We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Eagle

Oakleaf Close | Mansfield, Mansfield NG18 4GH, England
+44 1623 414627
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 124 restaurants in Mansfield
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Golden Eagle is part of the Marstons chain of pubs/restaurants.Our specific brand, is 'TWO FOR ONE' on ALL main meals.As this, we offer a wide menu choice of traditional pub food, with the option to have something a bit different from our huge range of specials.Our aim is to offer good value & quality, with efficient & friendly service, as part of the trusted UK wide Marstons brand.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    44
    38
    19
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield Notts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 NEW

We went to the Golden Eagle Fri 26/07/14 around 5pm. We were greeted and made very welcome and we had drinks served straight away and had our order taken in minutes and the main course food served in 10-15 mins. The restaurant was about 1/3 full. The menu is usual for a Marston's pub and good prices. We have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I've been here a few times and although the customer service is good it seems they never have enough of the food they are supposed to serve..? Obviously this affects the service and they do not offer anything as an alternative. When they do have the food in it is nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we do investigate all issues brought to our attention, however, as you have not stated when your visit was, we are a little unsure as to what it is, we always run out of. We are aware of product availability issues in mid June, due to our menu changing from winter to summer, unfortunately, this... More

Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

A few of us went for an impromptu lunch to celebrate a friends birthday. Service was very good with friendly attentive staff. We were drawn in due to the introduction of the new pizza line, as advertised outside. Previous visits had left me pretty unconvinced about the food, but you do get what you pay for, and this is typical... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. As you may be aware, we here at The Golden Eagle, are still a Two for One pub, that serves a full menu & specials board, with full waitress service, where you can get 2 hand made pizzas, made to order for £9.99 & these have proven to be very popular. We were the first... More

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I visit here quite regularly for a lunch time meal and have always found the service excellent and the food well cooked and good value for money and due to this experience we recently took a family party of 17 for a celebratory meal and we were not disappointed. A long table had been set to accommodate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this review

Many many thanks, for taking the time to write about your visit here. It is so nice, when our customers let us know when we have got it right. Hope to see you back again soon! Thanks again! More

Nottinghamshire, U.K.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

UNSATISFACTORY CUSTOMER SERVICE AND CARE I am deeply saddened to have to write under these circumstances as I am normally a regular diner at the Golden Eagle, Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, and on occasion given it a good review but after the dreadful experience this evening, I will not be returning if ever and certainly not until some satisfactory action has been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this review

dear adhtz21, I am sorry to read that you will not be returning to the pub again unless satisfactory action is taken. I can assure you that we deal with all customer satisfaction issues most seriously. The door that seems to be the spark I can take action with, we have already contacted our maintenance team in order to get... More

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Me and my wife visited on Tuesday 1st July at lunchtime for a meal. The prices were quite reasonable with the 2 for 1 menu and plenty of choice. I had the Rump Steak which was quite nice but the rest of the meal was a touch cold, but eatable. My wife had the Chicken breast and Rack of ribs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your visit with us and can assure you that we endeavour to make sure that all our food is delivered piping hot and to a very good standard. We hope you will visit again soon so we can show you that your visit... More

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Visited this pub last week with my wife for a meal. I ordered steak & chips but asked if I could exchange the onion rings, cost approx. £0.80, for an egg, cost £0.50. Request was refused by the manageress stating that it was not in line with Marstons policy. I found this astonishing as the egg would have effectively cost... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback Dave S. As we have made you aware on previous visits, if you wish to have 'extras' ordered with your food then you are expected to pay for them. I 'walked away' from you as I did not wish to enter into the very same argument that you have had with my staff and management... More

mansfield woodhouse notts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Called in Golden eagle for bite to eat with my mother on a Friday lunch time. The place was about half full. Service was prompt and our waitress was nice and friendly. We both had the gammon off the 2 for1 menu and we both enjoyed our meals and the gammon was perfectly cooked .If you want fine dining this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great response! Our team genuinely work hard to achieve exactly what you have mentioned in your review, so it is great assurance when we receive feedback like this! We look forward to hopefully seeing you soon! Many thanks once again! More

Mansfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This place is always always busy! & there's a reason for that... its just great. Me & my family, all generations, love it, because there is something for everyone, my son loves the pizza, made fresh from their pizza kitchen, my dad loves the stilton steak off the specials board. The food is top notch pub grub, that comes to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit here, it is so nice to hear about your positive experience, we are a very busy pub, but we do always try our best to make everyone happy & try to offer something for everyone. I will pass your lovely comments onto our team & we hope see... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Slow service Nothing fresh at all Overpriced for what you get. Chicken was like eating cardboard with a warmed up packet sauce dumped on top and very poor presentation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write your comments. However, I feel that based on this & your previous reviews to places you have visited, that your expectations are a little high. If it is fresh food & fine dining you want, then I would suggest, that you don't go to a pub, where you get two meals... More

Travelers who viewed Golden Eagle also viewed

Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Golden Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Eagle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing