We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kings Arms

King Street, Tring, England
+44 1442 823318
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #6 of 31 restaurants in Tring
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A traditional public house serving well kept ales and good quality British food.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    21
    10
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Haven't eaten here since the new management but had heard it was good and wasn't disappointed. The steak pie is meaty and full of flavour. If you like pies you'll love this! Great beer with friendly host and bar staff so well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

3 pork roasts and 1 beef. The food was excellent. Well cooked and tasty. Oven roasted veg a gastronomic delight. 4 very clean plates. Lovely reception from the landlord. If your visiting Tring or live here this is a place serving good food at excellent prices. Thank you! !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were interested to visit the Kings Arms again after some time away having met a local friend in Tring who told us it was now under new management. She was apparently working at the pub on various nights and suggested we give it a go. My issue with the Kings Arms previously was that, unless one was a known... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tring, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have eaten here 4 times in the last couple of months, the food is really good. I look forward to seeing what is on the specials board as it is always something exciting such as Potted Rabbit which was really tasty. I was told they had pigeon breast salad on the specials last week but I didn't get a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have eaten here twice now and all I can say is its excellent, a very high standard of cooking. Keep it up!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Visited for the first time, having seen previous TA reviews. When we arrived on a Friday evening for a pre-booked table for a meal, the pub was absolutley heaving and obviously very popular!! Difficult even to get to the bar! It was not their fault that this was not what we were hoping for and thus give it 3 stars... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Eleven of us descended on the pub in Tring on the Saturday after Christmas. As we had a dog in tow and were muddy from walking we all sat outside and the staff lit the heaters for us. There was a good selection of guest ales, most of which seemed to get sampled by the group! We ordered food some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johneff, Owner at Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for being fair and complimentary, in spite of the beanburger! Thanks also for telling us; we can only do something if we know about it. We rarely have trouble with our beanburgers and have been making the same recipe for many years. I suspect someone was less than careful when cooking. When you return, look at the other meat... More

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Five of us from near Chelmsford in Essex, and, from Oxford, my son, daughter in law and two grandchildren looked for a spot not too far from either home to meet for a pub lunch. We had chosen Tring so that we could visit the Natural History Museum. On entering, The Kings Arms felt right, a warm, welcoming town pub... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johneff, Owner at Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thanks very much Ken, especially for your comments on my responses. It's nice to know that they are read and considered. I look forward to seeing you again. More

Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a lovely meal last night (11th October) with a group of friends at this typical English pub. It’s our friends “local”. It was quite crowded and small but was a very pleasant evening. I tried the local cider – I’ve never had it before – but I didn’t like it and swapped to OJ. Nothing against the cider,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Johneff, Owner at Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for the vote of confidence, so soon after the previous review! you've cheered me up no end, come back soon! More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This pub is just 27 seconds from home. Lunch we thought to save on the washing up. Both my husband and I had the beef stroganoff! It was awful, bland and the beef tough. Apple pie for dessert, tinned over sweet apple blitzed in a micro wave, turned the apple brown and pastry awful. Custard like water! F

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johneff, Owner at Kings Arms, responded to this review

I'm sorry you found fault with our food. We always to try to put right any mistakes we make; the most important thing for us is a satisfied customer, especially a local one. Did you complain at the time? I don't believe so, and we can do nothing if we don't know you're dissatisfied. You will see, if you read... More

Travelers who viewed Kings Arms also viewed

Tring, Hertfordshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing