We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Spread Eagle

$$$
Gastropub, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Church Road | Burton on Trent, Rolleston on Dove DE139BE, England
+44 1283 813004
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Spread Eagle is a beautiful pub, set in the chocolate box village of...
The Spread Eagle is a beautiful pub, set in the chocolate box village of Rolleston on Dove. The building is a piece of living history. Established in 1651 it is one of the oldest buildings in Rolleston. By coming to The Spread Eagle you'll be experiencing a piece of British history and culture as well being able to enjoy our delicious menu and wide selection of cask ales, lagers, ciders, spirits and wines. During the winter, the warmth from our open fires will keep you warm and create an atmosphere which can not be recreated, and in the summer you can sit in our fantastic beer garden. Enjoying a late afternoon drink or an Al fresco meal whilst listening to the river dove trickle by. During weeknights we have our evening set menu which is 2 courses for £11.95, From 5pm. Every Wednesday is also Pie Day at The Spread Eagle, each week we offer a selection of 6 tasty pies served with a medley of vegetables and your choice of potatoes or chips. On Saturday you can treat yourself with our brilliant Steak and Supper menu, a 3 course fillet steak meal for just £25. We also have a children's menu for the little ones in your party as well providing superb Sunday roasts, every Sunday. We're looking forward to seeing you, from everyone at The Spread Eagle.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 151 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 38
    Excellent
  • 41
    Very good
  • 32
    Average
  • 25
    Poor
  • 15
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
great customer service

I would just like to comment on the recent review where negative comments were given re the service and management attitude. We were actually present in the garden at the said time of the incident and can only readdress the comments made. We always sit outside the establishment most Sunday... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 21, 2015
chappers1_12
,
Burton, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

I would just like to comment on the recent review where negative comments were given re the service and management attitude. We were actually present in the garden at the said time of the incident and can only readdress the comments made. We always sit outside the establishment most Sunday afternoons for a nice drink before dinner, on that said... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Midlands, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

We visited with friends last week. My husband and I chose the cod and chips at a not inconsiderable £11.50 each. The fish was a very small thin fillet of cod which had dried out during the frying process. Very unappetising indeed. The cod and chips here has always previously been good, it used to be described as a whale... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

Went to the Spread Eagle for a meal and drinks with friends and wasn't disappointed. The meals were great value for money, a varied ale selection, and the staff and manager were especially welcoming. Will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Coppet, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

Menu a little more extensive than many pubs, and on two separate occasions this year we enjoyed the food, while getting frustrated at patchy service. It shouldn't be necessary to have to get up and seek the servers when wanting another bottle of wine or to pay the bill! Good location with an attractive courtyard and garden - is it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

I have walked away and i am still shaking from the poor customer service. i went for a family lunch but did not know that only the week before, my mother-in-law had to walk out after she was treated like a second class citizen and had the menu snatched out of her hands. Instead of an apology, the manager was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

Visited the spread eagle on a Wednesday night with the family. After not eating there for years due to bad experiences we decided it maybe worth a shot. The food was nice enough. Average food for a pub, the hunters chicken which id vowed not to eat from there as it was always a disappointment proved me wrong & the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonny C, Social Media Operator at The Spread Eagle, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Parr, Thank you for you and your family member leaving us twin reviews of the same negative experience you had here. Most of your issues have been responded too in the response below. To be short: - You did not wait that long for your meals - That was our busiest Wednesday night of the year, with a full... More 

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015 via mobile

Terrible night attempting to celebrate a birthday. Service atrocious after pre booking a table others who hasn't booked came and went before we were served. Many customers complained And the excuse was we got busy. Will not be eating there again for a very long time I'd ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jonny C, Social Media Operator at The Spread Eagle, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Parr, We're sorry your experience here wasn't to your liking. Due to the severity of your review it required a full investigation by management at The Spread Eagle, it must of been frustrating for you to think you have seen other parties order after you and be served before you but our records show that the wait time from... More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

I went here with 2 friends on Monday. It was very quiet -probably because it was a Monday? Service was prompt and friendly. I had an open lamb kofta sandwich with chips. Very tasty and good value for money. We were all very happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonny C, Social Media Operator at The Spread Eagle, responded to this review

Dear SmileySammy1985, Thank you taking the time to review your pleasant experience here at The Spread Eagle. You're not the only person to compliment the lamb kofta sandwich because of its taste and value and we'll hopefully see you again! King regards, The Spread Eagle Team. More 

Tutbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

Myself and three friends visited for girly night out. Used gourmet society card to get 25% off and without this would have been expensive. Food was very good to be fair but when it came to paying the bill we had been told we could have the set menu with the gourmet card but had been charged full price. Landlord... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jonny C, Social Media Operator at The Spread Eagle, responded to this review

Dear Liz H, Everyone here at The Spread is terribly sorry that your experience here was unpleasant. Unfortunately one of our staff could of made a mistake and thought you could use a gourmet society card and the 3 courses for a set price in conjunction with each other. Having worked the shift myself, there was very little the staff... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

Me, my partner and my family return here regularly and we are never disappointed. The food is always cooked to perfection and full of flavour. The cookie dough desert is definitely a must try. Can be quite pricey but you get the quality you pay for. Welcoming and relaxed environment with lovely staff that provide excellent customer service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Jonny C, Social Media Operator at The Spread Eagle, responded to this review

Dear Adamop94, We'll look forward to seeing you again here at The Spread Eagle, and your feedback in regards to the great quality of food and service will be happily passed on to our General Manager, Keith. Kind regards, The Spread Eagle Team More 

Travelers who viewed The Spread Eagle also viewed

Rolleston on Dove, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Willington, Derbyshire
Tutbury, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Spread Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Church Road | Burton on Trent, Rolleston on Dove DE139BE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Rolleston on Dove
  • Phone Number: +44 1283 813004

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 to 39
  • Cuisine: Gastropub, British, Pub

Description

The Spread Eagle is a beautiful pub, set in the chocolate box village of Rolleston on Dove. The building is a piece of living history. Established in 1651 it is one of the oldest buildings in Rolleston. By coming to The Spread Eagle you'll be experiencing a piece of British history and culture as well being able to enjoy our delicious menu and wide selection of cask ales, lagers, ciders, spirits and wines. During the winter, the warmth from our open fires will keep you warm and create an atmosphere which can not be recreated, and in the summer you can sit in our fantastic beer garden. Enjoying a late afternoon drink or an Al fresco meal whilst listening to the river dove trickle by. During weeknights we have our evening set menu which is 2 courses for £11.95, From 5pm. Every Wednesday is also Pie Day at The Spread Eagle, each week we offer a selection of 6 tasty pies served with a medley of vegetables and your choice of potatoes or chips. On Saturday you can treat yourself with our brilliant Steak and Supper menu, a 3 course fillet steak meal for just £25. We also have a children's menu for the little ones in your party as well providing superb Sunday roasts, every Sunday. We're looking forward to seeing you, from everyone at The Spread Eagle.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Spread Eagle staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?