We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse Harpenden

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Redbourn Lane | Hatching Green, Harpenden AL5 2JP , England
01582 469290
Website
Add hours for The White Horse Harpenden and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 232 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 71
    Excellent
  • 58
    Very good
  • 53
    Average
  • 34
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Stop the pigeon!

Friday dinner with OH. Service ok, starter, drinks and dessert fine, main horrid. I had wood pigeon Kiev. Sounded interesting but tougher than old boots, greasy and tasteless. Crispy crumb coating floating around separately like a detached retina in an emergency eye hospital. Really very nasty. It... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed May 23, 2015
Daisyatthedairy
,
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

Yesterday I had the most expensively priced 'scampi and chips' I have ever experienced. It was cold and tasteless. The haddock scampi was created from old fish and the green sauce had no flavour. I shall not return to this hostelry not far from where I live which is a pity.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

Friday dinner with OH. Service ok, starter, drinks and dessert fine, main horrid. I had wood pigeon Kiev. Sounded interesting but tougher than old boots, greasy and tasteless. Crispy crumb coating floating around separately like a detached retina in an emergency eye hospital. Really very nasty. It was an evening out but leave your taste buds at home if this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

Five of us had a very nice lunch yesterday. Tasty food. Three of us had the set lunch at £12. We had three bottles of fizzy water and some had coffee at the end. When the bill came, it seemed a bit steep....over £130.... a quick look revealed that they had not put our two- course meals on as the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Letchworth Garden City
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

We went there as a family group of 9 and used the private dining room which comfortably holds up to 12. The menu was full of enticing dishes and we all enjoyed our meals. Children's meals are available as a half portion at half price. A very useful find if you're looking for a small private dining room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear Clive480077 Thank you for your lovely review! We work hard to make our Private Dining experiences as personable and exceptional as possible, so it's nice to see that this was the case during your visit! We loved having you here so we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Adam Yule Assistant Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Just another restaurant selling very ordinary service and catering for a silly price which its affluent but uncritical clientele can afford. This is run to a formula: a perception of quality attempting to justify a chunky price but not delivering what it promises. There are too many, too small tables and it's noisy. Not the hum of a busy place,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear Hersom It is disappointing to hear that you consider us to be ordinary. I can assure you that our locals and regulars are some of the finest judges of good cuisine, wine and beer that you are likely to find. We are exceptionally busy a great deal of the time, and this does mean that the volume levels do... More 

welwyn garden city
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

We ordered lunch from the fixed prix menu and this was pointed out to the person taking the order. However, this was completely overlooked when they presented us with the bill. Unfortunately we did not notice the error until we had paid. When this was pointed out to them, they took our card to put the difference back on it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear valblow I am sorry that my personal reply to you explaining our late response to your email was unsatisfactory. As I attempted to portray in my response, the refund was entirely unintentional, and carried out by our GM who was completely unaware that the refund had not occurred. This has since been rectified, and I hope that you will... More 

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

We have had a few trips to the White horse.. always friendly staff.. the roasts could be a little better.. we sat outside and got swarmed by wasps. Also asked to pay extra for a pot of veg and they said they did not have any?! Maybe a wider variety for the roasts?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear Jaykiff Thank you for the review! Also, thank you for being a regular with us, we always love to hear that our guests like to join us regularly! I can only apologise for the lack of vegetables and other dishes on Sunday. We had a much busier weekend, and Sunday in particular, than expected, and that unfortunately meant that... More 

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Four of us went there for a Saturday lunch. The atmosphere was immediately welcoming and the ambience pleasant. Two of us had the Fish Board, which proved to be an excellent combination and certainly large enough for a main. The kedgeree was enjoyed and the only disappointment was the Gnocchi - the portion size was meagre and didn't seem to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear greenspecs99 Thank you for your review! We're glad you warmly welcomed and that the team looked after you during your whole visit. I'm sorry that the gnocchi wasn't up to expectation, it's one of my favourite dishes on the menu! Next time you visit us, please mention me to your server and I'll make sure you're well looked after,... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

We were disappointed to find that the menus is basically just an evening offering. The food was nice but the whole menu was very wintry, a real pity given the sunny May day. Would have liked to see some fixed price offering. Had the pea soup and the steak which was well cooked but lacking in seasoning. The staff could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear GillyStAl Thank you for your recent review. I'm sorry that you felt our menu was lacking, but I think you may have missed our sandwiches and burger offerings on the menu, as well as our fixed price lunch time menu! Hopefully we'll see you back soon and you can try our crab sandwich, or possibly one of the new... More 

New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Good atmosphere and fantastic service. The food was lovely was well. Being vegetarian I had the gnocchi, which was so good, and some chips, which came out piping hot and were promptly devoured by my partner. We had our friends and their three year old son with us and the staff we really good in bringing out a meal just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear wigsNZ Thank you for your review! Good decision on the gnocchi, it's one of my favourite dishes and I'm not vegetarian! We like to make sure we look after your children too, because if they're happy then your happy. And if you're happy, so are we! Please pay us a visit again soon and try the new vegetarian dishes... More 

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Harpenden also viewed

Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The White Horse Harpenden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Redbourn Lane | Hatching Green, Harpenden AL5 2JP , England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Harpenden
  • Phone Number: 01582 469290

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse Harpenden staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?