We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse Harpenden

Redbourn Lane | Hatching Green, Harpenden AL5 2JP , England
01582 469290
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 57 restaurants in Harpenden
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
32 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    62
    41
    35
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Last time I went to the White Horse food and service 1st class. This time food just about average .... It was if each course was cooked and left on the warming plate in the kitchen for 20 minutes before serving - very disappointed with standard of food...... and embarrassing when I complained to the waitress as l had guests... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bedfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Thank you to everyone at The White Horse for a great experience. Our food was good, with a special mention for Craig's pork pie! The advice on wine was superb. A meal here is not just a pub meal. All staff went above and beyond our expectations and the atmosphere made the evening special, both inside, and when sitting outside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Last night was our first visit, we had a lovely family meal, the food was excellent the staff were knowledgeable and attentive. We had coffee served to us in the garden, it was a bit chilly but a lovely fire pit and fluffy blankets kept us nice and warm. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
herts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We have eaten here twice recently and I must say the food, atmosphere and service seems to have gone up a notch or two compared to previous visits, admittedly some with different owners over the past five years. We dined outside on a very busy evening (classics on the common) and ate from the BBQ we were really impressed with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is probably the nicest pub resturant meal I have had the menu is quite small and not the most enticing but the food was really great and exceeds the expectations set out in the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, General Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear PageBedford We are very grateful for your excellent review of us! We love our food and we put a lot of energy into making sure you do too. If you visit us again soon then please come over and say hello! Kind regards, Samantha Aylard More

UK
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Dined here last night. Very nice surroundings, staff young and eager, food very good (and I just loved the mini bonios on the bar!). On a Tuesday night restaurant was very full (not sure whether that is usual in UK) so that must say something. Something stops me giving it a wow review - and I'm not sure what it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, General Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear Carolineess Thank you for your review of our pub! It's always gratifying when people let us know that they enjoyed our food and service. We would love to know what you think we could do to improve the atmosphere and give us the "wow" factor you described. Please, next time you're in, pop over to one of us managers... More

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

The service here is very poor. Management cannot run a successful restaurant if people are not properly taken to their seats, handed menus and crucially offered a drink - often the best margin product the place should be selling. We waited 20 minutes chatting away and then got up to seek service. But throughout service remained poor and slow. So... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear linskitours I am disheartened to hear of your less than amazing experience with us. Our servers are excellently trained so I can only apologise that the service was not up to standard during your visit, as this is definitely not the norm. I was also upset to read that you believed some of our dishes had a "bought in"... More

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Sunday 1.30 pm we had booked a table for 8 in the restaurant , but as it was a nice day decided to eat outside on the patio. Service excellent albeit Luke ( our waiter ) had only been at the White Horse a week he took care of us very well. Food second to none service first class and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear Peter S We love our Sunday lunches and I'm glad to read that you do too! Sunday lunches are possibly one of the more important meals of the week and we take a great deal of care over them, from the cooking and presentation in the kitchen to the service we provide at your table. Luke said it was... More

Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The White Horse in Harpenden came highly recommended as part of the Peach pubs chain, which is known to me. Their pubs are known for having nice decor and premium food and drink, and the White Horse certainly didn't disappoint. We were greeted with a smile, and were presented with a whole host of unique, (and may I say) seriously... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear Pauln2705 Thank you for your excellent comments on us! We really appreciate it when people recognise the time and effort we put into our pub. Our new drinks list is definitely exciting, including our new Langley's Grand Gin, so I'm glad to see you enjoyed those as well as your own bespoke cocktails! We can't wait for you to... More

Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Such a nice Friday evening!! Food was amazing and great service with it. Recommendation of wine for the meal was spot on and when we asked about cocktails there was so much knowledge regarding them, what goes with what etc. and skills of how to make them. I will definitely be visiting again and recommending others to go. I would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear JCol17 It was very nice to meet you when you came in for your meal, and I know you made two bartenders very happy by ordering so many cocktails! Everyone that served you that night said what a pleasure it was and we can't wait for you to come back! Kind Regards Samantha Aylard More

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Harpenden also viewed

Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The White Horse Harpenden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Horse Harpenden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing