We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Happy Village

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
109 Market Street,, Chorley, England
1257261888
Add hours for Happy Village and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Post code PR7 2SQ

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 39 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 27
    Excellent
  • 5
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
It was Hobson's Choice but thoroughly enjoyed it

Unfortunately my husbands 76th birthday fell on a Monday and all other town centre restaurants were closed, so the Happy Village was Hobson's Choice. We were the only early dinners which meant that there was not much atmosphere, but we had Robbie Williams in the background. We ordered... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 17, 2015
SueOgden
,
North West England
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

I've been here several times simply because they are the closest. I'm willing to travel further to get my Chinese food from now on. Absolutely disgusted at the kitchen which you can see if you go up to the till. All the food was in tubs sat on the floor with the cooks climbing over them and running in and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JasparJC, Manager at Happy Village, responded to this review

Dear Nyrian Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are truly sorry that you were left disappointed. To answer your concerns raised, our pantry and refrigeration units are located in a separate building behind the rear of restaurant and hence you have observed our chefs accessing this through the back entrance of the restaurant. We... More 

North West England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Unfortunately my husbands 76th birthday fell on a Monday and all other town centre restaurants were closed, so the Happy Village was Hobson's Choice. We were the only early dinners which meant that there was not much atmosphere, but we had Robbie Williams in the background. We ordered £39.00 banquet for two and it was amazing value for money. One... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

A good typical Chinese restaurant. The menu was of a reasonable size and the service was pleasant. A little on the expensive size in comparison to similar establishments. But as they say you pay for what you get.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

My previous rating of Happy Village was a good one, I’ve visited many times and always enjoyed the food. I realise everyone is allowed an off day but my experience of eating here on 7th February was so bad that I would never order food from here again. It was quiet when we arrived – yet despite booking we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

We have visited eaten here many times but we never want to eat there again. We were early diners and the place was nearly empty but nevertheless it took nearly twenty mins to get a drink and even longer to get a menu. More attention was given to the telephone orders than to the guests in the restaurant. The starters... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

they are brillant hosts the food is amazing been going there for years will not go to another chinese.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014 via mobile

visited here last night for the first time. Food and service were excellent. Can't believe we have never been before will most definitely be returning in the near future. This place also does a delivery take away service which we will also be using. Looking forward to returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014 via mobile

We go roughly once a month and we get a warm welcome and the food is always to the same high standard. Can recommend the chicken and sweet corn soup, the hot and sour, the crispy duck with wraps and cucumber and spring onion strips,the salt and pepper wings and ribs, the seaweed, crispy spring rolls are amazing....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Me and my husband wen there to celebrate our anniversary, we booked a table last minute on a Saturday night and were welcomed in at 10pm. Food was fantastic and piping hot! Friendly staff and were more than happy with the price. Will defo be back :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Friendly, efficient service and good freshly cooked food of generous portions. We have eaten here many times over the last 30 years and have NEVER been disappointed. The inexpensive set menu has an excellent choice of dishes (3 courses for £9.95!!) but if you want to splash out, you will not be disappointed in the Banquets or A La Carte... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Happy Village also viewed

 
Chorley, Lancashire
Chorley, Lancashire
 

Been to Happy Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 109 Market Street,, Chorley, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Chorley
  • Phone Number: 1257261888

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Chinese

Description

Post code PR7 2SQ

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Happy Village staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?