We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant

Buckler's Hard, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7XB, England
+44 1590 616253
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 10 Restaurants in Beaulieu
Cuisines: British
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

29% Recommend
    21
    22
    30
    37
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 NEW

Good value for money. Ploughmans lunch huge and lots of choices on the plate under £10. Very friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
CliveWatts1, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

THE YACHTSMAN'S BAR Thank you for your review and I am very pleased that you found the menu good value for money. We hope to welcome you back again soon. More

Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 NEW

I was so shocked at the small portion that when this dessert was presented to me by the waitress I exclaimed "£6.50 for that??!!". But she ignored my protests and alas I was stuck with it because at this restaurant you pay at the bar before you see what you are getting! Whilst I can appreciate that £6.50 for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CliveWatts1, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

THE YACHTSMAN'S BAR Thank you for your comments about your Eton Mess. We constantly look to provide good value at the right price point and I can confirm that the prices for the pudding selection in the bar will be reviewed. More

Gilwern
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 NEW

Scrummy food, nicely served in a glorious location.The Ploughmans lunch was plentiful and tasty.In the restaurant the staff were attentive and the food nicely presented and delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CliveWatts1, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

RIVER-VIEW RESTAURANT Thank you for your nice comments and we very much hope to welcome you back in the future. More

Worthing
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We visited Bucklers Hard for the first time last weekend. It is a delightful place in terms of scenery. Sadly, we felt ripped off by the price of the food we ordered. I had a very bland pasta dish with a few flakes of salmon at £12.95. My brother had two fishcakes and a few mixed leaves at similar price.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
CliveWatts1, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

YACHTSMAN'S BAR Thank you for your review. It is important to point out that the Bucklers Hard visitor attraction and the bar are not part of the same ownership. From comments we receive at the bar, people find the modest admission price for the attraction and museum very good value indeed. As far as our prices for the food in... More

Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Popped in for an early evening drink on spec. Lovely setting and nicely looked after. Service was helpful and friendly; there was an outside barbeque-type kitchen and bar for snacks/pizza/chips and the menu looked tempting inside too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CliveWatts1, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

YACHTSMAN'S BAR Thank you for your nice comments and we hope to welcome you back soon for a meal More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Went here for Sunday lunch with my wife and brother and what a delight it was, the smells emanating from the kitchen were amazing, after we had placed our order we kept seeing other dishes pass by and to be quite honest, if we had chosen any meal from the menu we would have been equally delighted, the service was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CliveWatts1, Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

RIVER-VIEW RESTAURANT Thank you for your review of your experience in our restaurant and I am very pleased you had such a nice time. We hope to welcome you back in the future. More

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I can only echo the bad reviews that you find here. The management seem to learn nothing from revues on this site. Our experience was a wake up to check venues before going! Poor food and service and expensive. We won't be coming again

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
CliveWatts1, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, although without more detail I am unable to comment on your experience. However I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us. More

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We went to the restaurant with friends and the four of us had a superb evening. The food and service were excellent, staff could not have been more attentive, but not intrusive. We had coffee on the terrace outside after the meal.......perfect setting and a perfect evening. Will return again soon for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cricklade, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Booked a table for sunday lunch at the River View restaurant, Master Builders Hotel at Bucklers Hard. Fantastic location, fantastic service and fantastic food. The head waiter came to our table to shake our hands and welcome us to the restaurant. Made me feel like somebody important! We had already worked out we had the best table in the house... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I've enjoyed lunch here from the regular menu and the summer BBQ menu and both were delicious. Great veggie selection! Decor is very well done throughout, creating a comfy space in keeping with the history of the building. The service was great - staff couldn't do enough for us even when we went all high maintenance on them and didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CliveWatts1, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review and we very much hope to welcome you back again in the future. More

Travelers who viewed Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
 
Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
 

Been to Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing