We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Piggy In The Middle

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Fish & Chips
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PS, England
01643862647
Add hours for Piggy In The Middle and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 139 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 73
    Excellent
  • 34
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Perfect pies!

Bought 2 pies for supper, really good pastry & filling. However, we bought them frozen as it was only 5pm & were charged over £4 a pie which didn't seem particularly good value. Think would have cost the same if heated or ate in. Would go back to try different pies, but would were price next time.

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 6, 2015
Nick B
,
Oxford, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 NEW

Visited here whilst on holiday, excellent food, good service and value. It's only a small place so booking is advised.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015 via mobile

The plan was hatched! We'd go to the pub a few doors down, picking the fish supper up in half hour. It worked to perfection. Absolutely superb food quality and customer service!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Bought 2 pies for supper, really good pastry & filling. However, we bought them frozen as it was only 5pm & were charged over £4 a pie which didn't seem particularly good value. Think would have cost the same if heated or ate in. Would go back to try different pies, but would were price next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Thank you piggy in the middle, these people know what they are doing, and do it well, great quality fish and chips and pies, three days in Porlock just kept going back, you must try it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

We both had fish ,chips and peas and have to say it was the best we have eaten. Perfectly crisp batter and fresh fish .Great friendly service and a nice place to eat in and enjoy a glass of wine with our meal .Highly recommend !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

We had booked in to stay for the bank holiday in Porlock as a group of 3 families. I had a very bad encounter with the owner of the place.This incident was the most humiliating experience I have ever had in any restaraunt. We had initially booked a table for 7 adults to eat in. But unfortunately due to change... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Verena515, Owner at Piggy In The Middle, responded to this review

We are certainly not racist however we were very upset with your behaviour. We are a very small restaurant only seating 18 people and you booked tables for 7 people which is almost half of the restaurant. We reserved the tables for you and turned other customers away as a result. You came back only half an hour before your... More 

Stow-on-the-Wold, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Went to Piggy in the Middle on 3rd May. Amazing choice of pies, difficult to choose and mega tasty. Fish also looks fabulous. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

We enjoyed our meal. We tried the fish and chips and a speciality pie, which were both very Nice. The service in the small eating place was good, and the cost was reasonable for the size of the meal. The only two comment on the negative side were that payment was cash only - no credit card facilities and if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Great & convenient little restaurant in Porlock, although we've never eaten inside, we enjoyed many a take away from here, service is always friendly, food always freshly cooked & piping hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Porlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

What used to be a fine dining restaurant has changed into a very nice fish & chip shop! They saw a gap in the market and plugged it! This is a holiday area and what the visitors and locals want is good, wholesome, well cooked food. Well, they have certainly done that and the fish and chips are delicious! They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Piggy In The Middle also viewed

Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Piggy In The Middle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Exmoor National Park  >  Porlock
  • Phone Number: 01643862647

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 12 - 23
  • Cuisine: Fish & Chips

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Piggy In The Middle staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?