We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Eagle

Oakleaf Close | Mansfield, Mansfield NG18 4GH, England
+44 1623 414627
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 125 restaurants in Mansfield
Price range: $8 - $33
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Golden Eagle is part of the Marstons chain of pubs/restaurants.Our specific brand, is 'TWO FOR ONE' on ALL main meals.As this, we offer a wide menu choice of traditional pub food, with the option to have something a bit different from our huge range of specials.Our aim is to offer good value & quality, with efficient & friendly service, as part of the trusted UK wide Marstons brand.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    47
    40
    19
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The refurb has done the pub wonders it now looks fab and now with the menu plus pizzas amazing. Brillisnt value for money, good speed of service plus nice friendly welcoming staff on duty that day will be returning again soon :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Regularly visit this place due it being more quality food and dinning than the average pub food you'd expect at Weatherspoons for example.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! They are exactly what we try to achieve here at The Golden Eagle, so its great that you have taken the time to write them & let us know, that we have succeeded on this occasion! Hope to see you again soon! More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Thanks again for an excellent evening attentive staff (Dean especially helpful) , even though very busy they had a system in place so no-one queue jumped. My husband steak was cooked exactly as ordered loved my Cajun chicken Could not find fault with anything See you again

Was this review helpful? Yes
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments! We can get really busy here at The Golden Eagle, but we do always try our best to deliver that great quality & service for every single customer. I will pass your great comments onto Dean! Hope to see you again soon! More

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We go to the Eagle on a regular basis at least once a week. The food is excellent for the price. We eat out at various places and have found that the Eagle is friendly and welcoming. When ever we have had a problem with any of the food (which has not been often, maybe two occasions) the customer service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your great comments. Its lovely to hear from our regular customers, we do really try hard to offer great quality at great prices, so to hear we have succeeded is fantastic! I will pass your comments onto our team & hope to see you again very soon! More

Nottingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

I ate here with a friend last night, it was the first time I've been and I will definitely go again! Extremely attentive staff, we were served very quickly, our food arrived not long afterwards and was all cooked to perfection! Our waiter was then extremely helpful when we asked which desert he recommended, the one I chose was again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your very first experience with us! We love it when customers have had a great time! We are very proud of our team, they all work extremely hard & are very passionate about The Golden Eagle! We will pass your comments onto the team & hope to see you again soon! More

nottingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

went with family recently for a lunch time me There were 7 in the party and the meals on offer where 2 for 1 Obviously this left an odd one When we ask how they could help with this situation we were told we would have to pay for 8 people but we could not have the extra meal because... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your visit to us. As a Marstons branded 'Two for One' pub, your party of 7 people would have received 6 meals at two for one & had to pay for the 7th meal at full price, the offer is only for the amount of people dining, as... More

Mansfield Notts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We went to the Golden Eagle Fri 26/07/14 around 5pm. We were greeted and made very welcome and we had drinks served straight away and had our order taken in minutes and the main course food served in 10-15 mins. The restaurant was about 1/3 full. The menu is usual for a Marston's pub and good prices. We have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your visit here. The team do work really hard to try & make sure everyone gets the service they deserve, at our competitive two for one pricing, in clean, safe, pleasant surroundings, so it is great to hear when we have succeeded. Many thanks again. Hope to see you... More

Nottingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I've been here a few times and although the customer service is good it seems they never have enough of the food they are supposed to serve..? Obviously this affects the service and they do not offer anything as an alternative. When they do have the food in it is nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we do investigate all issues brought to our attention, however, as you have not stated when your visit was, we are a little unsure as to what it is, we always run out of. We are aware of product availability issues in mid June, due to our menu changing from winter to summer, unfortunately, this... More

Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

A few of us went for an impromptu lunch to celebrate a friends birthday. Service was very good with friendly attentive staff. We were drawn in due to the introduction of the new pizza line, as advertised outside. Previous visits had left me pretty unconvinced about the food, but you do get what you pay for, and this is typical... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. As you may be aware, we here at The Golden Eagle, are still a Two for One pub, that serves a full menu & specials board, with full waitress service, where you can get 2 hand made pizzas, made to order for £9.99 & these have proven to be very popular. We were the first... More

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I visit here quite regularly for a lunch time meal and have always found the service excellent and the food well cooked and good value for money and due to this experience we recently took a family party of 17 for a celebratory meal and we were not disappointed. A long table had been set to accommodate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this review

Many many thanks, for taking the time to write about your visit here. It is so nice, when our customers let us know when we have got it right. Hope to see you back again soon! Thanks again! More

Travelers who viewed Golden Eagle also viewed

Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Golden Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Eagle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing