We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 91 Richmond Restaurants

New Treasure Garden

7 Castle Hill | Richmond, North Yorkshire, Richmond DL10 4QP, England
01748 825827
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 91 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The New Treasure Garden Restaurant is a family business situated in a Grade II listed building in the heart of the historic Market Town of Richmond, North Yorkshire. With its traditional oriental atmosphere it offers a unique experience of the east.Eddie Ma (the chef) has 25 years experience cooking Cantonese cuisine including working in Newcastle and Birmingham before coming to Richmond to open The New Treasure Garden. He served six years apprenticeship in Newcastle where he learned the art of Cantonese cooking and presentation, such as food carving and cooking delicious dishes.The New Treasure Garden Restaurant has been established for 20 years - the longest in Richmond.At New Treasure Garden we believe in offering the highest standards of food and service. You can request your preferred table and our attentive and professional staff will look after you throughout your time at the restaurant.However you decide to dine – Eat In or Take Away - we will serve you some of the best Chinese food in North Yorkshire.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    18
    5
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015 NEW

I dinned here last week with my daughter, and I can honestly say that I can’t fault the place. The staff were impeccable, the food is perfect. I will definitely dine here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015 via mobile

Went there last night found that three out of four of us were still hungry after our meals there.for the money wouldn't expect to have such a small sized dinner.next time going to the weather spoons down there road.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewTreasureGarden, Owner at New Treasure Garden, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that three of your guests were still hungry after finishing the meal; however, upon finishing your meal you did ask us to box up a few of your dishes that were left over. The staff did ask your group during the meal whether everything... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

I've been coming here for about 20 years and not once have ever had a bad meal. Consistency personified and unbelievable value for money. Run by the same family for it's entirely the owner always makes the effort to come and have a chat with us. Make sure you get the set menu as it's exceptional value and you get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend visited this lovely restaurant tonight (3rd January) Having been before, we know how good the food is and once again weren't surprised! Staff were absolutely fantastic, couldn't do enough for us. From hanging our jackets up as soon as we got there, to smiling at us every time they walked past. I work in a 5*... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

We phoned to order our takeaway as this place has such a good reputation (it's not our closest Chinese takeaway). We were told that it would take 40 minutes but decided to go ahead and ordered. We arrived to collect about 10 minutes before it was due but couldn't pay as there wasn't a copy of our order at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewTreasureGarden, Manager at New Treasure Garden, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed with our takeaway service last weekend. The delay in serving your order was due to the amount of takeaway orders we had received that night; we realise this should not be used as an excuse and we do apologise. The reason... More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

I went here with work colleagues whilst on a course in the area. Wow! Lovely staff who gave some great advice about how many dishes would be needed, gorgeous food and great value for money. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Richmond
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I was also present at the restaurant on the night in question. Yes they were short staffed as a waitress rang in sick only moments before her shift began and the assistant chef had injured his shoulder. The staff present were run ragged and tried their best to attend to all customers. I heard this group being asked constantly if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Visited here for the second time and it was just as good as the first time! Although it was quite busy because it was a Saturday evening, our food still came delicious and didn't taste as if it had been rushed. The staff were great too and managed to keep on top of everything even though it was a full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Very good quality food, we just ordered to much!! Highly recommend, we had a takeaway but would have liked to eat in, nut very good as a takeaway

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Visited the New Treasure Garden on a Monday night, expecting it to be quiet. However, the place soon filled up and for very good reason. We had the set meal for two and it was absolutely delicious. The restaurant soon became very busy, with diners and takeaway customers, but the service was excellent and the staff very polite. Our only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5

Travelers who viewed New Treasure Garden also viewed

Richmond, North Yorkshire
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 
Richmond, North Yorkshire
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 

Been to New Treasure Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Treasure Garden

Address: 7 Castle Hill | Richmond, North Yorkshire, Richmond DL10 4QP, England
Phone Number: 01748 825827
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Richmond
Cuisine: Chinese

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from New Treasure Garden staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?