We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Tring Restaurants

The Akeman

9 Akeman Street, Tring, England
01442 826027
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve a Table Online
Find a table
Ranked #19 of 33 Restaurants in Tring
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    85
    39
    29
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014 NEW

Seated quickly, ordered Gin martini which arrived in a Brandy glass, waitress said sorry we don't have any martini glasses. Hmm why have Martinis on the menu then?? Dinner was lovely, although I don't see the need to serve things on a floor tile. Aside from that. Very nice meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tring, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014 NEW

Always have had a good experience, great food, lovely people. Will go again, and it's affordable. That must be 50 charchaters!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Service is painfully slow, depends who serves you as to whether your coffee is decent. Pricing more akin to London (You are not in Berkhamsted). Food is average at best but one thing is certain, it will be overpriced. It amazes me as to how the same chain can deliver such varying service and food in their restaurants. My recommendation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Charlottiee, I’m sorry to hear that you think we’re a little overpriced however, and I’d like to reassure you that our prices are based purely on the quality of ingredients. Here at the Akeman all of our meat is of premium quality and 100% British and is supplied by Aubrey Allen – the same company that supply Windsor Castle... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We arrived just before 2.30 for a table we had booked for 2.30pm, on arrival we were asked to wait by less than friendly staff and were finally seated at 2.50pm.. The starter I chose was no longer available which is something I would expect to be told when given the menu, the food took ages to come and when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Sam, I’d like to apologise that your experience with us was not a pleasant one. I’m sorry that you felt the food was over priced and I’d like to reassure you that the price is merely a measure of the high quality, local ingredients we use. We choose to use local food so that we can support the local... More

Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Visited the Akeman on the way back home to Watford. I've been several times before as it is just a few miles away from my parent's house. This time round though we left fairly disappointed as the food seems to have gone down a fair bit since we last came at the end of last year. To be fair, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Tizer001, I’m so concerned by this review, especially given your glowing feedback in 2011. It’s awful to think that you were disappointed on your most recent visit and I’m so sorry that your meal didn’t live up to our usually high standards. I wish that you had raised these issues on the night in question when we would have... More

Bushey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

This birthday treat was the worst service I have experienced , it took over 40 mins. after we had placed our drink order to get our drinks on the table let alone placing the order, which no one wanted to take. Then we had a wait of about 20mins. to place our order for lunch, one of our guest has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Keith, I’m so sorry to hear that your birthday treat was not as special as it should have been, we feel awful that your meal was spoilt by service that did not live up to our usually high standard. Whilst we always try and run at full capacity and with a full team, unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances this... More

Wendover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

The Akeman is a lovely setting, really like the interior and the whole look of the place but have been really let down by the food lately. We have had some really great meals here and some really bad. It's such a shame because consistency is what brings people back. We decided to come this week as the menu had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi ScarletB2013, We really appreciate you taking the time to leave such an honest response and it’s very insightful for us to hear that you feel our standards have dropped, so there’s absolutely no need to apologise. On the contrary, we’re incredibly sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your latest meal with us – especially given how your previous... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Visited on 31st August. Overall a good meal. Service was just right and food arrived in good time and cooked to very decent standard. Nice ambience.the only reason for not giving top marks was the price. Slightly top heavy in my opinion for what it is. £18 per person just for the lamb roast does seem a bit rich particularly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Andrew, I’m so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful meal with us, thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. I can completely understand your concern about the price, but I’d like to reassure you that we only use the highest quality ingredients in all of our food, that we source locally in... More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We arrived with our toddler son after spending the morning at the Natural History Museum. Having looked round the town center to see what was on offer, we settled for the Akeman. This was mainly because there was plenty of seating and it seemed a reasonable establishment from it's appearance, menu and of course it's proximity to the museum was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Bencawood, I’m so concerned by this review and I can only apologise that your time with us did not live up to the high standard that we have come to expect. I’m pleased that you were offered complimentary coffee and desert, and that this confusion was cleared up over the bill and I’d like to reassure you that all... More

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Having read the below reviews I dint no what to expect when we went for diner ova the weekend. The bar was busy and look very classy with lots of wood and wine on show. We didnt book but the dishy beardy manager squeezed us in the busy restaurant. We had the seafood plate then I had the steak salad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi DannielleJ4ck, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review. We’re absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful meal with us! Thanks, too, for your kind words about your service on the night. It’s really motivating for the whole team to hear that their work is being appreciated, and it encourages everyone to keep... More

Travelers who viewed The Akeman also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Akeman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Akeman

Address: 9 Akeman Street, Tring, England
Phone Number: 01442 826027
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Tring
Cuisine: Mediterranean

Do you own or manage The Akeman?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing