We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sir Walter Tyrrell

$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Brook (off A31 motorway), Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7HD, England
+44 2380 813170
Website
Improve this listing
Today
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for: Families with children
Description: Single Site Operator

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 209 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 54
    Excellent
  • 47
    Very good
  • 29
    Average
  • 33
    Poor
  • 46
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Disappointing Return

I have use this place many times over the years but was disappointed with the Sunday Roasts served yesterday. The staff were very good and very helpful. The others in my party all enjoyed their food but my father and I both had the Roast Pork and were disappointed with it. The meat seemed to be re... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed December 7, 2015
Adrian_L_12975
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ramsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is my second review of here. We went for a meal after a day out a another attraction. It was just two of us we had the starter of breaded brie which although was nice felt it a little over cooked but it by all means never spoiled it. We had rump steak one rare and one medium and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarahh672
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

We had only just left the main A31 and discovered this pub. Lovely location and great hospitality. Coffee was excellent. Two lovely ladies were only too happy to help with information about the local area and directions for our onward journey. We didn't eat here but the menu looked fine for a pub.

Helpful?
Thank Kath369120
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

I have use this place many times over the years but was disappointed with the Sunday Roasts served yesterday. The staff were very good and very helpful. The others in my party all enjoyed their food but my father and I both had the Roast Pork and were disappointed with it. The meat seemed to be re heated frozen meat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adrian_L_12975
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015 via mobile

Visited this evening and was surprised to see a virtually empty pub!!! We remembered this pub from years ago as having quality food and a good atmosphere... If I'd had WiFi signal to check TripAdvisor we definitely would have stayed locally... The service was really good, friendly waitress, but really simply terrible food... It looks like locals are voting with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Krome K
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015 via mobile

Was meeting family here, was a bit concerned as read reviews on the day which weren't good but too late to change venue. Anyway, we decided to have something that would be fairly safe! Two Jacket potatoes and a ham eggs and chips. The food looked ok when it arrived and we were halfway through the meal when my cousin... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Joy O
Mark B, General Manager at The Sir Walter Tyrrell, responded to this review

I would like to apologise for what happened to Sylvia during your visit to us. I have since been in contact with our supplier and they are talking to their supplier. Our internal process is to un wrap the salad from the bags wash in water and then dry the salad ready for use, so I can not understand how... More 

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

Ended up at this pub after arriving at another to be told they were no longer serving food it was around 2.30 on a Saturday saw the sign for the Sir Walter Tyrrell thought we would try there staff assured us they served food all day. Really lovely outlook to this pub its large inside and out with a big... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
Mark B, General Manager at The Sir Walter Tyrrell, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments I shall pass them onto the team. More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015

We enjoyed a family lunch celebrating a birthday. The staff were helpful and the food was as good as anyone could reasonably expect. We will certainly go again.

Helpful?
Thank John1424
Mark B, General Manager at The Sir Walter Tyrrell, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your comments I shall pass them onto the team and hopefully I will see you again soon. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

We visited the Sir Walter Tyrrell recently, a place that has had a great local reputation for the past couple of decades. Sadly, the place doesn't seem to have been upgraded or improved for the past couple of decades too. The decor and furniture is very tired indeed, but we were hungry so ordered Sunday lunch. The food arrived extremely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eleanor1971
Mark B, General Manager at The Sir Walter Tyrrell, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments I will speak to staff team about this. We have recently taken over the business and have plans to bring the business more up to date. I have taken your comments on board and will be speaking with the owners about the plans going forward More 

Peterbrough, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

Went on a busy Sunday lunchtime but still got served in a very reasonable time but the portions were so big that none of us were able to clear our plates. Excellent value and friendly staff, we come here every year at this time and it never disappoints even though I think it may have changed hands.

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey F
Mark B, General Manager at The Sir Walter Tyrrell, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments, yes the business changed hands last November so we have been trading for a year approximately. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to our premises and that everything went well, hopefully we will see you when you return More 

Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

We called into the Sir Walter Tyrrell on our way home from Weymouth for a meal. What a lovely pub. 2 coal fires burning.and a very warm welcome from both the staff and customers sitting at the bar. Even dogs are given a welcome. The meals that we all ordered (7 of us) all arrived at the same time, freshly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna3112
Mark B, General Manager at The Sir Walter Tyrrell, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal and time you spent with us and hopefully we will see you again when you are in the area. I shall pass the comments onto the team and once again thank you. More 

Travelers who viewed The Sir Walter Tyrrell also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
New Milton, Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
 

Been to The Sir Walter Tyrrell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Brook (off A31 motorway), Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7HD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest National Park  >  Lyndhurst
  • Phone Number: +44 2380 813170

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 7 - 27
  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

Single Site Operator
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Sir Walter Tyrrell staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?