We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn at Whitewell

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Whitewell, Forest of Bowland, Clitheroe BB7 3AT, England
+44 (0)1200 448222
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Inn at Whitewell and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 334 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 203
    Excellent
  • 73
    Very good
  • 35
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Delicious food and lovely surroundings

We ate here as a group of friends mid week. The service was spot on and the food, much of it locally sourced was delicious and well presented. A very relaxing evening.

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 21, 2015
Bev and Dave F
,
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
  • Families with children
  • Bar scene
  • Doing business
  • Romantic
  • Special occasions
  • Large groups
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

We ate here as a group of friends mid week. The service was spot on and the food, much of it locally sourced was delicious and well presented. A very relaxing evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

My wife booked us in for lunch on a Saturday for my birthday and we arrived at this beautiful spot with lots of positive recommendation from friends. Lovely views across the valley from the dining room which is spacious and comfortable. The bar has a selection of ales although we were surprised we had to go and order drinks at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

4 of us arrived for lunch and found it difficult to find a parking space due to a wedding taking place at the church next door. 2 of the party ordered the ham sandwiche but were disapointed with it. The sandwiche had 1 slice of bread, a bit of salad and 2 slices of ham and some chutney, for over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Sorry we disappointed, the open sandwich is meant to be more interesting and done on our home made brown loaf very filling. Glad you enjoyed the fish pie though. Regards Cb More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

My wife and I stayed overnight here (I can particularly recommend Room 17 which has a beautiful river view) and were very pleased with all aspects of our stay. A comfortable place with good but unobtrusive service and excellent food and drink. Two glasses of Champagne Gallimard for a very reasonable £6.95 each. Starters of smoked Wester Ross salmon with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, so pleased you had a good time with us and I love the headline of Lancashire Soul Food. Thank you again. Regards Cb More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

Delicious lunch, beautiful venue, very helpful staff, fabulous views from our table. We've been before and will be back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Neat and to the point and very much appreciated. Regards Cb More 

Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

For such a well known foodie place (#TheTrip) the Inn has a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere and its excellent food only it makes it more special. Staff were efficient and discreet. A great evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Lovely review thank you. Very much appreciate your feedback and hope you enjoyed The Trip as we did. Regards Cb More 

Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

The Inn at Whitewell on the Lancashire/Yorkshire border combines, as such places in this area do, a degree of refinement with hearty portions served in a nice variety of medium-sized rooms, giving the impression of homeliness. Most of us could not manage a luncheon starter but I could not resist the black pudding (I never can) with apple and onion... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, kind words and very much appreciated. We have to do decent portions out here in the sticks, don't want walkers and fishers to do all that exercise without proper reward. Thank you again. Regards Cb More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

The Inn at Whitewell is a superb venue. Hidden in the Duchy of Lancaster (with Her Majesty no less being the holder of the deeds to the place), it represents a fantastic find. The interior is sprawling, yet it maintains intimacy with its many nooks and crannies. Oak beams, open fireplaces, and walls adorned with tilts to its history greet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Lovely review thank you and your headline is great. So pleased you enjoyed our wines, we've just got a new toy a Coravin, which now means we can serve exceptional old and rare by the glass, perfect for those that just want one glass to savour. Regards Cb More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Disappointing food, lovely location covers an otherwise very average experience. Expensive for what it offers. Breakfast better than evening meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Had the most expensive slice of bread ever.....apparently an open sandwich won't be going again . Very disappointed as had been told the food was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

I'm disappointed you didn't enjoy our open sandwich, I know they are a lot more substantial than a closed one and our home made bread is usually a winner, sorry we didn't impress. Regards Cb More 

Travelers who viewed Inn at Whitewell also viewed

 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 

Been to Inn at Whitewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Whitewell, Forest of Bowland, Clitheroe BB7 3AT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Clitheroe
  • Phone Number: +44 (0)1200 448222

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 80 - 80
  • Cuisine: Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Inn at Whitewell staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?