We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Junction Arms

Bulbourne Road | Bulbourne, Tring HP23 5QE, England
01442 891400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 33 restaurants in Tring
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A traditional pub nestling alongside the tow path of the grand union canal. You can enjoy fantastic views of the water from the garden or inside the pub , plus there's a large carpark. Use the free WiFi, read the papers, enjoy a capuccino or a three course meal. Something for everyone
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    47
    45
    20
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Cove Springs
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

We were looking forward to a relaxing evening meal at this well situated Inn. One hour after ordering, and it wasn't a busy night, there was still no sign of our meal. Despite assurances that we would be served next other tables, who had arrived well after us, were served first. After our second complaint we were given a cold,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grandjunctionarms, Owner at Grand Junction Arms, responded to this review

May I apologise once again for your poor experience yesterday. I didn't get into this business to give people a hard time, rather the opposite. However, yes, you did wait an hour and I am sorry the food wasn't to your standard. You suggested we weren't busy? Actually sir we have been exceptionally busy now summer has finally arrived, and... More

Bedfordshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Popped in on Sunday after lovely walk along canal. Had not booked but lots of spare tables outside. Lovely day so lots of people out and about. Time was nearly 1 pm and a BBQ was set up (but not lit) we asked when they were doing the BBQ, and was answered that she had to wait till a certain... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stopped by for lunch. Ham, egg & chips Was lovely. Ham so tender. The sandwich was huge. Salad rather disappointing for £3. Leaves & olives. Very busy. Attentive staff. Will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Went here yesterday with friends. Any visit to the bar to either order food or drink required a 15 minute wait (at least). Food was OK, but took ages to arrive. Ordered Rare steak, arrived as a medium. Couldn't face sending it back given the amount of waiting to get the initial order. Service was dire and done with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Emailed this to the pub directly about a month ago. Guess what? No response. Shame. I had lunch with my sister today having walked the Wendover canal exercising three dogs. Very disappointed to discover you do not allow dogs anywhere inside. We consequently sat outside under a leaky sun shade in what turned out to be a large thunderstorm complete... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Have been here quite a few times over past 2 years and can honestly say that I've never been disappointed, yes the bar is busy but I can wait a couple of minutes, food is great especially chocolate torte and panacotta, the outside area is lovely on a nice day, loved the roast dinners, we were there last summer and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pitstone, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Great food, impeccable service, lovely waitresses and fantastic value!! Definitely worth a visit!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North of London
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Called in and had a snack for lunch. Two sandwiches seriously short of chicken and ham plus a few chips and an apology for a salad. Over £7.00 each! Bread was very dry and the quantity was such that it took over the rest of the meal. Together with a pint and a half of shandy....£20.05. Not for us a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tring
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Had a wonderful meal last night, very, very nice food, fresh, tasty and delicious. The garden outside is rather beautiful with plenty of space and tables. Will definitely be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tring, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We rung to book a table for 2 for 7.30 but were asked if we could make it 7.45 to which we happily agreed. When we got to the restaurant, our table was available, but there was a long queue at the bar for customers to order drinks, and the bar was inadequately staffed. The waitress took our order about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
grandjunctionarms, Owner at Grand Junction Arms, responded to this review

I am so sorry you felt the need to leave your review & I am sorry we clearly let you down on this occasion. Quite simply we were overwhelmed by the amount of business arriving to dine with us without warning. I remember three days before I had to turn on the central heating for guests, and then the sun... More

Travelers who viewed Grand Junction Arms also viewed

Tring, Hertfordshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Grand Junction Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Junction Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing