We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Buckler's Hard, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7XB, England
+44 1590 616253
Website
Today
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Sun - Sat 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Good for:
Local cuisine
Outdoor seating

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 187 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 36
    Excellent
  • 36
    Very good
  • 36
    Average
  • 43
    Poor
  • 36
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Great Lunch in a beautiful Location

It would be difficult not to enjoy a meal in the Riverview restaurant overlooking the beautiful Hamble. We chose a Thursday in March and we shared the restaurant with one other table. I suspect later in the year it is frequented by crowds of visiting sailors. There is also a bar menu and outdoor... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 28, 2015
Jeff T
,
Farnham, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
  • Outdoor seating
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 NEW

It would be difficult not to enjoy a meal in the Riverview restaurant overlooking the beautiful Hamble. We chose a Thursday in March and we shared the restaurant with one other table. I suspect later in the year it is frequented by crowds of visiting sailors. There is also a bar menu and outdoor grill and gets crowded as a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
devon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 NEW

Stopped here for a lunch after a lovely walk from Beaulieu. Ordered a cheddar cheese with pickle on granary. what arrived was supermarket sliced brown bread - slightly stale - grated cheese, Branston pickle and some limp salad with coleslaw. I have honestly had a lot better from pre-packed at service station. What a rip-off.

Was this review helpful? Yes
glos
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 NEW

we called in when visiting and on entering the reception the staff did not even look up, when i asked where the bar was it was as muchas she coud do to point out to us. we didnt stay and whilst our look around was to see if we would like to say we decided no. i used the toilet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 NEW via mobile

We have returned today from a 3 night break at The Master Builder. it was excellent. We had booked a Classic room and as it was in the cheapest price bracket we wondered what it would be like. We were pleasantly surprised at just how nice it was with everything you could need. A large comfy bed and tea and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 NEW

The afternoon tea was excellent with tasty sandwiches and cake. But the scones served warm with lashings of clotted cream and jam were to die for! Friendly staff and lovely surroundings overlooking the river. Just a suggestion for the chef. An alternative savoury tea for diabetics or those without a sweet tooth including cheese scones would be good. Overall a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Great Britain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW

This is a nice pub for the family, right on the Beaulieu river. I have only had two meals there was not overly impressed and felt it was very over prised. Been a long time since I was there hope they have a new chef

Was this review helpful? Yes
CliveWatts1, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Yachtsmans Pub - A lot has changed since your visit last June, so hopefully you will be back to try out the menu. We would be delighted to get your feedback. More 

London, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW

This is a lovely spot at Bucklers Hard, but £3.25 for god awful lukewarm cup of milk masquerading as coffee, I shall not be back. No coffee should cost £3.25 least of all one that doesn't actually taste of coffee, go to Italy and find out what a cappuccino should taste like please !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
CliveWatts1, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Yachtsmans Pub - I am really sorry that your coffee was neither hot nor up to spec. We do serve a lot of teas and coffees, and it is a shame we couldn't resolve the situation while you were still with us. I hope we get the opportunity to show you a good cappuccino. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 NEW

The food once chosen is very good quality, and very tasty ,but I would say the menu is a little limited if you were staying in the master builders i feel that you would need to dine elsewhere on other evenings to avoid the limited choice .On a good note the breakfasts are really great

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CliveWatts1, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Riverview Restaurant - We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals in the restaurant. Although there are already 8 starters and 10 main courses to choose from, I will discuss your comments about the range of choice with our Head Chef. More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

My girlfriends lunchtime Campari and orange was poured orange juice first followed by Campari. No room for ice. Quick sip. No room for orange slice. Correction. No orange slice available. Oh dear.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CliveWatts1, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Yachtsmans Pub - Apologies but unfortunately the barperson had not been asked for a Campari & orange before, so did not present the drink properly. We have now briefed the team, so a return visit should not give cause for complaint. More 

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Cooking was fine but would not want to eat in the restaurant more than one night as the choice was so limited . Having chosen the items that appealed, one would to have had to eat the same again on the second night. Why no Table D'Hote menu?

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CliveWatts1, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Riverview Restaurant - Thank you for your review. I am a little confused as we offer both the A la Carte Menu with the Chef Recommends Menu which have a total of eight starters and ten main courses. In addition you can choose to eat in the pub which offers a completely different menu. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Travelers who viewed Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
 
Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
 

Been to Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Buckler's Hard, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7XB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest National Park  >  Brockenhurst  >  Beaulieu
  • Phone Number: +44 1590 616253

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Tuesday
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Wednesday
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Thursday
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Friday
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Saturday
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?