We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marples Cafe

6 Sea View Street, Cleethorpes DN35 8EZ, England
+44 1472 697188
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 101 restaurants in Cleethorpes
Cuisines: British, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
8 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    31
    28
    6
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Lovely meal. Excellent ambiences good staff, clean tables, comfy chairs. No noisy music This is a first class bistro type bar /restaurant .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Eaten here many times at breakfast and is always fabulous but tried lunch on Saturday for a change. Will most certainly not be back for lunch!! Think it is the worst Jacket potato we have ever eaten. Watery and mushy potato bnot to mention cold in parts. Salad looked dirty and had overpowering vinegar dressing on. Complained to manager who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
100rachg, Manager at Marples Cafe, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking time to write a review of Marples Cafe. I am pleased to hear you have enjoyed Breakfast with us before. I am however disappointed that you were not as happy on your last visit at Lunchtime. Which is such a shame since we have just as a good reputation for Lunch as we do... More

tetney
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Whether you want to pop for coffee and toast in the morning or for a lunch of quiche or lasagne or home made pie or liver and onions. We have tried it many times and the produce is fresh and home made. The puddings are good too (Ihavent tried them but my husband has and he says they are fabulous)

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Reasonable food, very hot inside, but the front of house team are wonderful. I wouldn't eat there again, simply because there appears to be a lack of consideration for the customer in terms of the sweatiness of the interior, with no AC, or fans, but perhaps in cooler times, everything is peachy. I should reiterate however that the front of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
100rachg, Manager at Marples Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of the front of house team, we certainly do work hard for all our customers. Just to let you know we now have air conditioning in Marples and its lovely i here now even if its hot outside. More

Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Marples do the most amazing chicken and bacon caesar salad. Both me and my cousin adore these and would recommend anyone to try them. Staff have always been very friendly and helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
100rachg, Manager at Marples Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, Marples Caesar Salad is one of our most popular dishes and i'm glad you enjoy them. Also thank you for your comment on the waiting staff, it's nice to be appeciated. Hopefully see you again i the near future. More

Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Having not long lived in the area, we thought we'd found a real gem in Marples and to be fair, we've never had a bad meal... But during our last few visits the service has really let it down; seldom do you see any of the waiting staff smile and while this is clearly a busy and popular café to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
100rachg, Manager at Marples Cafe, responded to this review

thanks for your review of Marples Cafe. I'm glad you enjoy the food here. However i would like to apologise if you did have an order taken for desserts and they did not appear. I am very sorry this has happened and i will speak with all waitresses to ensure this doesn't happen again. More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

By chance we turned down Sea View Street on the lookout for somewhere for breakfast, and I am so pleased we did. Nothing was too much trouble, the service was excellent, the portion sizes were more than enough, excellent coffee and tea. All the things we love in a cooked breakfast were spot on: crispy bacon, decent toast (not cheap... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Often go here for lunch, although the food is sometimes inconsistent it's never bad, service is polite and efficient and the atmosphere and décor good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Freshly cooked food, not cheap but good value. Service slow but this reflects the fact that food is cooked to order. Worth waiting for. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Spotted the cafe today as we passed on the way to the beach having not done so before. On way back, decided to pop in for a coffee and breakfast. So pleased we did! Lovely booth seat at the front of the cafe, polite staff not to mention yummy food. I had the eggs royal; not had before and it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Marples Cafe also viewed

Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire

Been to Marples Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marples Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing