We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn at Whitewell

Whitewell, Forest of Bowland, Clitheroe BB7 3AT, England
+44 (0)1200 448222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 96 Restaurants in Clitheroe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $80 - $80
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    132
    43
    28
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 NEW

My partner and I visited the Inn at Whitewell over the weekend and we were more than impressed. Our room was huge, but what made it for me was the bath tub (room 22). Neither of us could fault the food and I think we both agreed that the Fillet of beef for two that we shared was the best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Accrington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 NEW

Went here for a wedding ,disappointed as there were 2 other weddings on at the same time ,the service was very good,food nice and drinks were very expensive

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Had high expectations of this place and perhaps that was unrealistic. It's in a beautiful location with stunning views. We ate in the bar which is dog friendly. Service was good and the staff are very friendly. They don't take food orders until 6.30 for dinner and it was very busy when we arrived at around 6. So we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had the most wonderful wedding anniversary at the Inn at Whitewell last month. We were lucky enough to book room 18 which has four windows looking onto the most beautiful views of rivers and the greenest hills ... for a girl who grew up on an English farm and returned for a visit from Australia, it was pure perfection... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, so pleased you had a happy time with us and so sorry we forgot your fizz, Regards Cb More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We'd been looking forward to having dinner here but were very disappointed. While my husband's beef fillet was very good, the vegetables were far from seasonal (parsnip, swede and butternut squash in August!) and his Sticky Toffee Pudding was nothing special. In fact, it says quite a lot about this restaurant that our puddings arrived within 2 minutes of being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

I am sorry that we failed to impress, I can assure you we aren't complacent and the Lonk lamb is usually a winner. My apologies. Regards Cb More

Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were in the area for the day and had found some restaurants on tripadvisor that looked good. This was quite a drive out ( the description said near Clitheroe, but in fact it's about 6 miles away). It was easy to find with sat nav and despite it being a Monday lunchtime, the large car park was fully the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, glad you found us in the wilds and enjoyed the sceneary, we are very fortunate to live in thsi wonderful hidden gem. Hope we see you agian before too long. Regards Cb More

Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Although I wanted to show my friends a nice place for an evening meal, on booking months in advance we were told that a group of over 20 has to have a simplified menu of two starters and two mains. This defeats an important point off eating out, where people pay to eat what they choose. There was no offer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

So sorry of course there are options but it does rather fracture the notion of 25 people having dinner together, we try to do what we do well. Regards CVb More

Preston
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great atmosphere, food and clientèle. Cant wait to go back again. Lager also reasonable price and wine excellent, but not cheap.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, pleased you enjoyed your visit and obviously you like wine and lager, we just have started stocking one from the Lakelands, it's great, there aren't many good English lagers yet but more coming all the time. Thank you again. Regards Cb More

Sale, Cheshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

For a party of 80, we were served efficiently, but the best part was the quality was like personal service. The starters were substantial. (Thai chicken salad was a little spicy, but great) The lamb was to die for and meltingly soft. Dessert of sticky toffee pudding was too much for me after the dinner and I couldn't finish it.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words, they are much appreciated. Chocolate brownie is the family pash at the moment, with vanilla ice cream, Ian is having trouble keeping up with our consumption. Regards Cb More

Lancashire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We went for lunch on a Sunday with our toddler. We rang before to book a table and were told that you cannot book but we were advised to arrive before 12.30pm and we would get a table which we did. When we left at 1.50pm people were waiting for tables. The menu is a good size and there are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, glad you had a good time and I hope your daughter enjoyed the sorbet. Regards Cb More

Travelers who viewed Inn at Whitewell also viewed

Clitheroe, Lancashire
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 

Been to Inn at Whitewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Whitewell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing