We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn at Whitewell

Whitewell, Forest of Bowland, Clitheroe BB7 3AT, England
+44 (0)1200 448222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 93 restaurants in Clitheroe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $80 - $80
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    126
    43
    25
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 NEW

We had two nights at the hotel, lovely food in the bar first evening thrn a family wedding next day. The food and the wine were just lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 NEW

Family meal, high quality food, extensive wine list, fabulous panoramic views, the best in the Ribble Valley

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Finding the inn was a nightmare - lessened when the host struck off the drinks bill for our problems. A nice touch. As as giving us a map to get back ! My starter of crab cake Thai style was enormous and incredibly tasty. My duck main was cooked to perfection, although some of the accompaniments were a bit strange... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Formby, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I visited this establishment again, the last time was OK, but this time was awful. Now, I've eaten in Michelin star restaurants and you get food cooked how you want. This has no stars and the waiter's attitude when he flat refused to have my venison anything more than medium absolutely stunk. He was pushy to get an alternative and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I visited on the 9th of July for lunch. We had heard and read great things of this restaurant and we were not in any way disappointed. We had three courses each, all of which were well cooked & tasty. Special mention must go to the smoked salmon starter and the chocolate brownie pudding, both divine! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Inn is a special place for me as my late partner visited Whitewell many times. My partner was disabled and was always made to feel welcome unlike some other local establishments we would have dearly liked to have stayed for a odd weekend but due to the age and architecture of the Inn we did not feel it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, really kind and I'm so pleased you were able to come back without your partner, hope you had lots of happy memories. regards Cb More

Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Already one of my favourite restaurants/pubs we visited on Saturday after a long walk with some friends visiting from the south. The fish pie was excellent as usual and one of our friends had the beef salad which was also very good. The wine, beer and ambience were also excellent. Only downside is one of the bar staff can be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, am on the hunt for an abrupt barman now! should be curative with the help of your comment. Thank you. Regards Cb More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I've been here with my family many times now as we live just down the road. The food is always top class and we'll worth the price, the board specials offer a good amount of variation. I would personally recommend the fish pie. The beers on tap are often very good. The location is brilliant, and the atmosphere is friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

That's really kind of you to send in a review, especially being so regular, thank you. Regards Cb More

Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Me and my hubby had a rare day off together so went for lunch at the inn at whitewell where we got married in May 2000 We arrived at 1150 so nipped in the church first then we found a table on the terrace over looking the river the memories came flooding back!! We both ordered fish pie and shared... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Really kind of you to do a review, thank you and I am so pleased you had a happy time with us. There can't be many better places to sit and have a glass and a bite. Hope we see you again before too long. Regards Cb More

Bridgnorth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Whilst I am aware of the positive experiences of most people who take their custom to this business, this did not happen in my case. I was one of a family party of 7 on a midweek lunchtime. My main course choice was battered fish, chips and mushy peas. The fish was no more than a thin sliver which had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Please be assured we haven't received your email, I would have responded,So sorry about the fish, usually generous size. If you would like to redirect your email to me I will get back to you straight away. Regards Cb More

Travelers who viewed Inn at Whitewell also viewed

Clitheroe, Lancashire
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 
Newton-in-Bowland, Clitheroe
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 
Clitheroe, Lancashire

Been to Inn at Whitewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Whitewell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing