We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 97 Clitheroe Restaurants

Inn at Whitewell

Whitewell, Forest of Bowland, Clitheroe BB7 3AT, England
+44 (0)1200 448222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 97 Restaurants in Clitheroe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $80 - $80
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    43
    29
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014 NEW

We have patronised the Inne for so many years, and my father before me and my grandfather before him. Also my son and daughter are now fans - and it never fails to please. So much so, my daughter chose the Inn for her wedding - which was an impeccable event. A right choice if ever there was one! We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
costa mesa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Miss the amazing food and service of years gone by at the Inn and keep returning to try and capture some of those times, the food is not what we remember and the place now feels like a wedding/conference venue, so many people love just calling in for lunch/dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

We have been quiet a few times and we are never disappointed yes you are hard to find but that is half the fun. Its so great to find a dog friendly place to have lunch with amazing food and the staff are so helpful. And the views from the terrace are breath taking... We will be back ....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My partner and I visited the Inn at Whitewell over the weekend and we were more than impressed. Our room was huge, but what made it for me was the bath tub (room 22). Neither of us could fault the food and I think we both agreed that the Fillet of beef for two that we shared was the best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review, so pleased you had a good stay. I very much ho[pe we see you again before too long. Regards Cb More

Accrington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Went here for a wedding ,disappointed as there were 2 other weddings on at the same time ,the service was very good,food nice and drinks were very expensive

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighton
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Had high expectations of this place and perhaps that was unrealistic. It's in a beautiful location with stunning views. We ate in the bar which is dog friendly. Service was good and the staff are very friendly. They don't take food orders until 6.30 for dinner and it was very busy when we arrived at around 6. So we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we only pre prepare what we need to, effectively cooking all to order but ensuring we can move at speed. Obviously some dishes are far quicker to cook than others. Thank you again. Regards Cb More

Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had the most wonderful wedding anniversary at the Inn at Whitewell last month. We were lucky enough to book room 18 which has four windows looking onto the most beautiful views of rivers and the greenest hills ... for a girl who grew up on an English farm and returned for a visit from Australia, it was pure perfection... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, so pleased you had a happy time with us and so sorry we forgot your fizz, Regards Cb More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We'd been looking forward to having dinner here but were very disappointed. While my husband's beef fillet was very good, the vegetables were far from seasonal (parsnip, swede and butternut squash in August!) and his Sticky Toffee Pudding was nothing special. In fact, it says quite a lot about this restaurant that our puddings arrived within 2 minutes of being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

I am sorry that we failed to impress, I can assure you we aren't complacent and the Lonk lamb is usually a winner. My apologies. Regards Cb More

Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were in the area for the day and had found some restaurants on tripadvisor that looked good. This was quite a drive out ( the description said near Clitheroe, but in fact it's about 6 miles away). It was easy to find with sat nav and despite it being a Monday lunchtime, the large car park was fully the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, glad you found us in the wilds and enjoyed the sceneary, we are very fortunate to live in thsi wonderful hidden gem. Hope we see you agian before too long. Regards Cb More

Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Although I wanted to show my friends a nice place for an evening meal, on booking months in advance we were told that a group of over 20 has to have a simplified menu of two starters and two mains. This defeats an important point off eating out, where people pay to eat what they choose. There was no offer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

So sorry of course there are options but it does rather fracture the notion of 25 people having dinner together, we try to do what we do well. Regards CVb More

Travelers who viewed Inn at Whitewell also viewed

Clitheroe, Lancashire
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 
Newton-in-Bowland, Clitheroe
 

Been to Inn at Whitewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage Inn at Whitewell?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing