We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whitewell, Forest of Bowland, Clitheroe BB7 3AT, England
+44 (0)1200 448222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 102 Restaurants in Clitheroe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $80 - $80
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    56
    30
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015 NEW

We probably eat here four or five times a year and Its always a treat.. How this place has any bad reviews is beyond me .. The service is good, the food is terrific, last night we ate here .. Big snow outside big log fire inside, best black pudding starter I've ever eaten and so on...it's quirky but always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North West England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015 NEW

Well worth the drive through country lanes for good beer and food (we eat in the bar as opposed to restaurant), traditional pub atmosphere and beautiful view of the Ribble.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your neat and tidy review much appreciated. Without wishing to be too pedantic the river is actually the Hodder, a tributary to the ribble. Thank you again. Regards Cb More 

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

We went on the Sunday after New Year before the family disappeared again, 6 of us plus my 18 month old granddaughter. We didn't time it too well, but were able to secure a table pretty quickly in the little ante room off the main bar area. There was the usual excellent menu with a couple of good specials -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Lovely review, thank you so much. Glad you enjoy bringing your springer for lunch obviously a lot better behaved the mine, it's rather telling when the owner isn't brave enough to let his own dog in the place. Thank you again. Regards Cb More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Grouse in Autumn, other games according to seasons... Beautiful setting where it can only be reached by cars, log fire, breathtaking views from windows... You can get what you want from an English country pub&restaurant here. One of my favorite places to come. Many of my friends come here and we bump into each other quite often.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Very kind of you to write us a review, thank you. I love the mention of game on our menu, we wouldn't be a proper country inn without. Hope we see you again before too long. Regards Cb More 

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Great atmosphere, great real ales and fantastic food all at a reasonable price. Had lunch here last week in the bar with a friend and enjoyed the roaring fire, roaring river, good service and unpretentious surroundings. The shop just off the bar offers wines, spirits and other good things too and is well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Now that's a head line! There aren't many real Inns left sadly but thank you for your lovely review. I hope we see you gain before too long. Regards Cb More 

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Love the place. Service good. Food and wine choice excellent! We were a large family party for Sunday lunch before christmas . Would definitely recommend !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank your for kind review, much appreciated, pleased you had happy time with us. Regards Cb More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We visited for lunch on new years eve and we were not disappointed. The staff were tentative and very helpful, the setting is beautiful and the food was just fantastic, presented like a Michelin stared restaurant and tasted amazing, I am a very good cook myself and have been for many years so I really appreciated the effort that went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Dear Darren G thank you for your very kind review, it's lovely to hear that new people our discovering us in this rather hidden location, Hope we see you again. Regards Cb More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

The food is genuinely amazing. I always eat from the bar menu (not that this is your typical bar food). My favourite is the shoulder of lamb which is divine. Another reviewer mentioned they should have taken the fat off the lamb before serving it. I'm glad they didn't - it was all so delicious I ate the fat too!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

After a review like that we'll put chicken breast with celeriac on the black board every day. Thank you I'll pass your review onto the team. Regards Cb More 

Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

I visited The Inn At Whitewell just after New Year for a family meal. The views from our table were stunning and there was a good feeling of space around the table. The restaurant was very busy but the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent and we were not rushed. A very cosy atmosphere with an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Really kind of you to review us, many thanks. Glad you had a relaxed time here and hope we see you again before too long. Regards Cb More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

After having never been to the Inn at Whtewell, I was more than happy to break my duck last night. I was one of a group of 6 people that visited the Inn on New Year's Day for our evening meal. We sat in the bar area which was busy, this surprised me as the Inn is in the middle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thanks for the very kind review and I am glad you found us, Sorry we seemed to mislay the blue cheese, hope that wasn't broad brush amnesia. Hope we see you gain. Regards Cb More 

Travelers who viewed Inn at Whitewell also viewed

Clitheroe, Lancashire
Newton-in-Bowland, Clitheroe
 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 

Been to Inn at Whitewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Whitewell

Address: Whitewell, Forest of Bowland, Clitheroe BB7 3AT, England
Phone Number: +44 (0)1200 448222
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Clitheroe
Average Prices: USD 80 - 80

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Inn at Whitewell staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?