We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Piggy In The Middle

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Fish & Chips, Seafood
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PS, England
01643862647
Add hours for Piggy In The Middle and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 154 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 83
    Excellent
  • 37
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Lovely fish & chips

Five of us ate in here after a long day on the SW Coast Path. The fish and chips were lovely - so rare to find well cooked fish. The restaurant is cafe style and busy, but friendly, so service took a little while. It's worthwhile booking in advance.

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 25, 2015
rudisudi
,
Birmingham
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015 NEW

A nice local lady recommended this restaurant as we were strolling along the main road of Porlock. She was right, they served very good awardwinning pies! Reasonable prices, nice and efficient staff and cosy restaurant. Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

On a stay in Porlock, we took advantage of the takeaway service this restaurant provides, and was very disappointed. The service was frosty to say the least, the chips were soggy, and the pie was dry. All the reviews I'd read we're positive so maybe we went on an off day, but I didn't go back to give them another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Birmingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Five of us ate in here after a long day on the SW Coast Path. The fish and chips were lovely - so rare to find well cooked fish. The restaurant is cafe style and busy, but friendly, so service took a little while. It's worthwhile booking in advance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

We were looking for a meal on a Sunday evening (not many served evening meals on Sundays) The restaurant was very busy. We were lucky we had to take a walk around Porlock for half an hour but the wait was well worth it. The fish and chips were excellent. There is not an extensive menu just fish and pies,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Excellent light and crispy cod, great pies and perfectly cooked chips. This is not the place to come if you want fast food. Every dish is cooked to order to avoid the inevitable soggy chips and tired pies you often find in chip shops.. We went with our two sons. We all had large meals with drinks and it came... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Scampi Provencale lacked flavour.. Steak was a bit too chewey, The restaurant lacked atmosphere. Service was okay but a little slow considering that the restaurant was not busy,

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Verena515, Owner at Piggy In The Middle, responded to this review

Thank you for you marking us as excellent! However we do not sell Scampi Provencale or Steak and only sell mainly Fish and Chips and Pies so can only assume you have written a review for the wrong restaurant since you have also stated you visited in August last year! More 

Broom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

had fish chips and peas and a drink to there for about a hour then had a walk down to the beech to see the sun co down to a lovely day

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Very good value for money, pleasant welcome and excellent fish - not soggy or greasy - crispy batter. Will return if in the area again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lymm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

Great meal with excellent service. Really enjoyed the fish and chip meal we had there. Would certainly return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Porlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

Whether to eat in or take away, the pies on offer at Piggy in the Middle are the best we have ever eaten. The table space is limited, so if you want to eat in it's best to book in advance. Otherwise, just phone in your order and collect it to eat wherever you prefer. Dogs are welcome, which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Piggy In The Middle also viewed

Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Piggy In The Middle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piggy In The Middle

Address: High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PS, England
Phone Number: 01643862647
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Exmoor National Park  >  Porlock
Average Prices: USD 12 - 23
Cuisine: Fish & Chips, Seafood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Exmoor National Park  >  Porlock
  • Phone Number: 01643862647

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 12 - 23
  • Cuisine: Fish & Chips, Seafood

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Piggy In The Middle staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?