We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sir Walter Tyrrell

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Brook (off A31 motorway), Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7HD, England
+44 2380 813170
Website
Today
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 169 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 45
    Excellent
  • 38
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 26
    Poor
  • 36
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
A great find

We went to see the Rufus Stone in the New Forrest and noticed a discreet sign for the Sir Walter Tyrrell. As it was coffee time, we drove on in to SWT and parked. We received a warm welcome and the coffees were good. There was no problem leaving our car and walking back to the 'stone'. After... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 2, 2015
Stan H
,
Oxford, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015 NEW

We went to see the Rufus Stone in the New Forrest and noticed a discreet sign for the Sir Walter Tyrrell. As it was coffee time, we drove on in to SWT and parked. We received a warm welcome and the coffees were good. There was no problem leaving our car and walking back to the 'stone'. After a gentle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lymington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015 NEW

Menu is poor, food is badly prepared, service is terrible. What happened to the Water Tyrell of the past !!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Lovely food, staff and atmosphere. Brilliant play area for children, cheap beer and in a beautiful location. Could ask for more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

We visited for a family meal as the sun was shining and we knew kids could play outside. The menu is quite basic and lacking a fish dish (apart from fish and chips) but the specials enhanced the variety and my husband and I ordered from there. The staff were friendly and the food arrived swiftly. Food was tasty and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, General Manager at The Sir Walter Tyrrell, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments, we are due to change the menu and will be adding a larger selection of food to specials board. Once again thank you very much for your comments I shall pass them on to the team. More 

uk
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015 via mobile

We have been coming here for absolutely years. We're fairly local but also stay at campsite nearby so visit a fair few times a year. However. Not anymore. Really disappointing , food and the bar lady ( presume manager - Scottish I think ). Anyway, without too much detail- she is rude and ignorant. Food appalling. Not bothered kind of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Mark B, General Manager at The Sir Walter Tyrrell, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments I shall be talking to our team regarding the issues, I was on site all day I wished someone had brought the issues to me personally and I would have dealt with them for you. If you would like to discuss this matter further please give me a call or pop in and see me. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Last visited July 2013. This time with my son, daughter-in-law and grandson (+dog). On the good side: Nice location Friendly helpful service from more than one of the staff Loads of space inside and in garden Good kids play area Dog friendly Cheap On the bad side: Web site could do a lot more All day breakfast wasn't very good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark B, General Manager at The Sir Walter Tyrrell, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments I shall be discussing all of the issues with the team. I was on site all day and just wish someone had brought this to my attention I could have resolved some of the issues. If you would like to discuss the situation please call me and we can discuss the problems in more detail. More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

We have been going to this pub for years as a convenient supper stop on the way back from the West Country. This time we arrived a bit before 6pm, pub generally didn't feel right, there was one middle aged lady seemingly doing everything, three or four youngsters doing their best to avoid serving anybody, one young man coming out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark B, General Manager at The Sir Walter Tyrrell, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you were disappointed with the service and the food unfortunately I was in the kitchen so unaware of any issues. If you had asked to see me I was available at which time I would have resolved the situation to your satisfaction. I was in touch with my floor manager and she did not advise me of... More 

Hindhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

My parents, my wife, my son and I were staying at a local camp site and decided to try the Sir Walter Tyrell. We received a warm welcome, were shown to a terrific table and experienced great service. The food was superb (I really enjoyed the steak and ale pie...the best I've had in a long time) it was hot,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

After walking through the woods for an hour or so from our campsite we were headed towards the Sir Walter Tyrrell. As we arrived I remarked on what a great looking warming welcome pub it looked... well it might have been if the staff weren't so rude and the queue wasn't taking up half the pub! We managed to grab... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark B, General Manager at The Sir Walter Tyrrell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I shall be discussing this review with my team as I want us to give the best service we can at all times. We only introduced the BBQ this weekend to try and ease the pressure on the kitchen and the team inside. We are developing the BBQ area to be able to offer a... More 

Ramsbury, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

As it was nice and sunny we fancied a pint and went a bit far from home. We stopped off here for a pint of shandy. we had ran the dog in the forest up by rufus stone with the idea that the dog would remain in the car it wasnt ideal as we had travelled just over a hour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark B, General Manager at The Sir Walter Tyrrell, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your comments I will pass the feed back to the team and I am glad your dog enjoyed the food as well. More 

Travelers who viewed The Sir Walter Tyrrell also viewed

New Milton, Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
Brook, New Forest National Park
 

Been to The Sir Walter Tyrrell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sir Walter Tyrrell

Address: Brook (off A31 motorway), Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7HD, England
Phone Number: +44 2380 813170
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest National Park  >  Lyndhurst
Open Hours:
Sunday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Cuisine: British, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Brook (off A31 motorway), Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7HD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest National Park  >  Lyndhurst
  • Phone Number: +44 2380 813170

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Sir Walter Tyrrell staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?