We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dining Rooms

Welsh Walls, Oswestry SY11 1AW, England
+44 (0)1691 670970
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 91 restaurants in Oswestry
Price range: $41 - $125
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    58
    30
    16
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The drinks are far to expensive for this middle of the road restaurant. I ask for a pint of larger and couldn't believe it when I was asked for £5.00, I said perhaps I should have had a pint of Guinness instead but I was told that was also a fiver a pint, Food was nothing special either.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We returned to the dining rooms for early bird, it was just as good service and food as we had last time. Although very busy we enjoyed our meal and will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Visited with a large group (about 40) for dinner. On our behalf a smaller 2 course menu had been decided for a set price of £15. All mains came with vegetables - there were 9 on my table and we had enought for 18 or more. We were able to upgrade to 3 course for an additional cost of £5.75.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Quite a gathering, most of us were disappointed with our meals. It wasn't explained to us we would need to order potato's and veg separately.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gohughes, Owner at The Dining Rooms, responded to this review

We have tried hard to figure out who this comment relates too. The menus clearly state that vegetables and potatoes are extras and almost 95% of our dishes have a potato or starch element. We have not had any tables that fit the description of the complaint and if we had been aware of it we would have done our... More

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The restaurant is in a former school,a lot of the original features have been retained. You can just imagine board rubbers being thrown across the room and desks being slammed. We were shown to a seating area in front of a log burner,with nibbles on plates on the table in front of you. The menu was extensive ,with a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We enjoyed a very good early bird meal. It was good value for money . The staff are all very friendly and welcoming, nothing seemed to be to much trouble. Will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Yet again..... Jeff and his amazing team of staff have done it again with great food, amazing attentive service and the personal touch only a great restauranteur can achieve.. This is not the first time we have visited this great venue.. We were hear for Christmas Day, Valentines Day and now Mother's Day along with many visits in between over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We went to the dining rooms for a treat using the groupon voucher, The resturant was quiet as it was a tuesday but very welcoming, the staff were very attentive but not too much to make you feel pressured. We had starters of mushroom on toast which was lovely. Our mains were just as good, The house red and white... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I took a group for the Early Bird meal last week and it was absolutely gorgeous. I had the Bubble & Squeak for a main course and the Eton Mess for pudding. Staff were lovely and the atmosphere always spot on. Thank you so much!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I ate out last night at the dining rooms, it was a treat for him on getting a new job. I had got the groupon voucher and told the lady when we booked, hence we ended up with not a great table, too low chairs and next to a busy staff only door. When they came to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers who viewed The Dining Rooms also viewed

Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to The Dining Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dining Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing