We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Akeman

9 Akeman Street, Tring, England
01442 826027
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 33 Restaurants in Tring
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
9 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    83
    39
    28
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 NEW

We arrived just before 2.30 for a table we had booked for 2.30pm, on arrival we were asked to wait by less than friendly staff and were finally seated at 2.50pm.. The starter I chose was no longer available which is something I would expect to be told when given the menu, the food took ages to come and when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Sam, I’d like to apologise that your experience with us was not a pleasant one. I’m sorry that you felt the food was over priced and I’d like to reassure you that the price is merely a measure of the high quality, local ingredients we use. We choose to use local food so that we can support the local... More

Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 NEW

Visited the Akeman on the way back home to Watford. I've been several times before as it is just a few miles away from my parent's house. This time round though we left fairly disappointed as the food seems to have gone down a fair bit since we last came at the end of last year. To be fair, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Tizer001, I’m so concerned by this review, especially given your glowing feedback in 2011. It’s awful to think that you were disappointed on your most recent visit and I’m so sorry that your meal didn’t live up to our usually high standards. I wish that you had raised these issues on the night in question when we would have... More

Bushey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 NEW

This birthday treat was the worst service I have experienced , it took over 40 mins. after we had placed our drink order to get our drinks on the table let alone placing the order, which no one wanted to take. Then we had a wait of about 20mins. to place our order for lunch, one of our guest has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Keith, I’m so sorry to hear that your birthday treat was not as special as it should have been, we feel awful that your meal was spoilt by service that did not live up to our usually high standard. Whilst we always try and run at full capacity and with a full team, unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances this... More

Wendover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

The Akeman is a lovely setting, really like the interior and the whole look of the place but have been really let down by the food lately. We have had some really great meals here and some really bad. It's such a shame because consistency is what brings people back. We decided to come this week as the menu had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi ScarletB2013, We really appreciate you taking the time to leave such an honest response and it’s very insightful for us to hear that you feel our standards have dropped, so there’s absolutely no need to apologise. On the contrary, we’re incredibly sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your latest meal with us – especially given how your previous... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Visited on 31st August. Overall a good meal. Service was just right and food arrived in good time and cooked to very decent standard. Nice ambience.the only reason for not giving top marks was the price. Slightly top heavy in my opinion for what it is. £18 per person just for the lamb roast does seem a bit rich particularly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Andrew, I’m so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful meal with us, thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. I can completely understand your concern about the price, but I’d like to reassure you that we only use the highest quality ingredients in all of our food, that we source locally in... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We arrived with our toddler son after spending the morning at the Natural History Museum. Having looked round the town center to see what was on offer, we settled for the Akeman. This was mainly because there was plenty of seating and it seemed a reasonable establishment from it's appearance, menu and of course it's proximity to the museum was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Bencawood, I’m so concerned by this review and I can only apologise that your time with us did not live up to the high standard that we have come to expect. I’m pleased that you were offered complimentary coffee and desert, and that this confusion was cleared up over the bill and I’d like to reassure you that all... More

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Having read the below reviews I dint no what to expect when we went for diner ova the weekend. The bar was busy and look very classy with lots of wood and wine on show. We didnt book but the dishy beardy manager squeezed us in the busy restaurant. We had the seafood plate then I had the steak salad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi DannielleJ4ck, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review. We’re absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful meal with us! Thanks, too, for your kind words about your service on the night. It’s really motivating for the whole team to hear that their work is being appreciated, and it encourages everyone to keep... More

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

I read below and one of the reviews below is exactly how I felt! It's an amazing place to visit for an evening out, the cocktails are amazing! But yes, it is rather pricey and usually I don't mind paying over the top for a treat to have a good night out.. expecting it to be top notch. I have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Mikayla25, I’m so sorry to hear that your last meal at the Akeman did not live up to our usually high standard. It’s awful to think that we left you so unhappy with your meal, especially considering your experiences in the past have been so pleasant. We would really love the opportunity to prove to you that this was... More

United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The Akeman has really good meals with a wide range of tasty vegetarian options. It also has homemade cakes for snacks but they either run out quickly or don't have a large variety of them, which has been a problem when we have visited before.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Maddie, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review. We’re delighted to hear that you’ve enjoyed all your meals here and we will definitely take into consideration your comment about quantity of cakes and snacks at the bar! We’ve recently introduced a tapas style bar snack menu, which we’d love to have your opinion on! We... More

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I've eaten at the Akeman so many times and used to always come away feeling satisfied and happy with the level of service and food quality but recently im sad to say all I feel is disappointed. Its just so hit and miss. On this occasion the starter of a seafood platter was yummy but the mains were very average.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Harjam, We’re so disappointed by this review, it’s so horrible to hear that we’ve let down one of our local regulars and we’re very sorry for that. We will definitely make sure we take your feedback into consideration. I’m sorry to hear that your food did not live up to our previous high standard, and we wish you’d had... More

Travelers who viewed The Akeman also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Akeman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Akeman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing