We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Treasure Garden

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
7 Castle Hill | Richmond, North Yorkshire, Richmond DL10 4QP, England
01748 825827
Website
Add hours for New Treasure Garden and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The New Treasure Garden Restaurant is a family business situated in a...
The New Treasure Garden Restaurant is a family business situated in a Grade II listed building in the heart of the historic Market Town of Richmond, North Yorkshire. With its traditional oriental atmosphere it offers a unique experience of the east.Eddie Ma (the chef) has 25 years experience cooking Cantonese cuisine including working in Newcastle and Birmingham before coming to Richmond to open The New Treasure Garden. He served six years apprenticeship in Newcastle where he learned the art of Cantonese cooking and presentation, such as food carving and cooking delicious dishes.The New Treasure Garden Restaurant has been established for 20 years - the longest in Richmond.At New Treasure Garden we believe in offering the highest standards of food and service. You can request your preferred table and our attentive and professional staff will look after you throughout your time at the restaurant.However you decide to dine – Eat In or Take Away - we will serve you some of the best Chinese food in North Yorkshire.
read more
Good for:
Reservations
Delivery
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 77 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 42
    Excellent
  • 20
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Fun atmosphere, great service, outstanding food!

We went here on a Friday night - glad we phoned for a reservation as they were really busy! We chose the 5 person set menu - which had a wonderful variety of main as well as starters (appetizers) the food itself was one of the best chinese meals I've ever had! The server even let me change my... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 25, 2015
Dee B
,
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015 NEW

We went here on a Friday night - glad we phoned for a reservation as they were really busy! We chose the 5 person set menu - which had a wonderful variety of main as well as starters (appetizers) the food itself was one of the best chinese meals I've ever had! The server even let me change my soup... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

My wife and I came here on the off chance when we stayed in Richmond. What can I say don't let the front put you off steppe in side and it's lovely. The staff were fantastic, very attentive without being pushy. The foot was hot and cooked fresh. The salt and chicken wings were the best I've had!!! For £50... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Douglas, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015 via mobile

quick meal with friends before setting off on long trip. Quick service, food OK, portions slightly on small side. Best crispy duck for ages, beautifully shredded at our table. Too much cucumber, too little onion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Where ever i may roam
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

It is easy to use a restaurant on regular basis and not give it the recognition it deserves due to the fact that it is always good and you take that for granted. I believe that for myself to omit this restaurant on my trip advisor reviews is so wrong. Over the years it has become my favourite Cantonese venue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewTreasureGarden, Owner at New Treasure Garden, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your meal at our restaurant. It is a pleasure to serve you and to also receive such positive feedback. Our staff members strive to make every customer’s visit an enjoyable evening from start to finish, and we are delighted to hear you... More 

County Durham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015 via mobile

Ate here last night with friends, there was about 11 of us, we had the banquet. I can only speak for myself and my husband, but we thoroughly enjoyed the food, food service was good. I have given four out five for 2 reasons, 1. Drinks were slow in arriving. 2. I don't eat seafood therefore didn't have the special... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewTreasureGarden, Owner at New Treasure Garden, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal at our restaurant. We do apologise for the slower service in providing your drinks as we had quite a few big parties to serve that night, resulting in slight delays. In addition, if you dine with us again in the future... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015 via mobile

We came to this restaurant as we had heard good things said, however the food is abismal, the meat is chewy hard and at the same time fatty. The staff are quite rude and the decor leaves a lot to be desired. Abismal!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

I dinned here last week with my daughter, and I can honestly say that I can’t fault the place. The staff were impeccable, the food is perfect. I will definitely dine here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015 via mobile

Went there last night found that three out of four of us were still hungry after our meals there.for the money wouldn't expect to have such a small sized dinner.next time going to the weather spoons down there road.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewTreasureGarden, Owner at New Treasure Garden, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that three of your guests were still hungry after finishing the meal; however, upon finishing your meal you did ask us to box up a few of your dishes that were left over. The staff did ask your group during the meal whether everything... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

I've been coming here for about 20 years and not once have ever had a bad meal. Consistency personified and unbelievable value for money. Run by the same family for it's entirely the owner always makes the effort to come and have a chat with us. Make sure you get the set menu as it's exceptional value and you get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend visited this lovely restaurant tonight (3rd January) Having been before, we know how good the food is and once again weren't surprised! Staff were absolutely fantastic, couldn't do enough for us. From hanging our jackets up as soon as we got there, to smiling at us every time they walked past. I work in a 5*... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4

Travelers who viewed New Treasure Garden also viewed

Richmond, North Yorkshire
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 

Been to New Treasure Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 7 Castle Hill | Richmond, North Yorkshire, Richmond DL10 4QP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Richmond
  • Phone Number: 01748 825827

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Chinese

Description

The New Treasure Garden Restaurant is a family business situated in a Grade II listed building in the heart of the historic Market Town of Richmond, North Yorkshire. With its traditional oriental atmosphere it offers a unique experience of the east.Eddie Ma (the chef) has 25 years experience cooking Cantonese cuisine including working in Newcastle and Birmingham before coming to Richmond to open The New Treasure Garden. He served six years apprenticeship in Newcastle where he learned the art of Cantonese cooking and presentation, such as food carving and cooking delicious dishes.The New Treasure Garden Restaurant has been established for 20 years - the longest in Richmond.At New Treasure Garden we believe in offering the highest standards of food and service. You can request your preferred table and our attentive and professional staff will look after you throughout your time at the restaurant.However you decide to dine – Eat In or Take Away - we will serve you some of the best Chinese food in North Yorkshire.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from New Treasure Garden staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?