We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn at Whitewell

Whitewell, Forest of Bowland, Clitheroe BB7 3AT, England
+44 (0)1200 448222
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #18 of 92 restaurants in Clitheroe
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $80 - $80
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    110
    41
    22
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 NEW

Myself and two friends went to the inn at Whitewell and were first amazed by the incredible views. The Inn itself was presented well and it had a comfortable homely feel- thanks to the huge log fires. As it was a cold winters day we all had fish & chips and they were fantastic. The chips were true home made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, very kind of you. So pleased you enjoyed your first visit, hope you had our tartare sauce, it's delicious, although I say so myself. Thanks again. Regards Cb More

UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 NEW

We regularly visit this Inn for lunch or a pub supper, as it is within 20 mins of our home. We have never had a poor meal and particularly enjoy the salmon or prawn open sandwiches, also the fish pie. The staff are efficient and friendly. You can walk in in muddy boots and warm up by the fires on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your words. it is very important you can go to an Inn wearing wellies and with the option of a dog in tow, have a nice glass of wine and maybe a fish pie, making myself hungry. So many country pubs now are far too prissy and restauranty. Thank you again. Regards Cb More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 NEW

We ate at around 8p.m. when the restaurant was very busy, but the service was prompt and efficient. There is a lovely, cosy atmosphere to the Inn at Whitewell, where everything is first rate but not stuffy. My haddock goujons were truly delicious, but if you want chips, you will need to order them separately as the straw potatoes aren't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your write-up, very kind and really appreciated. My children call the goujons "grown-up fish fingers". Hope we see you again before too long. Regards Cb More

Clitheroe, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

No-one can argue that the view from the terrace is one of the best in the world. So it's so very disappointing that the service does not match up to this in any way. Lager is grossly over-priced and served in water tumblers. No widget in the bottom so the already pretty lifeless lager dies a very soon death. When... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for you review, all be it rather charmless, I suspect this says more about the reviewer than the Inn. Yours Cb More

Lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Have been to Inn at Whitewell for years & always had excellent food. However this visit I had the fish pie which was taste less. Sauce very thin & watery. At nearly £12 an expensive & taste less dish.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

So sorry the fish pie wasn't up too scratch, not sure what went wrong that day but will investigate. Was good yesterday I had one for supper. Hope you'll try us again. Regards Cb More

yorkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We went here for a mother's day treat. It has always been one of our favourites and worth travelling to. Every time we go it just seems to get better, with a little tweak here and there. The latest improvement is that the orders are now taken at the table in the restaurant. This saves the frustrating business of visiting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, especially important to have feedback from an "old hand" Glad you had a happy lunch with us on mothers day. Regards Cb More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I had been waithing for more years than I care to recall to visit this well known Inn and the experience lived up to those expectations. Scallops in a light curry sauce were cooked to perfection, big an juicy, Loin of Venison was cooked perfectly pink and the Treacle tart, one of my weaknesses, I have many, was served with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for you very kind review, most appreciated. So glad we lived up to expectations. I love our kippers too, it's been the same smoke house now for over 20 years. Hope we see you again before too long. Regards Cb More

Liverpool
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had lunch. Booking is not possible at least during the week at lunchtime. Lunch is served from 12 until 2. We arrived shortly after 12 on a Wednesday and had no problem getting a table, although by one it was getting pretty full. The food was excellent, with a good range of dishes on the menu and some specials... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, very much appreciated. It's great when new customers find us and have a happy time. Hopefully see you gain before too long. Regards Cb More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Ribble Valley is a beautiful place with many choices for walks. We had had a long walk with our two dogs and needed some refreshment. The Inn at Whitewell looked rather posh but they said the dogs could come in and they were really lovely with them making a fuss when they passed. There were lots of dogs in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thanks for your write-up, glad you had a good walk and enjoyed finding us. Hope we see you and the dogs before too long. Regards Cb More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My comments re the meal we had here were discussed with the restaurant manager who was open and courteously responsive to my comments. I suppose that my problems started before we ever went! I mislaid the vouchers my son had bought for us and not wanting to tell him, I rang the restaurant and asked if they could cancel the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts. Sorry we weren't very crisp in managing your vouchers. Bar lunch and bar supper are intentionally more informal we don't want to be restauranty but we do want to be serve delicious food. I am sorry you didn't rate our bread, it's made daily and is usually delicious. Do contact me if you want any... More

Travelers who viewed Inn at Whitewell also viewed

Clitheroe, Lancashire
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 

Been to Inn at Whitewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Whitewell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing