We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse Harpenden

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Redbourn Lane | Hatching Green, Harpenden AL5 2JP , England
01582 469290
Website
Add hours for The White Horse Harpenden and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 245 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 78
    Excellent
  • 60
    Very good
  • 55
    Average
  • 36
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Too casual

I don't like the new modern style of service here, staff in jeans and shirt, taking orders with no note pad, thus forgetting part of the order. Restaurant itself nice, clean and bright, food ok, but nothing wow, great outside space, left a little disappointed if I'm honest, would not be my top... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed June 30, 2015
Paula M
,
Bedford, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 NEW

I don't like the new modern style of service here, staff in jeans and shirt, taking orders with no note pad, thus forgetting part of the order. Restaurant itself nice, clean and bright, food ok, but nothing wow, great outside space, left a little disappointed if I'm honest, would not be my top recommendation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Hi Paula, Thanks for your review. As a gastro pub we strive for a fun and relaxed atmosphere but still deliver outstanding fresh food and excellent service. I don't think that there are many places where servers don't where jeans or shirts in a similar fashion to ourselves. Apologies that your order was incorrect, using checkpads to take orders is... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

We live in Leighton Buzzard but the journey over to the White Horse in Harpenden for Sunday lunch is always worth it, I can honestly say it is outstanding, it is a bit more expensive but worth the extra for the quality food. The service was also excellent, we had to sit in the snug as the restaurant was fully... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Hi Claire, Thanks so much for your lovely review. As you will know from your frequent visits, we love to host our gorgeous pub like it was our own home open to everyone. I am so happy that you travel to us for our amazing Sunday Roasts. Something that we really pride ourselves on as well as our knowledgeable and... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

We visited, off the cuff, for lunch and found both the atmosphere and the standard of food very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Hi Judy, Great to hear you had a great spontaneous first visit with us. We look forward to seeing you sometime soon, you're welcome back anytime! All the best, Jenna. More 

london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015 via mobile

I've spent two very enjoyable evenings here... The food is a 7.5 out of ten pretty decent. But if you want a drink in a beautiful pub with no complaints fun night. This is for you! I had a Sunday roast here which was very good they kept giving me extra sides of veg which were spare and bits. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Dear Dynham, Thanks so much for your review. I am really pleased you have had several enjoyable experiences with us. Our freshly cooked food is some of the best around, especially our amazing Sunday Roasts. I look forward to your return so we can continue to deliver excellent service and food. Many thanks, Jenna. More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Visited The White Horse last night (Tuesday 23rd) with girlfriends for some catching up and dinner. It was not busy at all but we were left standing with no one around. I went to the bar for assistance where the one bar person told us she would be with us shortly. After waiting another 5 minutes we showed ourselves to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

We have never done before at White Horse and after reading positive opinions I have decided to book table for Father's Day. I am really disappointed. I have never comment any restaurant even with bad service but what I have recived on today was extreamlly bad. Booked table for Father's Day beggining this week and when arrived we been seated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Hi Caroline, I'm sorry to hear that your experience wasn't up to our usual high standard. Fathers Day is one of our busiest days every year, and due to the time your booking was made with us we were already full. It was explained upon confirmation of your booking that you would not be in our main eatery, but in... More 

Portchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Visited with friends mid week for a late lunch. A spacious old pub with a modern extension and a large patio outside. Not your average pub menu. Lots of unusual and exciting meals. Staff very friendly and attentive. Had the ginger beer shandy, half real ale and half ginger beer. It was lovely Will certainly visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Hi Earl68, Thank you very much for your review. We are really pleased that our menu excites you. Our chefs put a lot of time and effort into creating new and amazing dishes for each seasonal menu for everyone to enjoy. We hope you pop along again soon to try some of the other dishes. All the best, Jenna Nicholls More 

Redbourn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

Love this place, food and wine great as always, staff all very friendly, especially Angus who is always really welcoming and has a fantastic knowledge of wines.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Hi Julie, Great to hear you love coming back to us! We love to see you both every time you do. And you're right Angus does know his stuff! All the best, Jenna Nicholls More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Visited at about 2.30 on a sunny afternoon. A lovely old pub with a newer conservatory. A large car park. Sat outside, and went to the bar to order. Unfortunately a number of the items were not available on the lunch menu, but were advised when we were offered the menu. We both had sandwiches with salad and chips! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Hi Judith, Thanks so much for your review. Lovely to hear you like our lovely old pub. It really is full of character and a great place to enjoy the sun! Sorry we were out of a few items. Nearly all of our food is prepped in house so we might have run out due to high demand and couldn't... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

I came in a few Sunday's ago, we were offered a seat in the restaurant or in the bar, we opted for the restaurant. We had starters mains and desserts which were all really tasty. I asked for a recommendation on the wine and the waitress got it spot on. It was busy and there wasn't any tables free by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_aylard, Manager at The White Horse Harpenden, responded to this review

Hi Katherine, Thanks so much for your positive review. It sounds like you really enjoyed your time with us which is exactly what we aim for. All of our food and wine is chosen specifically for everyone to enjoy and our team trained on all provenance and great pairing. I am very pleased that they gave you a great recommendation.... More 

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Harpenden also viewed

Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The White Horse Harpenden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Harpenden

Address: Redbourn Lane | Hatching Green, Harpenden AL5 2JP , England
Phone Number: 01582 469290
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Harpenden
Cuisine: British, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Redbourn Lane | Hatching Green, Harpenden AL5 2JP , England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Harpenden
  • Phone Number: 01582 469290

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse Harpenden staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?