We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Italian Cottage

Cheapside, Chorley, England
01257 272669
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 137 restaurants in Chorley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English, Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: This can be found and reviewed on sugar-vine
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: This can be found and reviewed on sugar-vine
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    61
    32
    4
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 NEW via mobile

Popped in this evening and although the place was full the starters and mains as usual were exceptional and great value for money at only £4.95 each. Great service and a great atmosphere too would highly recommend a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My friends and I, 6 in total, dined at the Italian cottage tonight for a quick bite to eat at 6pm for the special menu. As we hadn't booked we didn't think it would be a problem being on a wed night at 6pm, but with the look on the front of house greeter, it obviously was! He found us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This restaurant is a tiny and intimate little place. Cosy with mellow lighting, candles on the tables and a lovely atmosphere, The food is with an Italian theme but excels with a wonderful fresh fish menu. They do such a variety with menus which are excellent value for money midweek. Just such a charming little place - the street is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Have been here a few times and have to say the food and drink are really good. Such a good selection of food and can tell it's all freshly made to order as always comes out piping hot. I highly recommend the pate and I know that the belly pork always goes down well too. The service is excellent and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We went to Italian Cottage as a party of 4 adults. We all enjoyed the starters. The main meals were also good quality. It was great to find a restaurant that served up a 1 litre bottle of wine which went down very well with our meals.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lancashire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

6 of us ate here last night. We all had starters & mains & all shared the Chefs selection of puddings. Everyone agreed the food was excellent, service was great & the bill of £ 180.00 was very reasonable. We'll be back very soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

After 3 separate party bookings at the Italian Cottage, I am sorry to say the service on each occasion has left me very disappointed and we won't be going back. Food passable, and on occasion very good, but the staff let the side down. They seem to forget that us customers are paying their wages and are completely unaccommodating. After... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Italiancottage, Owner at The Italian Cottage, responded to this review

Hi, I'm sorry but as as explained to you when you came in to the restaurant with extra guests we were completely fully booked, this meant there was not one spare seat available that wasn't reserved so unfortunately as you booked for 14 that's all that we reserved for you. We understand your disappointment however we are proud to be... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is very cosy with a lovely warm decor. Our starters, stuffed garlic mushrooms and chorizo cassoulet where absolutely delicious. The price for starters is a little high but the portions and quality where superb. Our mains, spaghetti meatballs and pescatora pizza where excellent. The food tasted extremely fresh and the pizza delicately thin... just right. Service was prompt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My daughter and I called in at 1.40pm hoping for a quick lunch. We were told that they had stopped serving by a waiter who looked at us at though we were mad for expecting anything else! The web-site says service until 2:00pm. There were a couple of other people in - I guess the staff were more interested in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Italiancottage, Owner at The Italian Cottage, responded to this review

Hi, we are sorry you where unable to have lunch with us yesterday, we do open till 2pm as stated on the website but unfortunately we had to close fifteen minutes early for family buisness & as two of the chefs are part of my immediate family this meant we needed to close, I do apologise for any inconvenience caused,... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

on first sight the town centre of Chorley seems neglected and un loved but hiding away just of the main street is a fantastic little restaurant The Italian Cottage. There is something for everyone here with a happy hour I think most evenings and a set priced menu. I went for it with a fillet steak which was to die... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed The Italian Cottage also viewed

 

Been to The Italian Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Italian Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing