We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Akeman

9 Akeman Street, Tring, England
01442 826027
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 33 restaurants in Tring
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
9 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    55
    81
    37
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 NEW

my daughter and I went for a meal and had not booked they had a wedding party in the pub area and it was very busy I am sorry I did not take the guys name at front of house, but he said he will do his best to find us a table and within 5 min he had done... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 NEW

I remembered the restaurant as having a good ambience and food but whilst the ambience and service were still good the food was poor/. The seafood mezze was very nice but that just involved putting a few ingredients on a plate although this was ruined by rubber white bread. My main course was very poorly presented and the salad was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
High Wycombe
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have been to the The Akeman several times and given it high praise. The service is polite and friendly, the ambience good. However, the standard of food has deteriorated so much over the past year that I will not be visiting again. Firstly, I wonder why the menu has changed when it was so varied and appetising before. On... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Viola68, I’m so sorry to hear that someone who has been a loyal customer for some time has had such an unpleasant experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I would like to start by reassuring you that the ingredients we use are supplied by the very best, local suppliers. Enabling us to... More

Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We enjoyed two good visits to Akeman. Once for a welcoming family meal. Meals of good standard for all , good service. Other visit was a coffee break after taking children on the school run. Nice to relax on the large sofas at the front or in the patio to the rear. Toilets very clean upstairs. Hopefully there are disabled... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Charles, We’re so pleased that you’ve had some nice experiences with us, and we can confirm there is indeed a disabled toilet on the ground floor! Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, The Akeman Team More

Tring, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Went for dinner here recently. Service was fine but the food, whilst sounding good on the menu didn't deliver. The panzanella salad was drab and uninspired with no tomato anywhere near it. And no dressing. The wine was hideously over priced and for 3 glasses of wine between us it cost about £33.00!!! A very basic meal for two with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Emma, I’m so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time at the Akeman and this review concerns us greatly. Your description of the panzanella salad sounds very different to what is usually produced, and thus I can only assume that this was a mistake on our part and I’m pleased to hear that you received 20%... More

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

As this is my local pub/bar I have been there several times and never had a problem however today was a different story. We had a drink on arrival and then asked for a table for two. I was told to find a table inside or outside and then somebody would take our order. We found one outside and waited.............. More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TheAkeman, Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Firstly I would like to thank you for your comments, it is incredibly useful to have such clear feedback that we can make improvements on. We are very sorry to hear that your most recent visit was disappointing. As a community pub & restaurant (Winner of this year's Publican Award: Best Community Pub Operator), we recognise that our... More

Princes Risborough
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

After a previously good experience at the Akeman in Tring, I decided to take a couple of girl friends back to visit last Thursday evening... Good atmosphere, pleasant surroundings, service was good however once the food arrived that's when things took a turn for the worst... My friends pasta dish was served extremely undercooked, although initial service was efficient the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheAkeman, Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

I’m sorry you were disappointed by your recent visit with us. I have spoken with the manager on duty on Thursday evening and dealt with your complaint at the time. Having himself come from working as a chef within our company he is familiar with our kitchen. As with all our pasta dishes the pasta was cooked al dente, which... More

Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

First time time here, pleasant surroundings, Tess was very obliging albeit very rushed at times. Plaice was over cooked and was promptly replaced, roast beef was tasty and tender, staff friendly. Would come again but need prompter service as struggled to get attention at times.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Crazybiker69, We’re so pleased you had a nice meal with us, and delighted to hear that you were looked after in the appropriate manner when your plaice was overcooked. We will endeavour to take your feedback regarding prompter service into consideration! Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, The Akeman Team More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

our first time & first impression were very good, place is lovely & lively too especially after 8pm when the young teenagers turn up for birthday party. Seem to be popular with youngsters due to a private school just around the corner. Service was very good, waitress who serve our table very attentive & our orders taken quickly as we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Sugar b, Thanks very much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I’m sorry to hear that your Orecchiette was only ‘so so’, but delighted to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your meal. We hope to see you again soon, The Akeman Team More

Tring, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Been here many times - very nice place for a drink, swanky bar area in the front. Restaurant is roomy, menu good and varied, service generally prompt and friendly, though has been indifferent. Food is consistently good, I think, maybe not wildly exciting, but solid good food, well prepared and well presented. I have a bit of a problem with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AkemanGM, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Roger, Thanks very much for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate the feedback! We’re so pleased to hear that you find the food to be consistently good, well prepared and presented as this is something we take much pride in. We endeavour to refresh our menu twice a year to keep our regular customers excited,... More

Travelers who viewed The Akeman also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Wendover, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Akeman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Akeman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing