We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverside

2 Alexandra Road, Cleethorpes DN35 8LQ, England
01472 600515
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 102 Restaurants in Cleethorpes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $19 - $54
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Situated on Cleethorpes Seafront with lovely views, experience the authentic taste of tapas food at Riverside. We are passionate about freshly cooked tapas dishes, our exciting tapas and paella range lets you choose from a variety of dishes; meat, fish or vegetarian– great to share and cooked fresh to order.We also offer a variety of non-tapas meals and a great selection of contemporary desserts and cocktails.Whether its a celebration, an intimate evening or a casual evening meal- Riverside is the number one location to dine!
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Situated on Cleethorpes Seafront with lovely views, experience the authentic taste of tapas food at Riverside. We are passionate about freshly cooked tapas dishes, our exciting tapas and paella range lets you choose from a variety of dishes; meat, fish or vegetarian– great to share and cooked fresh to order.We also offer a variety of non-tapas meals and a great selection of contemporary desserts and cocktails.Whether its a celebration, an intimate evening or a casual evening meal- Riverside is the number one location to dine!
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    21
    8
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 NEW via mobile

I have eaten here quite a few times now on dates and with friends and it's been great for both occasions. The selection of tapas is great, especially the chilli chicken goats cheese dish! The 6 dishes and a bottle of wine offer is perfect for a couple... Or for a group of friends... Maybe even for one person if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Staff chatted amongst themselves nearly all night very un helpful always having to get their attention if you required anything. The food was disappointing as unless you want tapas nothing else on the menu. Will not be returning for a special occasion or evening meal. However the bar downstairs has a great atmosphere and is a fantastic bar to enjoy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
-cursetea-, Manager at Riverside, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am so sorry to hear this, it would be helpful to know which night you dined with us so we can find out which staff members were working this shift as customer service is very important to us and negligence of customers is not acceptable! I hope you will consider joining us again for... More

Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Seriously. Do not go here. The fewer people who visit the more likely that my friends and family can always get a table at our favourite restaurant!! Visiting once again last night I am compelled to write about the experience. Once again the tapas dishes were just fantastic. The kitchen output at this restaurant is extremely consistent and never disappoints.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
-cursetea-, Manager at Riverside, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! It's good to hear you and your friends had a wonderful time with us, we hope to see you back again shortly for some more tapas! More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

So after living away and coming back home for a week, i wanted to look around the local area for a nice restaurant for somewhere to eat with my friend. We chose Riverside, I used to go quite a bit and it has definitely changed since then. The staff are very unfriendly, unhelpful and just rude. The menus and food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
-cursetea-, Manager at Riverside, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I'm sorry to hear of your experience with us! Customer service is very important to us and a negative review helps us to highlight areas that need to be addressed! I hope you return to us again in the near future so we can sway your decision, but for now can only apologise for the... More

Hawalli, Kuwait
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I'm a hard man to please but visited riverside for my first time last week and had a great experience. (I think some people that have complained in here need to understand what Tapas is!) We took advantage of the 6 dishes and a bottle of wine offer for £35. Full selection of dishes included in the offer, the wine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
-cursetea-, Manager at Riverside, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! We're glad you enjoyed your evening with us and hope to see you back again soon. More

Grimsby
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This was served to me on the evening of the 2nd August 2014. This is what is called a short measure. I paid £3.50p for this! When are they going to stop the smoking outside the door, it causes the smoke to blow directly back into the non-smoking area!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
-cursetea-, Manager at Riverside, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. If you re-examine a Peroni glass you will see that there is 'Pint to Line' mark a couple of centimeters down from the rim, this is to allow for a decent sized head. I'm sorry that you feel you have been given a short measure and had you asked the bar staff they would have... More

Amsterdam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Came here for something different, expensive for the tiny portions, left hungry!! They tried to add extras onto our bill, till we queried it. Surely you check before handing bill over. Rude staff, not a place i'd hurry back too. Each to their own though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
-cursetea-, Manager at Riverside, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear of your experience with us. We truly appreciate every review as it highlights to us which areas we need to improve. Tapas are a variety of small savoury Spanish dishes, often served as a snack with drinks, or with other tapas as a meal, they are not supposed to be large portions, which is why... More

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Visited with a group of work colleagues and was extremely impressed that the Gluten Free choices were highlighted on the menu as I always struggle eating out and sometimes feel embarrassed to ask!! Food was very nice! Waitress was very friendly and made up some drinks in a bigger jug for us all to share as we all loved it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
-cursetea-, Manager at Riverside, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review! We hope to see you again soon More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Visited riverside last night after it being recommended to us-the tapas were delicious and not overpriced -good atmosphere and great service from the staff-will definitely return

Was this review helpful? Yes
-cursetea-, Manager at Riverside, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your excellent review! We hope to see you again very soon More

Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is perfect if you have been shopping with company and want a nice glass wine with nibbles on comfy sofas in the bar downstairs or a nice meal for 2 or more upstairs we Love the riverside. One of our favourite restaurants in town and further. Enjoy :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
-cursetea-, Manager at Riverside, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We hope to see you back again soon More

Travelers who viewed Riverside also viewed

Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing