We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crispin Inn

High Street, Sandwich CT13 9EA, England
01304 621967
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 35 restaurants in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Caribbean, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Dating from 1491 The Crispin Inn, situated in the historic Cinqueport of Sandwich, retains the old world charm of the traditional English Pub.With open fires beamed ceilings wooden floors,plus a riverside patio.Serving traditional English food alongside world cuisine.Superb wines and exellent local wines.And a fantastic selection of Hand pulled Real ales.Topped off with a warm welcome
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    57
    20
    8
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We spent this weekend at the Folk and Ale Festival. We have been to Sandwich on numerous occasions and have eaten elsewhere. On our last visit we discovered the Crispin with it's varied menu and Caribbean specials so decide to try it again. Obviously it was very busy with all of the people at the festival. We ended up dining... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
terrycrispin, Owner at Crispin Inn, responded to this review

Hi Colin and Katrina Thank you for taking the time to review the Crispin.And for your very kind words It was lovely meeting you both and pleased you enjoyed yourselves over what turned out to be a great weekend.apart from a small shower ;-) We look forward to you next visit many thanks Pam and Terry More

Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Jerk chicken, bajan fish cakes, Jamaican patty -- devoured with gusto and compliments by worldly-wise family visitors on Saturday lunch time. A sweet Scottish blond (beer unfortunately), black current mild and oyster bitter from Whitstable complemented the repast. Landlady and landlord were spotted lunching in the bar overlooking the river. Say no more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
terrycrispin, Owner at Crispin Inn, responded to this review

Hi Keith Thank you for your kind words and your continued support from yourself and your family. As for the sightings, might have just been another attractive couple eating and enquiring if everything was ok many thanks Pam and Terry More

Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stopped in Sandwich last Tuesday lunchtime and went to Crispin Inn as it was by the river and we sat out the back. Had to wait an awfully long time for our baguettes to arrive after ordering. Had to wrap them up and dash to get the bus as they only ran every hour. Had finished our drinks way before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
terrycrispin, Owner at Crispin Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear you had a long wait for you Baguettes. I wasnt on the premesis at the time and i don't know how long your wait was. We do cook the baguettes to order which takes approx 15 mins so from ordering to serving should be no longer than 20-25mins depending how busy we are.And i am... More

Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I have been to this pub on numerous occasions and always recommended it highly however not anymore and will certainly not go there again!!! The king prawns salad was always amazing but today I was served with prawns that if I had found at the back of the freezer would have binned but instead found them on my plate. When... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
terrycrispin, Owner at Crispin Inn, responded to this review

Hi Sue Thank you for your feedback. i have questioned the waitress that served you that day and although she was aware of your disappointment she was unaware of how upset you were.She told me ,she asked you if everything was ok, to which she was told everything was ok except you didn't enjoy your meal as you didn't think... More

deal Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Having turned up as they were finishing serving food......they accommodated us still.....food was of excellent standard n a good choice......will def b returning again....friendly welcoming staff in an oldey worldey pub.....well recommended ;)))

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
terrycrispin, Owner at Crispin Inn, responded to this review

Hi Karen Im glad you managed to catch us in time ,thank you for your nice comments , nice to know that you felt welcome.Look forward to seeing you soon Many Thanks Pam and Terry More

Walmer
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Go there couple of times a month always friendly service and good food at reasonable prices - for a light snack try the Jamaican Pasties! Went there after a disastrous meal nearby and filled up on a lovely cheeseboard.

Was this review helpful? Yes
terrycrispin, Owner at Crispin Inn, responded to this review

Its very satisfying to see customers return and even more so on such a regular basis. Thank you for continued support and look forward to seeing you again soon Pam and Terry More

Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stopped in Sandwich to have a wander (we were actually on the way to Deal), and saw the goat curry on the menu here. It was 4pm, so we thought it may be worth waitiing for the couple of hours for you to start serving again (we did share one of the enormous and best ever sausage rolls to tide... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
terrycrispin, Owner at Crispin Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for waiting about to try the food, and we are pleased you enjoyed it. The portion sizes especially the Curried Goat are quite daunting sometimes,something we have tried to address,as we have had this comment before. but i can assure you the deserts are equally as good and hopefully you may have a little more room next time many... More

staffordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Brilliant - tasty home cooked food. Excellent range of beers. Wonderful atmosphere in an olde worlde pub

Was this review helpful? Yes
terrycrispin, Owner at Crispin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words. so pleased you liked what you saw Pam and Terry More

Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The staff at the Crispin Inn were very friendly. Although we have never visted before we felt like we were treated like regulars.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
terrycrispin, Owner at Crispin Inn, responded to this review

Hi Neil Thankyou for your review, we do try and make everyone feel welcome its good to hear that you felt that you were many thanks Pam and Terry More

Sunbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Decided to try the Sunday lunch here at the last minute over the Bank Holiday and have absolutely no regrets! Very friendly couple running the place and although they needed to be reminded about a couple of things for us they coped well with a busy restaurant and we had a good laugh with them as well as a delicious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
terrycrispin, Owner at Crispin Inn, responded to this review

Hi Cathy, Had to look up idiosyncratic so i could respond to your review ;-) i guessed it wasnt going to be too bad by the lovely comments you made . It says peculiar or individual. ill settle for the individual tho peculiar can apply at times We are pleased you enjoyed your food, i can only apologise for any... More

Travelers who viewed Crispin Inn also viewed

 

Been to Crispin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crispin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing