We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Barn at Beal

Beal, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 2PB, England
01289 540044
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: British
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    136
    84
    27
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 NEW via mobile

We ate here for lunch and although the food was nice (good salads with the potatoes and a tasty tomato soup), the service was variable from one really nice on the ball girl to another who forgot one part of the menu, didn't bring us water when asked twice, forgot one of our drinks... The restaurant is also very noisy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

We've driven by a 1000 times and had coffee there and visited the bird of prey centre but until recently never had dinner at the Barn. It was a delight, service and food first class and we had a table for two looking out on that view...Bamburgh Castle, the Farnes, Holy Island and the causeway...breathtaking. We'll be back next trip... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW

We've been here several times and never had a bad meal. You really get what you pay for! Please ignore the bad reviews about it being expensive. It's worth it! Lovely latte too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 NEW

We wish this was closer to us (we live in Devon!) we ordered a crab sandwich which was not a sandwich but a baguette stuffed with crab meat, and when we say stuffed we mean stuffed! Add the stunning views across to Holy Island and what more could you ask for?

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Malton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 NEW

We came he For a coffee and scone after seeing holy island. Very bad service I had to leave children to order as sat outside and then made to come back and forth to get trays and also ask where teaspoons and sugar were. 130 in afternoon no scones left and cakes very exspensive and nothing special. Good play area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 NEW

We stopped here having just cycled across from Lindisfarne. It was a convenient place to stop for lunch. We had a tuna mayonnaise sandwich and a soup and sandwich combo. The soup tasted like tinned soup. The salad with the tuna mayo sandwich was definitely of the wet lettuce variety but at least it had salad. The soup and sandwich... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vixinhaler, Owner at The Barn at Beal, responded to this review

I was disappointed to read your review and see that you awarded us 1 star. Our soup and sandwich combo's are very popular as not everyone wants a huge bowl of soup as well as a sandwich so we are trying to consider this and cater for all. I'm sorry the soup tasted "tinned" and I can assure you it... More

Ham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I was staying in Bamburgh and wanted to drive over and back from Holy Island before the lunchtime tides. I had a great visit and, safely back over the causeway, I pulled in to this wonderful place. They were charming. Marvellous fast wifi. Spectacular views. Charming staff. Great coffee - and a menu that made me wish I hadn't pigged... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We returned here after a two year period to find the location as special as before. Sadly that was not so with the food. Whilst the menus and wine list were imaginative and impressive, the kitchen had clearly declined and was serving no better than canteen food at more exalted prices! A crayfish and prawn salad was crudely presented smothered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vixinhaler, Owner at The Barn at Beal, responded to this review

I was really disappointed to read your review. As a returning customer we always hope to give you a great experience but this time we didn't manage to do that. I have had crayfish salad many times at the Barn and I always really enjoy it. It is a shame that you didn't on this occasion. I will give your... More

York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Lovely setting with great views. Wonderful food and very friendly staff. Our dog, Skye, enjoyed all the fuss! Immaculate toilets. Interesting little shop and art work for sale. Great playground area. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We came a couple of times to get coffee and cake, both of which we're excellent, unfortunately the service was not so- we were rushed to order even though there was no queue, and they miss-heard our order for coffee and the hot chocolate didn't have any flavour, but despite this I would come back, it is in a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Barn at Beal also viewed

Belford, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to The Barn at Beal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barn at Beal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing