We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 60 Reigate Restaurants

Jolly Farmers Pub Eatery & Farm Shop

Reigate Road, Betchworth, Reigate RH3 7BG, England (Formerly Jolly Farmer's Food Emporium)
+44 1737 221355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 60 Restaurants in Reigate
Price range: $16 - $57
Cuisines: British, Gastropub, Grill, Family Fare
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    74
    51
    60
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

4 of us visited the pub last weekend and were quite disappointed. We ordered fillet steaks which were very expensive (not a problem if they're good!) and 3 out of 4 were over cooked. If you're charging that much for a steak then it really should be cooked properly! Rest of the meal was fine but nothing special. Sharing starter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Jolly Farme... T, Manager at Jolly Farmers Pub Eatery & Farm Shop, responded to this review

Hi Elliott, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent visit. We welcome all forms of feedback as without it we cannot improve. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service and the environment at the Jolly Farmers. We work very hard to ensure that all of our customers are comfortable and... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Living locally we decided to stop by the Jolly Farmers for an early lunch. We were sat right next to the till. It was noisy with the telephone constantly ringing and really just a thoroughfare. We were told that the chef was experiencing a delay so our order could not be taken immediately. Strange as it was the start of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Jolly Farme... T, Manager at Jolly Farmers Pub Eatery & Farm Shop, responded to this review

Greetings streetey - Thank you for taking the time review our establishment. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the table you were allocated. I am confident that had you requested to move tables, one of the waitresses would have moved you without fuss to ensure that you were comfortable. Sundays are our busiest day and I... More

UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We were a table of 5 enjoying a birthday celebration meal. We were seated promptly and our orders taken very efficiently. However the food that arrived was very poor for the money that we had to pay. The fish pie was delivered, not only very dry but with an overload of garlic, the same with the side dish of vegetables.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Jolly Farme... T, Manager at Jolly Farmers Pub Eatery & Farm Shop, responded to this review

Dear holiday233, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent visit; I have passed on your comments to the team regarding prompt seating and efficient order taking. Regarding the garlic, our dishes are prepared from fresh and it is worth mentioning any allergies or dislikes at the time of ordering, so that we can ensure... More

Coulsdon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

....... from the all the samey north Surrey country pubs. The Jolly Farmers is bright and airy yet intimate. The staff friendly but professional and the menu just full of the freshest locally sourced ingredients. Our selections were perfectly cooked - perfectly. I've been there a few times and always been good but it just felt as if something had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Jolly Farme... T, Manager at Jolly Farmers Pub Eatery & Farm Shop, responded to this review

Dear Tracie, Thank you so much – it means a lot to the entire team here at the Jolly Farmers to receive such praise and it goes a long way to boost staff morale. I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations during your recent visit and I really do look forward to welcoming you back to the Jolly Farmers... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Have been in touch with jolly farmer but left feeling that training is an issue. Sure they tried to recover situation but should never occur in first place. Seems things have been going on so you guessed it I wont return !!! portions small . Shame because setting is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Jolly Farme... T, Manager at Jolly Farmers Pub Eatery & Farm Shop, responded to this review

Hi Paul, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am truly sorry to hear of your recent disappointment upon visiting The Jolly Farmers. We have since communicated via email and as discussed I hope to welcome you warmly to The Jolly Farmers again soon, giving us the opportunity to restore your faith in us. Kind regards,... More

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

The nights are drawing in and by 19:30 its dark. On arrival at the Jolly Farmer, none of the outside lights were on including the ones illuminating the pub name board. As a result, our friends overshot the pub! Food was alright, but I'd avoid the £8.50 scallops with chorizo as three small scallops with very small pieces of chorizo... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Jolly Farme... T, Manager at Jolly Farmers Pub Eatery & Farm Shop, responded to this review

Dear A J, First of all, many thanks for taking the time to share your review online. Please accept my apologies that the lack of lighting caused an inconvenience to your party upon arrival – I can assure you this has now been resolved. It was caused by a problem with the timer switch that operates our outdoor lighting. The... More

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Having read previous customers comments there seems to be a bit of whingeing going on. Having had lunch here today can only say that Jolly Farmers is highly recommended. The food is great and well worth the slightly high price, the service is excellent and not too pushy. Serving sizes were more than adequate and all was nicely served on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Jolly Farme... T, Manager at Jolly Farmers Pub Eatery & Farm Shop, responded to this review

Dear GerryKent, Thank you so much – it means a lot to the entire team here at the Jolly Farmers to receive such wonderful comments. We really do value support from our customers, backing every aspect of what we offer here at the Jolly Farmers, from the service to the food to the presentation. Your review has put a lot... More

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We live locally & have been to the Jolly Farmers many times. We went to the Jolly Farmers on a Friday (last night) with 2 other friends - having pre-ordered chateaubriand for the 4 of us, we were all really looking forward to a lovely bit of beef. The waitress asked us how we'd like it cooked & we all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Jolly Farme... T, Manager at Jolly Farmers Pub Eatery & Farm Shop, responded to this review

Hi Chris, I’m glad to hear you are a regular customer and am very grateful for your feedback. I was on duty the night of your visit and I am aware of the situation that occurred with the Chateaubriands. As you know, this is a special dish and one we are proud to serve, so it is extremely disappointing for... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

The answer to the above is 'Stale Bread'. Used to go here a lot and always enjoyed it but have been twice recently and both times have been really disappointed. Today I went for lunch with my wife as couldn't park in Reigate- we both had a sandwich, the service was ok but the sandwich took ages to arrive and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Jolly Farme... T, Manager at Jolly Farmers Pub Eatery & Farm Shop, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Please accept my apologies that your recent visit left you feeling disappointed with the quality of the food. I would very much like to discuss your visit with you in person and would be grateful if you wouldn’t mind contacting me personally on 01737 211355. Many thanks in advance. Kind... More

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Myself and four friends had arranged a birthday brunch on a Sunday morning, and were very excited by the menu. I live locally and was excited at the prospect of eating here, having driven past it with intrigue. What a disappointment! We ordered eggs royal, veggie breakfast, two full English and the pancake stack. Ten minutes later we were told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The Jolly Farme... T, Manager at Jolly Farmers Pub Eatery & Farm Shop, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Jolly Farmers. It sounds as though you had a very disappointing experience on Sunday morning and for good reason. Whilst I am glad that the manager on duty on Sunday morning was able to recover the situation somewhat by discounting your bill, I do... More

Travelers who viewed Jolly Farmers Pub Eatery & Farm Shop also viewed

 

Been to Jolly Farmers Pub Eatery & Farm Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Farmers Pub Eatery & Farm Shop

Address: Reigate Road, Betchworth, Reigate RH3 7BG, England (Formerly Jolly Farmer's Food Emporium)
Phone Number: +44 1737 221355
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Reigate
Average Prices: USD 16 - 57
Cuisine: British, Gastropub, Grill, Family Fare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing