We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Akeman

9 Akeman Street, Tring, England
01442 826027
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 33 Restaurants in Tring
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
9 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    59
    82
    39
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We arrived with our toddler son after spending the morning at the Natural History Museum. Having looked round the town center to see what was on offer, we settled for the Akeman. This was mainly because there was plenty of seating and it seemed a reasonable establishment from it's appearance, menu and of course it's proximity to the museum was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Having read the below reviews I dint no what to expect when we went for diner ova the weekend. The bar was busy and look very classy with lots of wood and wine on show. We didnt book but the dishy beardy manager squeezed us in the busy restaurant. We had the seafood plate then I had the steak salad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi DannielleJ4ck, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review. We’re absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful meal with us! Thanks, too, for your kind words about your service on the night. It’s really motivating for the whole team to hear that their work is being appreciated, and it encourages everyone to keep... More

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

I read below and one of the reviews below is exactly how I felt! It's an amazing place to visit for an evening out, the cocktails are amazing! But yes, it is rather pricey and usually I don't mind paying over the top for a treat to have a good night out.. expecting it to be top notch. I have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Mikayla25, I’m so sorry to hear that your last meal at the Akeman did not live up to our usually high standard. It’s awful to think that we left you so unhappy with your meal, especially considering your experiences in the past have been so pleasant. We would really love the opportunity to prove to you that this was... More

United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The Akeman has really good meals with a wide range of tasty vegetarian options. It also has homemade cakes for snacks but they either run out quickly or don't have a large variety of them, which has been a problem when we have visited before.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Maddie, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review. We’re delighted to hear that you’ve enjoyed all your meals here and we will definitely take into consideration your comment about quantity of cakes and snacks at the bar! We’ve recently introduced a tapas style bar snack menu, which we’d love to have your opinion on! We... More

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I've eaten at the Akeman so many times and used to always come away feeling satisfied and happy with the level of service and food quality but recently im sad to say all I feel is disappointed. Its just so hit and miss. On this occasion the starter of a seafood platter was yummy but the mains were very average.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Harjam, We’re so disappointed by this review, it’s so horrible to hear that we’ve let down one of our local regulars and we’re very sorry for that. We will definitely make sure we take your feedback into consideration. I’m sorry to hear that your food did not live up to our previous high standard, and we wish you’d had... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We had a brilliant breakfast here on our way to Champneys, Opens at 8am it was perfect for us, Absolulutly Delightful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Nickiandjosh, We’re really pleased that you had a great breakfast with us before your day of relaxation and pampering at Champneys! What a lovely treat. We hope you’ll come back and join us soon, perhaps to sample our lunch and dinner menus – or even just for a post-Champneys cocktail! The Akeman Team More

Amersham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The front of house staff are great and Rosie is a gem.Yes, it can get busy but that is when it is a victim of its popularity.People who bowl up without booking present a nightmare for the staff and when we have they have told us straight that a wait may happen. The quality of the food is excellent and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Ianc5, Wow! What a fantastic review! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback, I’ll definitely make sure that your lovely comments are passed on to Rosie and the rest of the team! We’re delighted that we’ve consistently helped you to have a lovely evening, and that you enjoy both the food and the extensive wine... More

Hemel Hempstead
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

They have trays of cakes and such on the counter where you queue. They are uncovered and so close that, spit with germs from someone who sneezes or coughs landing on these, is a dead cert! In the past, we have politely mentioned this and the member of staff looked as though we were being 'picky' and without saying a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi HePaCo, I’m so sorry to hear that you’re unhappy. Unfortunately your email appears to have got lost somewhere in outer space, as nothing has reached us! Following your comment we have indeed bought glass covers for all of the cakes on the counter. If you wish to contact us again, our email address is akeman@oakmaninns.co.uk and we will be... More

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Just returned from 'lunch'. It took an hour for our starters to arrive (2.30pm). It sat on the side waiting to be given to us for 20 mins. So poor the waiter agreed not to charge us for it. 40mins later our main arrived. My husband ordered chicken pasta. This was not cooked but didn't send it back as we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Hannah, I’m so sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant meal whilst with us. Your description of the veggie burger does not sound anything at all like the one normally presented, which comes with - Smoked aubergine purée, halloumi cheese, marinated peppers, grilled courgettes and beef tomatoes in a soft bun with sweet potato fries. I’m... More

Little Kimble, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My first visit. Stylish venue,friendly staff but the food was a let down. We had the mixed meats platter for two which was barley enough for one. The basket of bread for £2-50 consisted of 4 slices of unexciting white bread. We will give it another chance but it will have to be a lot better next time to entice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Dagdoug, Whilst we’re delighted to hear that you like the venue and that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff, we’re so disappointed that you did not have a good meal with us. I’m sorry to hear that you did not feel the Affetato Misto platter was adequate for two people; this may be because it is normally enjoyed... More

Travelers who viewed The Akeman also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Akeman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Akeman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing