We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 275 Croydon Restaurants

Singapore Orchid

17 Chipstead Valley Road, Coulsdon | Coulsdon Town, Croydon CR5 2RB, England
+44 20 8668 7922
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 275 Restaurants in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Singapore Orchid takes great pride in the authenticity of our food. Menu includes therapeutic food and some of the famed "Street Food of Singapore" available in the Hawker centres of Singapore.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014 via mobile

Great Singapore food! So authentic and the laksa is better than any where. Cassidy always gives great service. Will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

we eat here from time to time, usually on special occasions - the food is always delicious and the service friendly - I love the whole sea bass!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

We came on the Sunday for Buffet and it was amazing. Great choice of food cooked to order always hot. Nothing was too much trouble and you could eat as much as you like. For £15 it was great value for money and I can't wait to go back with my family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

It was my daughter birthday. The waiter very rude and annoying. The food are cold and expensive. You have to visit it to understand it. I will not be returning to this restaurant. Waste of time and money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SingaporeOrchid66, Owner at Singapore Orchid, responded to this review

So sorry you did not enjoy your food. It would help if you had elaborate on the dishes that were cold so we may pay more attention and never let it happen in future. Customer's feedback only help us improve. I'm not sure who the waiter you mentioned is as our service staffs are all female. More 

London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Lots of dishes were very Chinese in character but some uniquely Singaporean. Really good aromatic duck with pancakes and tasty mixed starter. The braised pork was a little bland but the deep fried prawns were to die for as was a curry hot pot. Super Singapore noodles and Nasi Goreng rice. We enjoyed the lychee cocktail enormously. Gula Melaka for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Having live in the area for 12 years, we finally managed to have a night out with my husband and decided to try this restaurant. The food is beautifully cooked and presented, bursting with delicate flavours. The lady who runs the restaurant made us feel very welcome and comfortable. It felt like being in someone's home. Whereas I appreciate some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Good food, beer and service Starters were good Super sizzling black bean and paneer Noodle dishes again good

Was this review helpful? Yes
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Tried the Nasi Lemak, not really knowing what to expect - delicious. Ikan Bilis (fried anchovies with chillie and peanuts) as part of this was very tasty. Our friends enjoyed their meal as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Been going here for years and booked a table for a friends birthday. I understand the owner is on holiday so maybe this was the problem but from the sullen waiter to lacklustre food it was a dismal evening. I ordered a dish which I've had many times but what arrived was a grim plate of boiled chicken that I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SingaporeOrchid66, Owner at Singapore Orchid, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and I am very sorry you were not happy with the dish you ordered. I have checked with my staff on my return and the chicken dish you ordered is Bugis Chicken, one of our most popular street food choice. The chicken is poached and then transferred to water with ice cubes to... More 

Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We popped in for Sunday lunch & had Singapore Laksa ( coconut noodle soup with chicken ) and a chicken claypot curry. Both meals were delicious and of a generous size, but not too large that we struggled to finish. We paid about £7 per meal, so great value too.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Singapore Orchid also viewed

 

Been to Singapore Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singapore Orchid

Address: 17 Chipstead Valley Road, Coulsdon | Coulsdon Town, Croydon CR5 2RB, England
Phone Number: +44 20 8668 7922
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Croydon
Average Prices: USD 9 - 23
Cuisine: Chinese

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Singapore Orchid staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?