We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Tring Restaurants

The Akeman

9 Akeman Street, Tring, England
01442 826027
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve a Table Online
Find a table
Ranked #22 of 32 Restaurants in Tring
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    90
    42
    31
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wendover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014 NEW

We came for our company Christmas lunch and had a mediocre experience. Two meals arrived with cold mash, one was dried out pasta. We asked for them to be reheated, which they were and they returned better (except the pasta). To be fair, the inconvenience was very fairly represented in our bill. The waitress was very good but the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAkeman, Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Pilotlady, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are sorry to hear that not all of you enjoyed your meals with us. We are committed to using fresh, high quality produce that has been locally sourced from the best suppliers rather than importing less fresh and cheaper ingredients. This quality should be evident in our... More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 NEW

Went with my girlfriend to the Akeman for a nice dinner and we had a great time. We went a bit earlier 6:30 ish so it was pretty quiet in the restaurant area which is apart from the main bar area. Service was very friendly and we were advised on any questions we had about the menu. The food is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheAkeman, Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi WillSK, I am delighted you enjoyed your meal with us and our food and service was up to our usual high standards. At The Akeman, we value our staff very highly and are pleased to hear that they were friendly and helpful throughout your visit. Secondly, we can assure you that our prices reflect the quality of the ingredients... More 

London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 via mobile

Great lunch with the lads from work. Every dish that came past us increased the anticipation of our own food arriving. When it did, we were not disappointed. Excellent service. The only downside was they had run out of salted caramel ice cream so there was no dessert; which on reflection was probably a blessing in disguise. I'll be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheAkeman, Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Marvin T, Thank you for your excellent review. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful visit with us, thoroughly enjoyed your meals and were impressed with our service. I’ll definitely make sure to pass on your compliments to the whole team. We are sorry to hear we had run out of salted caramel ice cream and... More 

Tring, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Thank you for a most wonderful dinner, to celebrate my birthday with my family. Our waitress, Tess, was absolutely delightful, very friendly, knowledgeable and professional. The food was amazing! And the ambience was just lovely. Not a cheap night out by any means, but definitely value for money, ie, quality. A real treat

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheAkeman, Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Leigh A, We are delighted to hear that you had a great dinner with us to celebrate your birthday and you were impressed with our excellent staff, I will definitely pass on your kind comments to Tess. Secondly, I am pleased you enjoyed our delicious food. We pride ourselves on sourcing fresh, high quality ingredients and feel this quality... More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Met some friends here for Sunday lunch. Staff were friendly. Food cooked in open area visible from tables. Modern setting with nice fire in bar area. Food was very good. I had the beef and this was good quality. Only down side is that it was pricey.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheAkeman, Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Rup_UK, I am pleased you had a great Sunday lunch with us and thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are thrilled to hear that you liked the décor of the Akeman and the service and food were up to our usual high standards. I am sorry that you found our dishes expensive, we would... More 

Tring, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Nice ,modern ,stylish if pricey drinks and poor seating options at busy times...good outdoor space in the summer

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheAkeman, Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Dear Ian H, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We have recently given the Akeman a revamp, so we are delighted to hear that you approve of our modern and stylish new look. Through our revamp, we have provided more seating but appreciate that it can be difficult to find a seat when we are particularly... More 

tring
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014 via mobile

The team at the Akeman especially Maria and Judith were fantastic we were there for a family wedding reception the service and food were brilliant 10/10 for service and quality of food. Thank you so much look forward to coming back. Stuart

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Dear Stuart S, Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback. We are delighted that you had a great wedding reception and that the service and quality of food was up to our usual high standard. We value our staff very highly and we are glad that you agree. We look forward to seeing you soon! The... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Had my usual coffee of an Americano this morning - very disappointed! It was like drinking thick muddy water! Shocked with the new price and smaller cup size - why??????

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Dear 63miller2014, We are sorry that you are disappointed with our latest coffee change. We source our suppliers very carefully and we are very proud of our new coffee supplier- Caravan. They source green coffee from single farms and estates in the speciality coffee market where the focus is quality, provenance, sustainability and freshness. Caravan buy direct from the growers,... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I was told to check this place out for a meal as I was staying in the hotel nearby There was a great feel to the place when we walked in and it's very welcoming I love the open kitchen style and the smells of food being cooked Service very slow and only a few in at the time ,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheAkeman, Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Roundtable187062 (Brian), Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are thrilled you enjoyed the atmosphere and the open kitchen style - we feel that it's important to give our customers the chance to see their food being prepared!. We apologise that you felt the service was a little slow, we hope it didn't keep you... More 

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Stayed near Tring last Thursday night and wanted somewhere for breakfast the following day. Several friends have been to The Akerman over the last few years so we thought we'd give it a go. Have to say its looking a bit weary after being open for a few years and could do with a refresh to be honest. Service was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Mark G, I am sorry to hear that your bacon was burnt. However, in future if there is a problem with your meal, please do address our team on site where we will resolve any issues immediately to ensure that your breakfast is as tasty as possible! We agreed that The Akeman was due a little TLC too! We... More 

Travelers who viewed The Akeman also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Akeman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Akeman

Address: 9 Akeman Street, Tring, England
Phone Number: 01442 826027
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Tring
Cuisine: Mediterranean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Akeman staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?