We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
46 High St., Much Wenlock TF13 6AD, England
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Much Wenlock
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    10
    9
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Mids
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015 NEW

This is the second lunch we have enjoyed at The Fox. Today we had two courses each, which cost under £14 per person. Lovely food, Very good choice, Relaxed atmosphere. Would recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015 NEW

We did a Wowcher deal to stay at the Fox Inn and had already decided to eat there on the 1st night. Having had a fairly challenging journey we arrived and were met by the lovely Mick stoking the fire with a friendly smile and warm welcome. We were given the opportunity to either eat in the bar area or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Friendly staff and locals who were fun to spend the evening with. Fast service all night despite being busy. Great live entertainment from an Amy Winehouse/ Cher tribute. Very tasty hot and cold buffet, which was obviously home made. Clean toilets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Having eaten at the Fox several times. I was shocked to read PurpleLimes review. We went for a meal on said night and was explained that due to the busy period we wouldn't be able to eat off the normally excellent Main menu. We had the specials that were on offer and as always were fantastic. I disagree it's needs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

We decided to go away for a post Christmas treat and on evening one ate in our hotel where the food was spectacular (The Raven). On our second night we decided to try the Fox Inn as the menus looked great and booked early in the day. When we arrived we were told they only had the lunch menu which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hoppo74, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Dear PurpleLime Thank you for your "review". If it can be called that seeing as you didn't eat with us anyway. Having read your other reviews, you clearly take pleasure in visiting small businesses posting scathing and totally counterfactual rubbish. The reason I can justify this statement - just to be 100% clear, is the following: 1) You were absolutely... More 

Birmingham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

This is my second visit to the Fox. Myself and family decided to stay there over Christmas and have Lunch on Christmas Day. I had booked 2 months previously and was sent the menu in due course and asked to select our choices of food. As this was a seven course lunch I thought this only fair. We were given... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Flint, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

First time visitor to Much Wenlock and went to the Fox Inn for lunch with family, 5 of us sat down and the service was attentive from start to finish without being overdone. The food was absolutely delicious. Plenty of choice and a good variety. The ambience was lovely and even as it got busier, the staff still took time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Had a superb meal at The Fox last night whilst visiting friends in Much Wenlock. Really impressed with the seasonal menu and variety of interesting dishes on offer. Well done all at The Fox. We will be back soon :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

This place has changed hands so many times, it's hard to know what to expect. The present owners who haven't been here that long seem to have got a formula that will please everyone. My friends and I had Sunday lunch and were not disappointed: the beef and pork were good quality and of local supply. The portion sizes are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

We decided on the spur of the moment to eat out early and after deliberating about where to go,we decided on a magical mystery tour and ended up in Much Wenlock. We spotted the Fox and in we went.We were given a fixed menu and a more elaborate menu and a choice of the restaurant or the homely bar area.We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoppo74, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Dear Neil Thank you for your review. I try not to answer too many reviews as TripAdvisor is a forum for people to share opinions and far be it for me to intervene. However on this occasion I feel necessary to make the following points. First of all, we are not a chain. We are a family run business, therefore... More 

Travelers who viewed The Fox Inn also viewed

Much Wenlock, Shropshire
Much Wenlock, Shropshire
 
Much Wenlock, Shropshire
 

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Address: 46 High St., Much Wenlock TF13 6AD, England
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Much Wenlock
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Fox Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?