We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Wine Vaults

75 Preston Street, Faversham ME13 8PA, England
01795 591817
Website
Improve this listing
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #46 of 67 Restaurants in Faversham
Cuisines: English, Pub, Grill
Dining options: Reservations
Most recent review
- Sep 1, 2014
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

visited as seen their website with a good offer, but not too pleased when we got there and it was not available, they said they dont check the website is up to date !! being in Faversham, close to the brewery expected better range of ales, gave up and relutantly went to wetherspoons, better range and a lot cheaper

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nualabs, Owner at The Old Wine Vaults, responded to this review

Dear Hazel, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that you were disappointed when you visited us. When you spoke to me I explained that I do not do the website myself we have someone that puts the offers on and of course should have taken that one off. As I said to you... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have had lunch here several times. The service is excellent, the staff cheerful and friendly and the food, especially the wonderful bread, is well served and very tasty. Great range of beers too. Plenty of space so good choice of tables and there's a small garden too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nualabs, Owner at The Old Wine Vaults, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us Pamela and I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us. If you fancy having a look at how I look after the ales just ask me next time you are in and I would be pleased to show you! Many thanks again, Nuala. More

Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had spent the morning in Favershan for their Open Gardens Day, and were looking for somewhere for Sunday Lunch. We discounted the eateries in the Market Square as they were all pretty full due to the market being on. We chanced upon the Old Wine Vaults which were advertising Sunday Lunch for £7.95 per head. We were a party... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nualabs, Owner at The Old Wine Vaults, responded to this review

Mr Wheeler thank you for taking the time to review us after what must have been a busy day! I think this was one of the most successful open gardens days we have had. Faversham also runs open houses in July and this is also an excellent way of seeing the historic buildings and some great residents! There are also... More

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We decided to start our holiday in Faversham with a Sunday lunch out and as it was a nice day sat in the cosy garden at the rear of the pub. There was an interesting variety of ciders and beers on offer, and a good number of people eating lunch. The food came in good time and at a reasonable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nualabs, Owner at The Old Wine Vaults, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I hope you enjoyed your holiday in our lovely town and come back to see us soon. Glad you enjoyed your lunch. Thanks again, Nuala. More

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Went for Mother's Day lunch. The place smelt like the carpets hadn't been cleaned since smoking was allowed inside and there was a reduced menu for Mother's Day. At only £3 for a starter I was straight away concerned about the quality of the food. It took 35 minutes for 4 cold starters to arrive and when they did they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nualabs, Owner at The Old Wine Vaults, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us. Sorry for the late reply but I wanted to talk to all staff on duty that day and review the cctv for timings and the food you were served. We feel the comments about the yorkshire puddings were accurate, so we now make our own puds to go with the roasts on Sunday and through... More

Gourock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Popped in here today for Sunday Lunch and it was lovely. Roast beef dinner and lots of vegetables and boiled and roast potatoes. Very well cooked. Then time for pudding. Fancied the Raspberry Creme Brûlée but it was sold out ( as very busy today for food) so had the Ginger Cake with rum & raisin ice cream!! It was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nualabs, Owner at The Old Wine Vaults, responded to this review

Thank you Diane for taking the time to review your lunch, I am glad you enjoyed it with your Mother. All our puds are home made and we think they are lovely, we are glad you agree! Hope to see you again soon. More

Kent
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

A beautiful building, full of quiet nooks and corners, it's spacious whilst still intimate. It's clean and comfortable whilst full of character - it feels like a proper pub, rather than some corporate venture into maximising revenue and appealing to the lowest common denominator. On my recent visits staff have been universally friendly, and unlike a certain breweries flagship inn,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nualabs, Owner at The Old Wine Vaults, responded to this review

Hi KentRoamer1, and thank you for taking the time for giving us this review. It is great to know the time I spend in the cellar is appreciated! You can always let me know if there is a particular beer or brewery you like and I will try to get it if I can. I really appreciate the feedback and... More

Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Do not be put off by the exterior of this place with the empty room with the pool table as all the action is out back! The food, beer and wine here are just fantastic! My husband had the cornbeef hash and absolutely adored it, and loved the accompanying vegetables. I had the steak and kidney pudding and it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nualabs, Owner at The Old Wine Vaults, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to give us this lovely review! We use a butcher just down the road and they get all their meat in the South East, we like to keep it local. Glad you enjoyed the wine and the beers, we have a great line up of cask ales that we rotate so no one gets... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Fantastic food, Atmosphere, and good prices. Highly recommend the Special Kobe Burger it's a truly amazing burger.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nualabs, Owner at The Old Wine Vaults, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write the great review Nick. I am glad you enjoyed the Kobe burger, it is great! We look forward to seeing you again soon. More

Faversham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a spacious and comfortable pub which serves good food at reasonable prices. The landlady obviously takes a lot of care and has pride in her pub, as she should.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nualabs, Owner at The Old Wine Vaults, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and like our pub. Kind words and I look forward to seeing you again soon! More

Travelers who viewed The Old Wine Vaults also viewed

 

Been to The Old Wine Vaults? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Wine Vaults, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing