We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse Harpenden

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Redbourn Lane | Hatching Green, Harpenden AL5 2JP , England
01582 469290
Website
Add hours for The White Horse Harpenden and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Improve this listing

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 205 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 63
    Excellent
  • 48
    Very good
  • 46
    Average
  • 33
    Poor
  • 15
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Date night!

We went on a busy Saturday night in January. Food was lovely, maybe a little expensive, but we aren't out on a date night every week! Our waiter was a really nice guy. He really knew his stuff. Great atmosphere as well.

4 of 5 starsReviewed January 19, 2015
FamilyHolidays4
,
Harpenden
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015 NEW

We went on a busy Saturday night in January. Food was lovely, maybe a little expensive, but we aren't out on a date night every week! Our waiter was a really nice guy. He really knew his stuff. Great atmosphere as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We had a family christening party here in 2014 and the White Horse laid out the room just as we had asked and provided very good service - recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear Grahammmcfarlane Thank you for your review, we remember your brilliant Christening! Thank you for a lovely time and we look forward to you visiting us again! Kind Regards, Adam Yule More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We went along to the White Horse for a late Sunday lunch. We had been before for a roast during the Summer and had a good experience (despite some wasps making an appearance). We were shown to a table, menus and the specials. It was around 3pm, so they had run out of a number of the dishes, two of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear Localmatt Thank you for your review! We love it when people appreciate our food and let us know. I'm sorry that you felt that our service was not up to the same standards, I hope that you visit us again soon so that we can show you just how good we are. Please, drop by and introduce yourself next... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

When we booked there was only space at 2.30pm. We actually only got there at 3 due to traffic, and by then things had quietened down a bit so after 5 minutes we got seated. Starter soup and salads were fine, Turkey (off a roll) was OK, sea bass was nice. Service prompt and courteous (should be since we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear oldboltonian Thank you for your review, I only wish it could have been better! All of our food is seasonally prepared, so ouurWinter Trifle will only contain fruit that is readily available in the UK at this time. Also, a trifle is traditionally a small amount of sponge, with the remainder split into equal portions of fruit, cream and... More 

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

I dislike leaving negative reviews unless my experience is really poor and this was one of those experiences. We Pre booked for a Sunday dinner. There seemed to be quite few tables free in the restaurant however we were told to wait in the bar so our table could be prepared. We ordered some drinks and 30 minutes later we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear Richard S It is unfortunate to read about your recent visit and I am sorry to hear that you will not be visiting us again. However, I feel that some of your comments are not a true reflection of us or your experience, and I would like to address them as best as I can. Firstly, we will only... More 

Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I visited with 3 other members of my family. we loved the atmosphere, it felt great but the food in all our opinions was mediocre and far too expensive. We could have got similar food in a cafe and paid a more justifiable price for the pleasure, would not visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear colt1209 Thank you for your review, although I can only wish it could have been much better. I would love to speak to you and understand with greater detail why you found our food so disappointing. Please visit us again and askf or me so that I can discuss with you where the problem lay. Kind regards, Adam Yule... More 

London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is light and modern and was tastily decorated for Christmas. Unfortunately the food was far from tasty. The turkey looked and tasted as if it had come out of a tin and the Christmas pudding was a solid square catering block. The best part of the meal was the vegetables. Some tea and coffee was included in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear Richtea100 Thank you for your review. It is disappointing to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal with us, however I would like to allay any misapprehensions you have with concerns to our food. Our turkey is hand rolled around the stuffing by our chefs on the day, and the christmas pudding is also made in-house and cooked fresh.... More 

Harpenden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

A Saturday lunchtime but not too busy. Pleasant restaurant, poor service and an hours wait for average food to arrive. Burgers overcooked, steaks tough but the gammon good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear ikdb2013 I'm sorry to hear that your recent visit with us was only average, and especially that there was a long wait on food. It is often the case during lunch time that, while our dining room is quiet, our bar and Snug area are full, and the food we serve throughout is the same. While it is not... More 

Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014 via mobile

Four of us visited The White Horse yesterday afternoon. We were shown to a table and handed menus and told somebody would come along with the specials board very soon. The staff then proceeded to clear and clean a row of tables which had just been used by a large party. No problem with that but it must have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear Pamela B Thank you for your review! I'm sorry that our service was a little slow on your recent visit, we push ourselves to have our food at your table as quick as possible. We also strive to have our lovely pub looking as neat and tidy as possible, which means even if the tables int he eatery are... More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We visited the White Horse restaurant for a family meal for my father's 80th birthday. From the original meal booking through to the last minute checks on the day (could we bring a cake, was it alright to bring some small table decorations in) and the the actual evening itself, the staff were very helpful and welcoming. The food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mrs_aylard, General Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear Julie V I would like to begin by again apologising for the mishap during your meal, not only the drink spillage but also what appeared to be a lack of care. A dessert and drink had been arranged for you by Ross, the poor young man with the nervous hands, and he was to bring it over for you.... More 

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Harpenden also viewed

Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The White Horse Harpenden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Redbourn Lane | Hatching Green, Harpenden AL5 2JP , England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Harpenden
  • Phone Number: 01582 469290

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse Harpenden staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?