We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
9 Akeman Street, Tring, England
01442 826027
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Akeman and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 351 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 99
    Excellent
  • 117
    Very good
  • 60
    Average
  • 36
    Poor
  • 39
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Fabulous atmosphere, tasty food, good (but slow) service

Visited here for lunch after going to the natural history museum and wasn't disappointed The menu is wonderful, lots and lots of choice, you can be as healthy or unhealthy as you want, also a good choice of kids food Only negative is the slow service, it wasn't even particularly busy, ; we were... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 25, 2015
mojo80rockstar
,
London, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

351 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015 NEW

Visited here for lunch after going to the natural history museum and wasn't disappointed The menu is wonderful, lots and lots of choice, you can be as healthy or unhealthy as you want, also a good choice of kids food Only negative is the slow service, it wasn't even particularly busy, ; we were geared up to order coffee and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tring, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015 NEW

Lovely interior Open fire Coffee and cake on couches Or through to restaurant seating at back for a good meal Kitchen is open so you can see the chefs cooking Courtyard outside with overhead heating and water feature Excellent food Excellent service

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015 via mobile

We ate here with our two children last Friday. The restaurant is really impressive due to its large open kitchen and inside/outside approach to dinning. The waiting staff were great and very accommodating of our 15 month old who was less than well behaved. The menu choice was great. I had the burger, my husband had the crab and king... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

Staying near by on holiday and visited three times while enjoying the Chilterns. First visit a simple coffee and pastry for breakfast, liked it feel of the restaurant so much came back for 2 evening meals. Found the service excellent, friendly but not OTT. Food each evening was excellent, fresh, timely and a nice selection on the specials board. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you had a wonderful meal and were well looked after by our excellent service team. We pride ourselves on producing freshly prepared, delicious dishes with lots of flavour. We love hearing what our customers have got to say and the team will be really motivated by this amazing feedback. The Akeman Team More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

I went in for a fried breakfast, which was really expensive, something like £9. And then I had a pot of tea on top. The last time I went in the food was good, but the service was terrible - really rude waitress who deliberately ignored me and gave me evasive pretending not to understand me answers to my questions.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

We're disappointed to read that you weren't that happy with your visit and want to assure you that we would have happily replaced your breakfast if you had pointed this out to your server. We take great pride in the food we serve and would have wanted you to have had an excellent meal. We are committed to using fresh,... More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

First the decor and ambience. Modernist, clean, stylish without being intimidating. There's a warm atmosphere that's welcoming. The food is above pub grub standards and has a price to match. Not expensive but fifty percent higher than a chain restaurant. Attentive staff, quick service make it a delightful evening as opposed to one that is either hurried in terms of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi darren s Wow, thank you for leaving such a glowing review! We are delighted to hear that you had a great experience on your recent visit. At The Akeman, we value our staff very highly and are pleased to hear that they were friendly and helpful throughout your visit. We do hope you visit us again soon The Akeman... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

Decided on a whim to go out for breakfast on a sunny Sunday morning. Arrived about 11.00 am and asked to sit outside (taking advantage of the sunshine). The outside courtyard was pretty full but luckily a table was found for us. Drinks order taken quickly; coffee with dinky little bottle of hot milk was very good and husband noted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review, Jools. Its lovely outside in the courtyard, especially when the sun is out so I am pleased you managed to get a table! Thank you for your compliments on the food, We pride ourselves on sourcing quality ingredients to produce food full of flavour. It is great to read that our service was up... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015

We visited for Sunday lunch while house hunting in the area. We had our 2yr old with us so asked for quick service. We had a beef Sunday roast each which we shared with our toddler. The waitress was very helpful in helping us decide if that was enough food and the service was quick and professional. The bar itself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Lou Its great to hear that you enjoyed your Beef roast dinners and that the team were attentive and helpful. We have recently had a bit of a refurb so I am pleased that you liked it. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. The Akeman Team More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

We stopped here for a quick bite to eat on our travels on our Honeymoon. We were greeted with a stylish open bar and kitchen and lively dining area-which was very relaxed. We ordered 1 starter to share and were blown away by the pork belly bites and nearly had our first married couple domestic over who was having the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Adam Firstly, we would like to congratulate you on your marriage. Thank you so much for your amazing review, we love hearing what our customers have got to say! We are thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your food, the pork belly bites are a favourite of our too. We are very passionate about service so I am pleased to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

I booked a table for 20 guests on a Saturday which was busy of course. Our waitress was very efficient and did a fabulous job for all of us considering the time and day. We had to pre order our food but this was no problem. All round we had a pleasant visit and will be back :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Serena C It's so lovely to hear that you and your group enjoyed your recent visit to The Akeman. We hope to see you again soon. The Akeman Team More 

Travelers who viewed The Akeman also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 
Kingswood, Aylesbury
 

Been to The Akeman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 9 Akeman Street, Tring, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Tring
  • Phone Number: 01442 826027

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Mediterranean, Pub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Akeman staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?