We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ramblers Retreat

Red Road | Alton, Alton ST10 4BU, England
+44 1538 702730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 restaurants in Alton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $2
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: The Ramblers Retreat is an award winning country tearoom nestled in the Dimmingsdale, part of the beautiful Churnet Valley in Staffordshire. Our menu is homemade using only the best ingredients, many of which are sourced from local suppliers in the Staffordshire Moorlands. And as well as a delicious meal you can also enjoy the beauty and tranquillity of Dimmingsdale, this spectacular valley by following one of the established woodland walks. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    67
    24
    12
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

Came here after dumping the teenagers at Alton Towers, lovely area, staff and food and plenty of nearby walks which was perfect for the weather that day.. Plenty of caches to be had round here too for any of you that know what I'm talking about ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We called on a Thursday lunch time following a long walk in the area the setting is excellent but unfortunately dozens of other people had the same idea which made for long queues to order anything,which had to be done at a small hatch window at the rear of the building,we wanted a meal but all the tables inside were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ramblers480, Owner at Ramblers Retreat, responded to this review

It was incredibly busy on Thursday, it was a beautiful day, which brought out lots of visitors, resulting in our tea room being fully booked. I hope this is also an indication of our reputation. It's a shame you weren't prepared to wait as food was being served within 20 minutes, but maybe you'l visit us again in the near... More

Ashbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Love the place, love the service and the ambiance. Great food, prices and service Defo visit again PS my 3 yr old daughter thought the place was that good that when we were leaving she ran back in, sat back at the table and announce she wanted to stay right here !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ramblers480, Guest Relations Manager at Ramblers Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the Ramblers Retreat! We're really happy to hear you (and your daughter) enjoyed your visit to Dimmingsdale and the Ramblers Retreat, you're feedback does really mean a lot to us! We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Helen, Gary, Margaret & The Ramblers Retreat Team More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stopped here for a coffee on the way to Alton towers. And we where so tempted by the fantastic home made menu and cakes that we just couldn't resist. My boyfriend had the bacon and Brie sandwich and I had the homemade bake well tart that was the best I have ever tasted. The service and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ramblers480, Guest Relations Manager at Ramblers Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the Ramblers Retreat. We're over the moon that you enjoyed your experience in Dimmingsdale and the Ramblers Retreat and your feedback really does mean a lot to us! We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Helen, Gary, Margaret & The Ramblers Retreat Team More

Cheadle, staffs United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We sat outside in a lovely gazebo even though it was busy our food was served piping hot and we didn't have to wait long at all. The food was all fresh and homemade. my husband had the steak and ale pie served with 4 veg and 'proper' chips and I had the vegetarian lasagne served with new potatoes and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ramblers480, Owner at Ramblers Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Ramblers Retreat. We really appreciate your lovely comments and I shall share them with the team. As a family run business we try extraordinarily hard to make sure everyone enjoys their visit, so your comments mean a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Helen,... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Whilst out walking around Alton & Dimmingsdale I stumbled upon this eatery. The pot of tea was a very nice cuppa and I had a lovely cream scone. I shall come back here and perhaps have a main meal. We sat outside with the dog and it was raining but all the tables were covered with large parasols so we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ramblers480, Guest Relations Manager at Ramblers Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Ramblers Retreat. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards Gary, Margaret, Helen and The Ramblers Retreat Team More

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

After reading the reviews, we thought we'd visit after a trip to Alton Towers. Definitely recommended, very relaxed and cosy setting. Excellent service, and not overpriced. As for the food, nothing too fancy. Just good honest food, great ingredients, rich in flavour with an attention to detail to enhance the flavours. The dishes we had were clearly freshly made on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ramblers480, Guest Relations Manager at Ramblers Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ramblers Retreat. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind Regards Helen, Gary, Margaret and The Ramblers Retreat Team More

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Had a romantic walk around Dimmingsdale last Sunday on an absolutely beautifully sunny day. On the walk back to the car we thought we would have a quick pint in the pretty looking outdoor seating area before heading off home as we were both extremely thirsty from the heat and the walk. We were told after queuing for nearly 20... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Keswick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We arrived 7 of us for morning coffee and we were made to feel so welcome, we decided that we would come back for lunch, so off we trotted and came back to the same table for lunch. Both experiences were wonderful and the staff were amazing. Highly recommended. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ramblers480, Guest Relations Manager at Ramblers Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Ramblers Retreat. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future! Kind Regards Helen, Gary, Margaret and The Ramblers Retreat Team More

Newcastle under Lyme, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

stopped in for a toast and a scone + tea in the rain last Sunday- totally soaked but had a great time, thanks !

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ramblers480, Owner at Ramblers Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing The Ramblers Retreat. We take great pride in the food we prepare and work we do and are delighted that you enjoyed your visit! Kind Regards Helen, Margaret, Gary and The Ramblers Retreat Team More

Travelers who viewed Ramblers Retreat also viewed

Alton, Staffordshire
Alton, Staffordshire
 

Been to Ramblers Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramblers Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing