We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 88 Richmond Restaurants

New Treasure Garden

7 Castle Hill | Richmond, North Yorkshire, Richmond DL10 4QP, England
01748 825827
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 88 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The New Treasure Garden Restaurant is a family business situated in a Grade II listed building in the heart of the historic Market Town of Richmond, North Yorkshire. With its traditional oriental atmosphere it offers a unique experience of the east.Eddie Ma (the chef) has 25 years experience cooking Cantonese cuisine including working in Newcastle and Birmingham before coming to Richmond to open The New Treasure Garden. He served six years apprenticeship in Newcastle where he learned the art of Cantonese cooking and presentation, such as food carving and cooking delicious dishes.The New Treasure Garden Restaurant has been established for 20 years - the longest in Richmond.At New Treasure Garden we believe in offering the highest standards of food and service. You can request your preferred table and our attentive and professional staff will look after you throughout your time at the restaurant.However you decide to dine – Eat In or Take Away - we will serve you some of the best Chinese food in North Yorkshire.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    18
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014 NEW

I went here with work colleagues whilst on a course in the area. Wow! Lovely staff who gave some great advice about how many dishes would be needed, gorgeous food and great value for money. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richmond
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I was also present at the restaurant on the night in question. Yes they were short staffed as a waitress rang in sick only moments before her shift began and the assistant chef had injured his shoulder. The staff present were run ragged and tried their best to attend to all customers. I heard this group being asked constantly if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Visited here for the second time and it was just as good as the first time! Although it was quite busy because it was a Saturday evening, our food still came delicious and didn't taste as if it had been rushed. The staff were great too and managed to keep on top of everything even though it was a full... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Very good quality food, we just ordered to much!! Highly recommend, we had a takeaway but would have liked to eat in, nut very good as a takeaway

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Visited the New Treasure Garden on a Monday night, expecting it to be quiet. However, the place soon filled up and for very good reason. We had the set meal for two and it was absolutely delicious. The restaurant soon became very busy, with diners and takeaway customers, but the service was excellent and the staff very polite. Our only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

This is one little treasure, Fantastic food and staff, Always wonderful credit to the owners..Definitely would recommend...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014 via mobile

I am a Richmond girl and by far this restaurant is up there as one of the best chinese restaurants in this area. Unfortunately the takeaway service needs rethinking. For at least the 5th time now we have ordered takeaway, advised the time to collect..this evening 45 minutes..after arriving at 50 minutes (based on previous history) we had to wait... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewTreasureGarden, Manager at New Treasure Garden, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our takeaway service on Saturday night as well as previously. We do apologise for the delay in serving your order to you as we were incredibly busy for both sit-in customers as well as takeaways; however, we do understand... More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Went twice during my stay as the food was so good.Amazingly vast menu,service was good and food was delicious.Great change from pub food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

The restaurant was fully booked but they said come back in 30 minutes. The whole experience was worth waiting for. The food and service were both excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Me and my fiancé came here for a takeaway, we were the first customers in as we arrived just at opening time. We ordered and our food was done within five minutes, which when we got back tasted fantastic! Unfortunately in the middle of the night we both woke up and we were both sick. The only explanation we can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewTreasureGarden, Manager at New Treasure Garden, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. After reading your review we are sorry to hear that you were both unwell after the meal. However, the egg fried rice you have referred to is never re-heated as we cook all dishes freshly to order. The rice is boiled in a rice cooker initially, then cooked in a... More

Travelers who viewed New Treasure Garden also viewed

Richmond, North Yorkshire
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 
Richmond, North Yorkshire
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 

Been to New Treasure Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Treasure Garden

Address: 7 Castle Hill | Richmond, North Yorkshire, Richmond DL10 4QP, England
Phone Number: 01748 825827
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Richmond
Cuisine: Chinese

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing