We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Duke of Cambridge

Tilford Road | Tilford, Farnham GU10 2DD, England
+44 1252 792236
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 95 restaurants in Farnham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $31
Cuisines: Pub
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    101
    71
    22
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just returned after having the most amazing Rack of Lamb absolutely superb the chef did us proud. The staff always look after us attention to every detail, especially Joe who looked after us this evening. Thank you you are favourite restaurant. Sheila and Keith a Hindhead

Was this review helpful? Yes
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Being local, we have visited The Duke of Cambridge in the past. Being summer, we thought that we would try The Caesar Salad - big mistake. Nice pice of chicken and the lettuce was crisp but every thing else was mediocre. The dressing was bland, parmesan cheese was hard to find and the croutons were awful, bit like damp cardboard.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alex F, Manager at The Duke of Cambridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for providing feedback following your recent visit to the Duke of Cambridge. I am disappointed to hear that one of dishes wasn't up to our usual standard and that we didn't do enough at the time to rectify the situation. This has been fed back to the team and we have redesigned this dish... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Had such a lovely night here. Food was fantastic and the staff were great, especially our waiter Tom who went above and beyond to please us. Would definitely come again and recommend it to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a lovely pub. Went there on a sunny Sunday with friends. We sat at the back yard. It has a very nice atmosphere. Most of the visitors were families with kids but it was not noisy. The food was delicious but it was very disappointing that the cutleries were VERY dirty. Thankfully, we had vinegar on the table... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex F, Manager at The Duke of Cambridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent visit to the Duke of Cambridge. I am pleased that you found the ambience and food enjoyable, but I am disappointed to read about our cutlery, for which I am sincerely sorry. Your feedback has been shared with our team as this is not the standard we look... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We booked at table for 18 today, the service was great, food delicious and piping hot. The restaurant was very busy so we were all impressed by the speed of service. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Pub great, waiters great, food awfull, not happy. Been here many times since it first opened but having not been here for a while we were hugely disappointed this evening. A food snob I am not but the food tonight was truly awfull. Spoke to Alex the manager and expressed my disapointment and he offered us a discount which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amy C, General Manager at The Duke of Cambridge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and providing us valuable feedback following your visit to the Duke of Cambridge. I can see from your previous reviews that you have had some enjoyable meals with us and it truly disappointing to see that we did not meet the same standards on your most recent trip. Please would you kindly contact me directly... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I phoned to book a table for two at 7pm on Friday 13th June but I was told I would have to come at 6:30 as they were expecting a large party at 7:00. We arrived at 6:25 and were shown to our table in a completely empty restaurant by a very grumpy waitress. We promptly ordered drinks and food.....the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alex F, Manager at The Duke of Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Nick, Thanks for your review. I would like to reassure you that every effort was made to follow up your visit and reach out with a gesture of good will. This was put in the post on Friday from our head office. It’s a concern that this hasn’t reached you yet. Please get in touch with me at the... More

Guildford
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This used to be our favourite haunt but it's gone down hill rapidly. I am so disappointed as the location is fantastic. I took friends for lunch twice over the last few weeks and have been very disappointed. The menu is average and the wine list terrible. The choice of wine by the glass is appalling. What's happened?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy C, General Manager at The Duke of Cambridge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and providing us feedback following your visit to the Duke of Cambridge. I am sincerely sorry to hear that your last two experiences with us have not matched your previous or met your expectations. Whilst our location offers a fantastic setting we are always critically aware that the service and food must compliment this in... More

Liphook
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Lovely country pub with excellent food and even better staff. The staff cannot do enough for you. Very pleasant experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We came here to celebrate my wife's best friends birthday. The weather had cleared, so we sat on the covered outside terrace. Very continental! The waitress table service was excellent and appropriately at tentative without being intrusive. Food was of a good standard although they appear to have skinned the sausages before they put them in the sandwich I had;... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Duke of Cambridge also viewed

 
Farnham, Surrey
Farnham, Surrey
 
Farnham, Surrey

Been to The Duke of Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duke of Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing