We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lounge Restaurant & Bar

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1-3 St Anne's Road | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2DN, England
01227 636967
Website
Improve this listing
Today
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Mon - Tue 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wed 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thu 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Sat 9:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 137 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 88
    Excellent
  • 24
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Fantastic New Year's Eve!

This is the second year we have been to the lounge on nye - we are local and regularly go for lunch - but would like to thank Erinch and his staff for the fabulous evening on New Year's Eve, great food and the entertainment provided by Gary Emmanuel was first class - thank you from the table of... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed January 1, 2016
Greenies27
,
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We've been here maybe 4 or 5 times over the last year or so & never really had a problem but after today's visit we'll go elsewhere. All 3 of us had the same dish, scampi & chips which you'd think is difficult to get wrong. The quality of the food has gone downhill since our last visit a few... More 

Helpful?
Thank LRob79
TheLounge2011, Owner at The Lounge Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

I'm so sorry you had a negative experience at The Lounge. We do not have a trainee chef & I have taken this up with our chef that was on duty Yesterday. As way of apology may I offer you all a Free meal on your next visit. Please email me if & when you decide to take up my... More 

Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

This is the second year we have been to the lounge on nye - we are local and regularly go for lunch - but would like to thank Erinch and his staff for the fabulous evening on New Year's Eve, great food and the entertainment provided by Gary Emmanuel was first class - thank you from the table of 13... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greenies27
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

Fab food. Good entertainment. So grateful to be offered a table at short notice. Been on NYE before and never disappoints

Helpful?
1 Thank thethreejayes
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

We visited the lounge. For a coffee. And decided to have a bite to eat. I had a breakfast which I would class as average. Let down on two counts. The tomato was just a tiny tomato in half. And the brown sauce condiment. was the "unbranded" brown coloured stuff which to me is disappointing . My wife had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Distaste
Whitstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Been to this restaurant on a regular basis since I moved to Whitstable summer of 2013 and feel like it is my second home ! Staff are always friendly and polite and although menu is limited food is always consistently good. A place where you can also feel comfortable dining solo ! One of the very best places in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 97paul
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015 via mobile

Some friends and I decided to have our Christmas meal at the lounge in tankerton. I've been here before and always thought it's ok. On this night there was a few covered tables and a female singer on. Firstly was great entertainment, but a bit to loud to enjoy a pleasant conversation with a big group. Secondly service was ok... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anni907
Sevenoaks, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

Nothing was too much trouble in helping us plan our large family celebration and meeting all our individual requirements and the warmth, friendliness and efficiency of the staff were exceptional. The food was served promptly and a wide range of different dishes prepared simultaneously, with the emphasis on their Mediterranean specialities.

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015 via mobile

We chose this fabulous venue for a hen do, knowing we would all have a brilliant time. The live music entertainment, every weekend, makes for a great night out. The dance floor soon fills up. Our three course meals were absolutely delicious, at a reasonable price, and the staff were all so friendly. Wouldn't hesitate to book again. Equally enjoyable... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy J
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015 via mobile

Not alot to say about this place it seems as though the team there don't know what they are doing. Sat down on a table which was so unbalanced and the waitress said she would fix this for us. She took our drinks order then come back and spilt half my beer on the table as she hadn't come to... More 

Helpful?
Thank matt l
Pontivy, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

Fantastic lunch with the family, wonderful service, had the fish and chips - nearly overflowing the plates all freshly cooked, great portions. Local Ale served as well. Friendly staff. ate so much we needed a walk along the prom prior to leaving. Would certainly visit again

Helpful?
1 Thank Jean M

Travelers who viewed The Lounge Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Whitstable, Kent
Whitstable, Kent
 

Been to The Lounge Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1-3 St Anne's Road | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2DN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Whitstable
  • Phone Number: 01227 636967

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 4 - 35
  • Cuisine: Mediterranean, British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
9:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Lounge Restaurant & Bar and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Lounge Restaurant & Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?