We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
off A59,, Sawley BB7 4NH, England
(01200) 441202
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve a Table Online
Find a table
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Sawley
Cuisines: British
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    50
    32
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 NEW

Went here again the meal we had was fantastic and the service excellent . We stayed over night with friends the rooms we stayed in were beautiful and well equipped ,you can't go wrong very relaxing place with friendly staff .we even spoke to Dan the chef here who his a jewel in the crown of the spread eagle .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 NEW

Was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on here however we were blown away by the food and the service here! Absolutely stunning food and really good service. The ambience of the restaurant was lovely, cosy and friendly would definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Booked in for Christmas day lunch but for £75 per head the food and service wasn't very good at all. The goats cheese starter was tasty but tepid. (I don't know if it should've arrived hot or cold) The spiced pumpkin soup was actually very good but the main course, although presented very nicely, was practically inedible. The turkey appeared... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at Spread Eagle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your Christmas experience, what a shame you didn't say anything to us on the day where we could have sorted the problem you had out, instead choosing to write a few weeks later! Just to cover the points in your review, we did ask every person if they wanted... More 

WIGAN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Went for lunch 23 December, family of 6 adults.Very pleasant surroundings and great atmosphere. The food and service were excellent.The food was very tasty,hot and well cooked.The service was prompt, friendly and very attentive.Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.Will definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Visited for lunch with my mum before Christmas. It's a pleasant location and is well-decorated, with an extensive menu including a menu that changes every day. Once we were seated, it took a little while for our order to be taken, but it was fairly busy. Our starter of a smoked salmon blini was nice but again took a while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
nitramYorkshire, Assistant Manager at Spread Eagle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that you weren't very happy with your meal, however if you had let us know we would of been happy to replace it for you or for you to of chosen a different dish of the menu. We really appreciate your feedback and... More 

merseyside
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

Great hot food and service in a lovely contemporary surrounding and a lovely view on riverbank. Would be great in summer as tables right by the water. Fairly reasonable prices and a few different menus to choose from. Dinner service from 5.30pm but film night on a tues once a month and we couldn't get a table till 7.30pm so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014 via mobile

When booking this meal I asked TWICE during my telephone call if I could use 2 Hi-Life cards for 4 people and eat from the early bird menu.The answer each time was yes On entering the hotel I again mentioned the booking had been made using a Hi-Life card, and we were shown to a table. When presented with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
nitramYorkshire, Assistant Manager at Spread Eagle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to a write a review. We do apologise if you feel you have been supplied with the wrong information when using Hi-Life with The Early Bird Menu. It should have been made clear on the telephone that it was not valid with the early bird offer as it states on the Hi-Life website.... More 

Ribble Valley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Starter was really good, prawns, chorizo and potatoes. Shared a fish platter for mains. Very little on the lazy suzie and the smoked salmon was of very poor quality, couldn't eat it. Mentioned to the waitress when she removed the plates - not very interested.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

Went on Sunday afternoon it was busy, we had a table in the bar area facing the bar. The table had not been wiped from previous customers, had black cocktail sticks on and wet drinks marks. We were given the menu but had a wait quite a while before the order was taken. We had two nibbles to start. Then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
nitramYorkshire, Assistant Manager at Spread Eagle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We are very disappointed that you felt the need to write a review and were not able to talk to a member of staff. We are sorry to hear that you had to wait a while for your order to be taken, however on arrival we did advise that... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I came with two friends for food and drinks and once again the service was outstanding. On this particular evening the bar area had a live event on which naturally brought in a larger crowd so after my meal I was able to finish my night with cocktails in the bar area which had a great atmosphere! Can't wait to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Spread Eagle also viewed

Longridge, Lancashire
 
Blackburn, Lancashire
 

Been to Spread Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spread Eagle

Address: off A59,, Sawley BB7 4NH, England
Phone Number: (01200) 441202
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Sawley
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Spread Eagle staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Things to do Nearby