We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Street, Sandwich CT13 9EA, England
01304 621967
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 37 Restaurants in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Cuisines: Caribbean, English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Dating from 1491 The Crispin Inn, situated in the historic Cinqueport of Sandwich, retains the old world charm of the traditional English Pub.With open fires beamed ceilings wooden floors,plus a riverside patio.Serving traditional English food alongside world cuisine.Superb wines and exellent local wines.And a fantastic selection of Hand pulled Real ales.Topped off with a warm welcome
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    10
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tinos Town, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

I was really impresses by the food and the service. The flavours of the Caribbean were spot on and the staff were helpful and friendly. They close a little early in the winter months but who can blame them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

The Crispin Inn was a wonderful find on my 2 week trip across the pond. The staff is attentive without being intrusive. The food is fantastic. I highly recommend the Jerk Chicken and the spicy burger. They've got great ales and lagers on tap and are spot-on with recommendations. I was sent to Sandwich on short notice for work. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

I have been using this pub for the last couple of years on a fortnightly basis and the food is excellent. The pub has a great atmosphere the menu is quite varied and the staff are exceptionally good. I would recommend this venue to anyone who is looking for a nice evening out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
terrycrispin, Owner at Crispin Inn, responded to this review

HI john Thank you for your glowing review.its always easy to criticize but not everyone takes the time to post there thoughts on here, and we are very pleased you did, Have a good Christmas and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit Pam and terry More 

Manchester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Popped in for a pub lunch whilst staying in Sandwich for the night. Had jerk chicken and the chilli which were both very tasty. Nice pub with a friendly atmosphere. Liked it so much we came back at night for a few drinks. The barman was very friendly and he'd been working all day was still on at night. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
terrycrispin, Owner at Crispin Inn, responded to this review

Hi Tilly thank you for your review. we are really pleased you enjoyed the Crispin. I have passed on your nice comments to Alex the Barman. We hope to see you again if you are ever in Sandwich Pam and Terry More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Had fish and chips which was very pleasant. What was disappointing was there was no soup despite it being on Specials board and barman telling us there were two flavours but the kitchen said there wasn't; only to be told after ordering main course there was none of that either! Barman very apologetic but won't be visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
terrycrispin, Owner at Crispin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Im really sorry you had a bad experience,and im sorry to hear you wont be coming back as i know you have eaten here before. Unfortunately that day i was at the hospital with my partner. and the chef on that day had been off for a few days. We did have soup but it... More 

Kent
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

I ordered brown stew chicken and well it was just plain English stew! Wasn't a taste of real carribean food that you get in London

Was this review helpful? Yes
terrycrispin, Owner at Crispin Inn, responded to this review

Hi Natalie Thank you for your review and for your feedback. We take your view about the brown stew chicken (which i believe you had as a takeaway), which is in comparison to the other meals "bland" we put this on the menu as an option for people who do not like over spiced meals. We get great comments on... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014 via mobile

Came in for sumfin 2 eat looked at menu had ham eggn chips came back again 2 try the goat curry which is very nice the rice on the otherhand I'm sure would've been lovely if it hhadn't have been so hot it scalded my mouth mate

Was this review helpful? Yes
terrycrispin, Owner at Crispin Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jack Thank you for your review, Glad you enjoyed the place and the food, i would suggest you check and blow the rice next time ;-) Pam and Terry More 

Watford UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We tried the Caribbean dishes on two different nights, and fish and chips. All delicious and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canterbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

I haven't written a review for a while as I eat in this superb pub at least twice weekly and have done for over 2 years now. However I recently had a meal that I can honestly describe as my best ever, anywhere, and can only hope that the landlord keeps his Jerk Pork meal on the menu, it really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
terrycrispin, Owner at Crispin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. The fact that you chose to eat here after trying most of the establishments in Sandwich has been very reassuring to us.Its one thing to get people in ,but you have to be doing things right to get them to return,and using us twice a week for food we value your comments.... More 

Sandwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We visited the Crispin yesterday evening for dinner and beer. Excellent pub, very friendly welcome. Showed the menu, table of our choice. Curried goat and dumpling for 2 of the guests plus a sirloin steak for myself. The sweets were excellent, cheesecake, cheeseboard, ice cream and treacle tart. Good beers from the Green Hop Ales of Mad Cat Brewery. Overall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
terrycrispin, Owner at Crispin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review,and we are pleased you enjoyed your evening with us. hopefully we will see you again soon. Pam and Terry More 

Travelers who viewed Crispin Inn also viewed

 

Been to Crispin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crispin Inn

Address: High Street, Sandwich CT13 9EA, England
Phone Number: 01304 621967
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Sandwich
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Monday 11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Tuesday 11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Wednesday 11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Saturday 11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Cuisine: Caribbean, English, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Crispin Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?