We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alghero Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bolton Road, Chorley PR6 8BP, England
+44 1254 202222
Website
Improve this listing
Today
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Mon - Sat 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 120 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 50
    Excellent
  • 28
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 16
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Uninspiring

In reality, this restaurant portrays itself in a totally different way that it does on Twitter! My expectation was charming and knowledgable staff with a vast, fresh menu with lots of fresh sea food dishes that were simply executed but looked and tasted amazingly authentic. In realty, it was... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed August 18, 2015
deej-N-Jo
,
Chorley, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Romantic
  • Large groups
  • Special occasions
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

In reality, this restaurant portrays itself in a totally different way that it does on Twitter! My expectation was charming and knowledgable staff with a vast, fresh menu with lots of fresh sea food dishes that were simply executed but looked and tasted amazingly authentic. In realty, it was simply boring, uninspired and the front of house staff struggled to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

AVOID! This is the first review i have ever written but i feel the need to warn people NOT to waste your money at this awful place! We visited with our children for a nice dinner after at day at the farm.....i eat out quite often but ive never experienced a service quite like this.... No childrens Menu and not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paulo c, Manager at Alghero Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our staff have no knowledge of your visit, if you could forward us details of when you dined in the Restaurant, as we have no mention in our comments book of your points, it will help us to address any points that you have brought up. We are a family restaurant and are noted for... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

Visited here on the way home from a girls holiday. Was a Friday night and the restaurant was very busy however, they were able to accommodate us no problem. Some of us had glasses of prosecco whilst others tried a couple of the prosecco based cocktails. All were very nice. We all had different starters which were superb. All the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paulo c, Manager at Alghero Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for our Restaurant and we are very happy that you enjoyed the whole experience. Glad that we could be the perfect end to your holiday and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Regards Alghero's More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

Went to Alghero on Saturday 01/08/15 Firstly I should say I tried to book a table for 2 but was told they don't take bookings on Saturday night for 2 people - just turn up & wait. This is a bit odd - we nearly decided to go elsewhere. I'd strongly suggest that the owners look at this policy, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paulo c, Manager at Alghero Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and appreciate your comments. We openly encourage couples to dine with us and operate a bookings policy of allocating tables on arrival. This has been our policy for over 10 years and does appear to work best for our customers on busy nights. All customers are given an approximate time when they can be shown... More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

We set off from an appointment in Horwich looking for something to eat and decided to try a pub/restaurant with good reviews on TripAdvisor who was listed as being open now. We got there only to find the place closed so had to quickly think again. We headed off to Alghero in Chorley as we had been there before and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paulo c, Manager at Alghero Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review of our Ristorante. We always welcome comments and feedback and are so pleased that you enjoyed the whole experience. We would welcome you both at any time in the future and look forward to it. Regards Alghero's More 

Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

This is my second favourite Italian Restaurants. My wife takes me here when she gets the urge. I particularly love a area in Stilton sauce and they do a proper nice job on it here. Always a nice ambience and the staff are very attentive. Bit pricy, but worth it. Definitely recommend to others and looking forward to going again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paulo c, Manager at Alghero Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our Restaurant and we welcome your comments and feedback. We are also happy that you enjoyed your meal and whole experience and look forward to definately seeing you in the near future. Regards Alghero's More 

Bolton Lancs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

My husband always advises " at an Italian. Eat Italian". I should have (for once in our years together) follwed that. Starters were okay. Not great but okay. But I ordered the Algheros special burger for my main course and there was nothing special about it. I only a small portion of this as it was bland & dry and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paulo c, Manager at Alghero Restaurant, responded to this review

We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to the Restaurant and we thank you for your personal comments. All our meals are freshly prepared on the premises and one of your meals was off our specials menu, which has proved very popular since it was added recently. You do not appear to have raised these... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

From start to finish the meal was excellent. Staff were attentive and friendly and service was prompt. The food was brilliant! We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
paulo c, Manager at Alghero Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Restaurant. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal and experience and look forward to seeing you again very soon. Regards Alghero's More 

Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Had a beautiful meal last Saturday at the Alghero near Abbey Village. It had just opened and soon filled up and as it was our first visit we realised we had it on a winner. Service excellent, and I described the food as "Joy on a plate!" Will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
paulo c, Manager at Alghero Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your complimentary review of our Restaurant. We really appreciate you taking the time to submit it. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal and your evening and hope to see you again very soon. Regards Alghero's More 

Lancashire
Level Contributor
186 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Tried Algheros for dinner. Was hoping to get the sugarvine discount but was told we needed to book ! Early bird menu a little sparse perhaps. So we tried the main menu and paid full price. Food was very nice and staff were attentive. Nice meal overall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
paulo c, Manager at Alghero Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your review. We are sorry about the misunderstanding regarding the Sugarvine offer and we have contacted them to make the offer clearer. We are glad you enjoyed your menu choices and hope to see you soon. Regards Alghero More 

Travelers who viewed Alghero Restaurant also viewed

Garstang, Lancashire
Chorley, Lancashire
 
Samlesbury, Preston
Chorley, Lancashire
 

Been to Alghero Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Bolton Road, Chorley PR6 8BP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Chorley
  • Phone Number: +44 1254 202222

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Italian, Mediterranean

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Alghero Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Alghero Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?