't expect that anyway from a chain pub meal. However, on this particular visit with a group of friends... The only word to describe the service is 'horrifying'. After waiting over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan G, General Manager at Gate Inn, responded to this review

Myself and my partner have just taken over management of The Gate and are working hard to improve the service. We do hope that you will come and try The Gate again. More

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We hadn't been to the Gate for several years so we thought we would give it another visit one sunny weekend. Firstly the garden has all been done since we last went and it is Realy lovely. The service was very poor,I know that it was a busy day but standards Realy was bad. Finally after waiting 1.20 minutes the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derbyshire, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Very slow service, 40 mins + for mains. Regulars taken care of getting meals first! Nice environment, toilets nice, seemed all clean. Nice menu and selection. Food quality was as expected. However, Daughters plain pasta came with tomatoey finger prints all over it (yuck) and salad wilted under the lights, chips had gone soggy, I expect the food would be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathryn A, Manager at Gate Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. Im sorry you had to wait longer than we would have liked. Your experience is very important to all the team here. I also appreciate your kind words and can assure you we will do our very best upon your next visit. Kind regards More

Leicester
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

What's going on at the gate ? Went May bank holiday Monday, OK it was busy but it was a bank holiday so they should have been prepared. So told a table would not be available for 30 minutes, OK we will have drink and wait, no problem. Waited, then two couples who came in after us and were waiting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kathryn A, Manager at Gate Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. I was very sorry to read you did not enjoy your visit. Please let me assure you everyones experience with us here is very important to us. I would very much like the opportunity to discuss your visit to us in more detail. Please call me direct at the business here. Kind regards More

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband thought we would give it another go after a year ago we went and was terrible. Well nothing as changed one lady behind the bar very rude!!! Not even busy and we had to wait for drinks starter was ok but main well I wouldn't even give to my dog never ever again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Gate Inn also viewed

Market Bosworth, Leicestershire
Market Bosworth, Leicestershire
 
Market Bosworth, Leicestershire
Market Bosworth, Leicestershire
 
Market Bosworth, Leicestershire
Market Bosworth, Leicestershire
 
Market Bosworth, Leicestershire

Been to Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing