We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gate Inn

Main Road | Osbaston, Market Bosworth CV13 0HP, England
+44 1455 290502
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Gate Inn is situated on the A447, just south of Ibstock and only 4 miles from the historic Bosworth Battlefield. The pub is easily accessible from Leicester, Loughborough, Burton on Trent and Hinckley. Situated in a rural setting, we provide an extensive menu which boasts a range of classic dishes, complimented supported by a broad range of specials, which are changed regularly. This menu is supported by our fantastic Two for £10 offer - Monday to Friday 12pm - 5pm! Having had an extensive refurbishment in May 2011, the pub now offers more dining space and a fantastic new garden area, with a series of dining areas and a new children's area. With a great range of products available form our bar, our extensive menu we assure of a relaxing time, both inside the pub and in our fabulous garden.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    7
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Have been to the gate on a few occasions and always found it pleasant and good value but I have to say today's visit was even better! We all ate from the 2 for £10 menu but food was freshly cooked and very good quality, but was really impressed with the special dessert menu which we tried and weren't disappointed!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan G, Manager at Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. We do like to offer a good selection and not just stick to the 'classics'. We look forward to seeing you soon. More

Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

If this place is to survive they had better look at what other pubs in the locality are doing .The service was good but the food uninspiring and microwaved for too long liver & onions served in a soup bowl I don't think so !!- not impressed

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan G, Manager at Gate Inn, responded to this review

I apologise that you were not 100% satisfied with your visit. We are very happy to take any comments on board and will take another look at the way some of our dishes are presented. I do hope that we will see you in the future. More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Went to the gate inn for a evening meal with friends and it was absolutely lovely. We were welcomed at the door with a smile and swiftly shown to a table. Our drink order was taken quickly and they arrived not long after. We were expecting to wait as it was very busy so we were pleasantly suprised. Our food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan G, Manager at Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Service fantastic, food was also very nice. Recently changed management and they are both very friendly. Will definitely visit again and would recommend to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan G, Manager at Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

me and my partner have just discovered the Gate Inn, we ate here Saturday and Sunday. Saturday I had meatballs and wasn't overly struck by them, on Sunday I had the Steak Burger meal and it was lovely. we really enjoyed the garden which is the main reason we will visit here more often, they also do some really great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan G, Manager at Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. We hope to see you again very soon. More

england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have been visiting the Gate for years as it is within walking distance from where I live. We have had some good and bad meals ...also good and awful service....this time everything was spot on. The staff were friendly and the service was quick. We were eating outside but it started raining and we were quickly found a table... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan G, Manager at Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much and see you soon More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Been to this pub a few times and never been impressed, however this time was very different. Friendly welcome, great food and attentive staff. Will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jonathan G, Manager at Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you More

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We go to the gate because it is local to us and we can walk home ... We have been going for years and have had some diabolical meals and service but we keep going back ( we must be gluttons for punishment) Last night we went and Wow ... We ate our starters in the lovely garden that's set... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan G, General Manager at Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Having taken over on the 1st of July I am happy to see people enjoying The Gate. We hope to see you again very soon. More

Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Visited on Thursday with two friends. No wait for a table and all had the 10oz gammon steak on the two for £10 menu. Could not fault the food at all, gammon was excellent and so big that our friend couldn't eat all of her steak. Meal for four including drinks only came to £28 in total. We have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan G, General Manager at Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We will see you again soon. More

Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Been to The Gate a few times, but never have we had such a bad meal, my steak was half the size of my daughter's steak?? The veg (a spoonful of peas) had obviously been microwaved & the new potato's not only looked grey & shrivelled, they were black when we cut into them after i tried one & it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan G, General Manager at Gate Inn, responded to this review

Me and my partner have taken over management of The Gate and would love for you to give us another try. More

Travelers who viewed Gate Inn also viewed

Market Bosworth, Leicestershire
Market Bosworth, Leicestershire
 
Market Bosworth, Leicestershire
Market Bosworth, Leicestershire
 

Been to Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing