We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sir Walter Tyrrell

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Brook (off A31 motorway), Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7HD, England
+44 2380 813170
Website
Today
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 163 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 44
    Excellent
  • 36
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 23
    Poor
  • 36
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Gone Downhill

We have been going to this pub for years as a convenient supper stop on the way back from the West Country. This time we arrived a bit before 6pm, pub generally didn't feel right, there was one middle aged lady seemingly doing everything, three or four youngsters doing their best to avoid serving... read more

2 of 5 starsReviewed May 30, 2015
philippa s
,
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015 NEW

We have been going to this pub for years as a convenient supper stop on the way back from the West Country. This time we arrived a bit before 6pm, pub generally didn't feel right, there was one middle aged lady seemingly doing everything, three or four youngsters doing their best to avoid serving anybody, one young man coming out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, General Manager at The Sir Walter Tyrrell, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you were disappointed with the service and the food unfortunately I was in the kitchen so unaware of any issues. If you had asked to see me I was available at which time I would have resolved the situation to your satisfaction. I was in touch with my floor manager and she did not advise me of... More 

Hindhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015 NEW

My parents, my wife, my son and I were staying at a local camp site and decided to try the Sir Walter Tyrell. We received a warm welcome, were shown to a terrific table and experienced great service. The food was superb (I really enjoyed the steak and ale pie...the best I've had in a long time) it was hot,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW

After walking through the woods for an hour or so from our campsite we were headed towards the Sir Walter Tyrrell. As we arrived I remarked on what a great looking warming welcome pub it looked... well it might have been if the staff weren't so rude and the queue wasn't taking up half the pub! We managed to grab... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, General Manager at The Sir Walter Tyrrell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I shall be discussing this review with my team as I want us to give the best service we can at all times. We only introduced the BBQ this weekend to try and ease the pressure on the kitchen and the team inside. We are developing the BBQ area to be able to offer a... More 

Ramsbury, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

As it was nice and sunny we fancied a pint and went a bit far from home. We stopped off here for a pint of shandy. we had ran the dog in the forest up by rufus stone with the idea that the dog would remain in the car it wasnt ideal as we had travelled just over a hour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, General Manager at The Sir Walter Tyrrell, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your comments I will pass the feed back to the team and I am glad your dog enjoyed the food as well. More 

Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

We popped into the pub on the way back from Bournemouth, greeted by some very pleasant staff who could not do enough to help. The kids played on the bouncy castle my husband had a burger from the BBQ, the kids had hot dogs and I had Sirloin Steak all food was hot as described and reasonably priced. We also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

My wife and I stumbled upon the Sir Walter Tyrell pub last night with surprising results? We had gone out with the intentions of finding a pub in the forest with good food, after trying three or four previous pubs all saying the same thing sorry no food served after 19.00 hrs and a couple even earlier than this. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark B, General Manager at The Sir Walter Tyrrell, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your comments it is very much appreciated and I shall pass this onto the team. More 

Totton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Visited for lunch today with family. You have to order drinks and food separately unless you want hot drinks and then you can order them with the food! All had the roasts - carrots were very undercooked and gravy was tasteless. Asked for some mint sauce for our roast lamb and were told by the waitress they had run out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark B, General Manager at The Sir Walter Tyrrell, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I was on site today and had spoken with a few customers as I was running the BBQ and the feed back I was getting was that things had improved. I do understand there was an issue with Mint Sauce as it was stolen during service yesterday but there was some down stairs as it... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

We visited the new forest on a large family day out on the Bank Holiday Saturday. A friend recommended this pub and we weren't disappointed. The pub was very, very busy but the welcome was personal and friendly, the service was excellent, the food delicious and given that there was 12 of us we were impressed it arrived within 30... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, General Manager at The Sir Walter Tyrrell, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments as it is nice to receive a review where people are happy with what we are trying to achieve. I will pass these comments on to the team as well. More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

I've been visiting Sir Walter Tyrrell from time to time for the past 28 years. This time will be my last....I was charged a greedy £9.00 for one bottle of Magners Cider and a diet Coke! We then sat at one of the dirty outside tables, with the droning 'jet engine' like noise from a bouncy castle destroying the peaceful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 via mobile

Visited the sir walter tyrell today,was disgusted. Decided to sit out in the garden with children as weather was nice and there was a bouncy castle. Was rather busy so had to sit on tables on the concrete area this was when i had to warn my child to be careful where she was walking because of the dog faeces... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark B, General Manager at The Sir Walter Tyrrell, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I was available on site all day yesterday where you could have come along and discussed the problems with me personally. With regards to the mess in the garden we are a rural pub which is visited by various forms of wildlife and the mess you described was in actual fact deer's. I have taken... More 

Travelers who viewed The Sir Walter Tyrrell also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
New Milton, Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
Brook, New Forest National Park
 

Been to The Sir Walter Tyrrell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Brook (off A31 motorway), Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7HD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest National Park  >  Lyndhurst
  • Phone Number: +44 2380 813170

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Sir Walter Tyrrell staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?