We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 57 Harpenden Restaurants

The White Horse Harpenden

Redbourn Lane | Hatching Green, Harpenden AL5 2JP , England
01582 469290
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ranked #19 of 57 Restaurants in Harpenden
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    46
    43
    31
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014 NEW via mobile

Four of us visited The White Horse yesterday afternoon. We were shown to a table and handed menus and told somebody would come along with the specials board very soon. The staff then proceeded to clear and clean a row of tables which had just been used by a large party. No problem with that but it must have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We visited the White Horse restaurant for a family meal for my father's 80th birthday. From the original meal booking through to the last minute checks on the day (could we bring a cake, was it alright to bring some small table decorations in) and the the actual evening itself, the staff were very helpful and welcoming. The food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mrs_aylard, General Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear Julie V I would like to begin by again apologising for the mishap during your meal, not only the drink spillage but also what appeared to be a lack of care. A dessert and drink had been arranged for you by Ross, the poor young man with the nervous hands, and he was to bring it over for you.... More

Harpenden, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Have had three lunches during the summer months and have found the service and food of a generally acceptable standard. If they are very busy then the service can be a bit slow, but the food has always been good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear ChrisJL_2005 Thank you for your review! Hopefully we'll see you back again soon when it's not too busy! Kind regards, Adam Yule More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Fireworks great start but there it ended, I started with " Devon crab" and proceeded to have a sneezing fit for 2/3 minutes after, as did other diners around us, must be the dish additives, can't be anything else. My wife ordered sirloin steak cooked blue, it arrived medium rare and sent back. Another steak arrived after 10mins, this was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear BarryM I would like to cover everything that you have written about in your review above, and so I will do so in the same order that you have spoken of them. Firstly, you wrote of a “Bonfire night disaster” in your title. While you were indeed dining with us on the 5th November, your meal had nothing to... More

Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We enjoyed a very good breakfast, the eggs Benedict were particularly good. Service was efficient apart from the cleaner busily cleaning the area and disabled toilet while we were eating. We had used the on line booking expecting to eat in the Eatery with full table service as stated on the menu but we had a table in the bar/snug... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear SJL54 Firstly, thank you so very much for your positive review. There are many times where one small negative point seems to overshadow all of our other good points. Secondly, I apologise that your meal was disrupted by our cleaner. With Christmas coming closer we are getting busier and busier, and it takes just that little bit longer to... More

London, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014 via mobile

We have been going to the WH for years and we warned our fellow diners, it is always an odd experience. And it was... One friend had a 'best before label' from a salad in her starter. The soft poached egg was anything but and the crumble was not even baked. To be fair, we provided feedback and the Manageress... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear MikeyBLeeds I would like to thank you for continuing to be guests of ours despite having a few "odd" experiences. We are very sorry and disappointed with regards to the label in your food; this is the first time it has happened since I began here, and I can assure you it will never happen again. Concerning your email,... More

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 via mobile

We had a really nice meal. The starters were lovely and service was good. The Roast dinner was nice, although we could've done with more veg. 3 carrots is not enough! The wine was nice and we would go back for another meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear mulder10 Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our food and wine! Apologies that you didn't have enough vegetables with your roast, we usually offer more roast potatoes, Yorkshire puddings and vegetables if you find yourself running low. We can't wait for you to return, and when you do we'll make sure we have a big bowl... More

Wantage, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

After taking a reminiscent walk around the Green and surrounding area we decided to revisit, after many years, The White Horse and we were not disappointed. The restaurant was full therefore it is normally necessary to reserve a table, however they quickly found a table in the bar, which was clean and tidy. The menu was typical for a pub... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear Jimgrandad I'm so happy to hear you had a brilliant return to our pub! It's nice to hear of guests returning to us after a few years. Did you used to live in the area? We're glad you enjoyed the food, and that we weren't so busy that we couldn't find you a table. Hopefully you'll be able to... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Let me begin by saying that our food at the White Horse was great. We all enjoyed our roasts, which were very generous, and the starters and desserts were good. The service, however, was pretty much shambolic. We waited 30 minutes minimum for each drink and had to repeatedly get up to request various orders - including our mains after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear JeniferR82 Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the food while you were here, but I'm disappointed to hear that the service you received wasn't as good as it should have been. We work really hard to give our guests the best experience when they visit us and it's upsetting to know that this didn't happen after... More

Redbourn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Ate here with three others on Sunday night. The steak and the two skate meals were pronounced "good" but my chilli & lime spiced fish cake contained 90% potato - one chunk measured around an inch square, so no attempt to hide the potato at all, and no chilli or lime whatsoever. Disappointing. The beers and wines were very good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear BloggerJR Thank you for your review, I'm glad to read that the majority of your meal gave a good impression. I'm sorry that you felt our fishcake was not of the same high standard. The fishcake (which has now changed with our new Autumn menu) had three varieties of fish mashed through it so that it was a consistent... More

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Harpenden also viewed

Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The White Horse Harpenden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Harpenden

Address: Redbourn Lane | Hatching Green, Harpenden AL5 2JP , England
Phone Number: 01582 469290
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Harpenden
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing