We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Restaurant and Bar

Kettering Parkway, Kettering NN15 6XT, England
+44 1536 416666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 134 restaurants in Kettering
Price range: $34 - $110
Cuisines: European, English, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Summer drinks on the terrace or intimate dining by a crackling cosy fire. Whatever the season, taste the very best of the Midlands at The Restaurant and Bar. Our doors are open all day until late. With fabulous daily menus that showcase the region's excellent produce, we're proud to support local suppliers wherever possible. Our enviable reputation is built on great quality - always served with a professional cheery smile.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    6
    6
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Me and my wife had dinner in the restaurant the week before valentines. the food was excellent and flavoursome and the service was something to be remembered. the server Sarah went out of her way fo make the night special for us, we cannot thank her enough. Brilliant attentative and friendly service. thanks for a great evening

Was this review helpful? Yes
KetteringManager, General Manager at The Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank You for your kind comments. I'll be sharing these with the team and hopefully we'll be able to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Gareth Ireland - General Manager More

Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I booked a birthday lunch on 2nd Febuary in a private room, I asked for wine on the tables, table for a cake etc. When we arrived in the room none of this was done.I had paid up frount for this So I went to complain and get what I ordered. When they brought the staters they messed that up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KetteringManager, General Manager at The Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that the birthday lunch you booked with us didn’t meet your expectations, which is why I picked the phone to speak with you personally. Please be assured that we are not in the business of disappointing any of our guests, and although there are areas where we did ‘score an own goal’ down to poor communications... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I had a meeting here, and there was plenty of places to sit in private. My wife joined me for lunch afterwards, and the light menu was great. I had a Anitpasti platter. Jack was a great server also. I've been passing this hotel for years, and wished I had popped in sooner. V Nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KetteringManager, General Manager at The Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We often find that the Bar midweek is the perfect place to meet up with colleagues or friends, so it's pleasing to learn of a new person finding this out too. I'll be speaking with Jack to pass on these comments and my personal thanks for his stand out level of service. We hope to... More

northants
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

After a gym session we decided to make the most of our members discount and go for a to eat, bad mistake, ordered our food after quite along wait, then waiting even longer for the food to arrive, which was differant to what we had ordered, I did ask why it had taken so long and the reply I got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The food was amazing, delicious and cooked to perfection. The menu is varied and the waiters/waitresses are confidently capable to assist with recommendations. A variety of tastes are catered for, but would definitely say it was more high end than carvery food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The food was good, cooked well and served promptly but seemed pricey for what you were actualy getting. Nothing left me thinking that i would like to eat that again

Was this review helpful? Yes
northants
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Ate here tonight as Spa members sat down at 8.20 ordered drinks straight away. They arrived 20 mins later not good! Food ordered but had to wait 45 mins before it arrived . Not good . There is no reason for the delay because it was not busy! Just very bad organisation from within the hotel. Staff just seem to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Food here is not as good as I think they suggest however the Fish and chips are an exception! service is excellent and the decor is worthy of many fine dining areas. Wine list is average and priced as such, Would not recommend the liver parfait at all. Not sure if the breads are homemade but delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShireHotels, Stephen Woodrow - General Manager at The Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent dining experience with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the fish and chips so much. The breads are homemade and again, I am pleased to read you enjoyed these. I will pass on your comments to the Kitchen, Restaurant and Bar teams regarding your food comments and service you... More

Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

we ate in the rutland suite for my works christmas party. the room was decorated very well to the theme of fire and ice. the meal itself was out of this world, i loved the lobster and prawn starter! all of the staff are great from the bar staff to the waiting staff, all of them appeared happy to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were a party of 23 who waited 3 hours for our meal. Had to ask 3 times for Antipasti (all cold) to stave off the hunger pangs of our guests. Must have been a bad night for the kitchen.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Kettering, Northamptonshire
 
Kettering, Northamptonshire
Kettering, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing