We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crispin Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Caribbean, English, Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
High Street, Sandwich CT13 9EA, England
01304 621967
Website
Today
11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Dating from 1491 The Crispin Inn, situated in the historic Cinqueport of...
Dating from 1491 The Crispin Inn, situated in the historic Cinqueport of Sandwich, retains the old world charm of the traditional English Pub.With open fires beamed ceilings wooden floors,plus a riverside patio.Serving traditional English food alongside world cuisine.Superb wines and exellent local wines.And a fantastic selection of Hand pulled Real ales.Topped off with a warm welcome
read more
Good for:
Families with children
Outdoor seating

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 121 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 69
    Excellent
  • 33
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Bar, food and atmosphere

Was in the Crispin recently and had the Scampi, was very good, there is always a warm welcome when you walk into this bar and the staff are a huge asset to this pub, always happy, friendly and offer a great service whether you are eating or just having a drink. One of my favourite places in... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 28, 2015
kip2015
,
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Outdoor seating
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 NEW

Was in the Crispin recently and had the Scampi, was very good, there is always a warm welcome when you walk into this bar and the staff are a huge asset to this pub, always happy, friendly and offer a great service whether you are eating or just having a drink. One of my favourite places in Sandwich

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We had a lovely Sunday roast here. Visiting from London. Very accommodating waiter - even gave us extra potatoes and crackling!! For £8 a head, this is very good value for money and quite tasty too! Great location also.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

We stumbled upon this fabulous little gem this afternoon while visiting Sandwich. The moment we walked thru the door we felt at home. ......Nice easy atmosphere and a lovely fire burning. It was greatly appreciated that when we asked for a recommendation of ales and cider we were offered a sampler before we decided. ....Dining is a homely experience with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015 via mobile

Had lunch here yesterday for the second time. Good value at 2 roasts for £16. On both occasions the meat has been really well cooked and good quality. Potatoes could have done with being a little warmer but were fine when covered with the home made gravy. Home made cheesecake for dessert was very good as well. Will definitely be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tmw4, Owner at The Crispin Inn, responded to this review

Thank You very much for your review and your feedback. The first thing i picked up on was that your roast potatoes could have been warmer, i do not see this as a complaint just constructive criticism. And thank you for pointing this out. I am very pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us and hope you return for a... More 

Tinos Town, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

I was really impresses by the food and the service. The flavours of the Caribbean were spot on and the staff were helpful and friendly. They close a little early in the winter months but who can blame them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tmw4, Owner at The Crispin Inn, responded to this review

Hi Lorraine We are pleased you enjoyed our pub and the food we serve and hope you pop in again if you are ever in the area many thanks Pam and Terry More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

The Crispin Inn was a wonderful find on my 2 week trip across the pond. The staff is attentive without being intrusive. The food is fantastic. I highly recommend the Jerk Chicken and the spicy burger. They've got great ales and lagers on tap and are spot-on with recommendations. I was sent to Sandwich on short notice for work. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tmw4, Owner at The Crispin Inn, responded to this review

Hi Kelly Thank You for your kind words Pam and i are pleased you felt at home on your trip to Sandwich.And its great you have stayed in touch. The guys still talk about your evenings here, in a nice way of course. We hope you get another trip our way in the near future and come and see us... More 

Deal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

I have been using this pub for the last couple of years on a fortnightly basis and the food is excellent. The pub has a great atmosphere the menu is quite varied and the staff are exceptionally good. I would recommend this venue to anyone who is looking for a nice evening out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn, responded to this review

HI john Thank you for your glowing review.its always easy to criticize but not everyone takes the time to post there thoughts on here, and we are very pleased you did, Have a good Christmas and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit Pam and terry More 

Manchester
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Popped in for a pub lunch whilst staying in Sandwich for the night. Had jerk chicken and the chilli which were both very tasty. Nice pub with a friendly atmosphere. Liked it so much we came back at night for a few drinks. The barman was very friendly and he'd been working all day was still on at night. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn, responded to this review

Hi Tilly thank you for your review. we are really pleased you enjoyed the Crispin. I have passed on your nice comments to Alex the Barman. We hope to see you again if you are ever in Sandwich Pam and Terry More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Had fish and chips which was very pleasant. What was disappointing was there was no soup despite it being on Specials board and barman telling us there were two flavours but the kitchen said there wasn't; only to be told after ordering main course there was none of that either! Barman very apologetic but won't be visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Im really sorry you had a bad experience,and im sorry to hear you wont be coming back as i know you have eaten here before. Unfortunately that day i was at the hospital with my partner. and the chef on that day had been off for a few days. We did have soup but it... More 

Kent
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014 via mobile

I ordered brown stew chicken and well it was just plain English stew! Wasn't a taste of real carribean food that you get in London

Was this review helpful? Yes
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn, responded to this review

Hi Natalie Thank you for your review and for your feedback. We take your view about the brown stew chicken (which i believe you had as a takeaway), which is in comparison to the other meals "bland" we put this on the menu as an option for people who do not like over spiced meals. We get great comments on... More 

Travelers who viewed The Crispin Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Crispin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: High Street, Sandwich CT13 9EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Sandwich
  • Phone Number: 01304 621967

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Caribbean, English, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating

Description

Dating from 1491 The Crispin Inn, situated in the historic Cinqueport of Sandwich, retains the old world charm of the traditional English Pub.With open fires beamed ceilings wooden floors,plus a riverside patio.Serving traditional English food alongside world cuisine.Superb wines and exellent local wines.And a fantastic selection of Hand pulled Real ales.Topped off with a warm welcome
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 8:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crispin Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?