We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Stockbridge Restaurants

The White Hart Inn

High St, Stockbridge SO20 6HF, England
+44 1264 810663 ‎
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve a Table Online
Find a table
Ranked #15 of 25 Restaurants in Stockbridge
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Set in a traditional 16th-century coaching inn, White Hart in Hampshire serves up an eclectic array of gastro pub cuisine. Using locally sourced produce, including fresh fish from nearby River Test, the menu is filled with creative and inventive dishes. The spacious beer garden gives ample opportunity to enjoy the picturesque Hampshire countryside, whilst the White Hart also offers Cask Marque approved ales and Master Cellarman status.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    17
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

my friend and I went here yesterday 29th december, and we had a delightful meal, I had the liver and bacon and mash a very comforting choice, and the apple crumble was excellent just as you would make it at home. The service was good the people pleasant and I would recommend this place highly,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley D, General Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

HI Janet, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed the food and service this is something we work hard on to make sure that we meet or exceed everyones expectations and I am glad that on this occassion we did. We look forward to welcoming you back to... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

Sadly yet again felt disappointed by this place, visited with friends on a sunday evening had roast dinner and sadly the met was nice felt rely disappointed with the so called fresh vegetables - they where not fresh and had obviously been reheated in the microwave from earlier in the day, so dried up vegetables with no taste just not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley D, General Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Wendy, I am so sorry you again felt disappointed with your meal at The White Hart, especially that you were not happy with your sunday roast. We normally get such great feedback from our roast dinners. I want to assure you that our vegetables are always fresh. I will however pass you commnets to my Head Chef. I would like... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

The atmoshere in the bar reminds you of the way pubs used to be. Their is a mix of clientelle who have a great banter with staff. All the staff encountered are friendly and provide great service with a smile. I would recomend anyone passing through Stockbridge to stop and enjoy the White Hart

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley D, General Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Hi Tom Thank you so much for your kind review, I am so pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, we pride ourselves on great customer service and our goal is that every customer leaves happy. We look forward to welcoming you to the White Hart again soon. Kind Regards - Shelley Dias - General Manager More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

I had an average Christmas meal at the White Hart on the 18th December. The restaurant wasn’t extremely busy and U have to admit the service was good and cheerful. I wasn’t very impressed with the food. We were not offered any bread (not much I know, but always a nice touch and you expect this at a decent restaurant)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley D, General Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your Christmas Meal, I am sorry that you weren't impressed with your food, We pride ourselves on our high standards of food and service and I am dissapointed that you were not happy. I will certainly give your feedback to the chef. Wishing you a lovely Christmas and Happy... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Really lovely pub/restaurant where last Friday I had one of the best vegetarian meals ever (vegetarian 23 years). I had mushroom stroganoff and it was wonderful, lovely wild mushrooms cooked just perfectly, not over done and not too rich, served with basmati rice which made a lovely change. Would really like to know the mushrooms served...... The rest of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley D, General Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Hi Nicola Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am so glad that you enjoyed your Mushroom Stroganoff, We pride ourselves here on our fresh food and local produce. I hope you have a fantastic Christmas and look forward to seeing you in 2015 Kind Regards Shelley Dias - General Manager More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

If you have plenty of money this is ideal for you, we thought the Sunday dinner was expensive as with the cheapest bottle of wine at £18, the portions were also small. What we did like was the lovely old building, and the nooks and crannies of the building.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shelley D, General Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Hi Peter Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you were not happy with the prices at the White Hart. All our produce is fresh and locally sourced and this does come at a cost. I am glad though that you liked The White Hart I love the old beams and especailly like... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

We booked a table here last friday, last minute decision as we had a voucher that expired soon, we took our 2 youngest children so we were 4 in total, the pub has a really pleasant warm atmosphere, we arrived late but were quickly shown to our table and served with our drinks, there is an extensive menu and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley D, General Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your food and had a lovely evening. We look forward to welcoming your back to The White Hart soon Kind Regards - Shelley Dias General Manager More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

In addition to the review written by Alton504148, I was one of the party of six. It took a long time for anyone to take our order for drinks at the beginning of our visit, these in turn were left on the bar for so long I went and got them myself. There was a long wait getting starters and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley D, General Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you were not happy with the service you recieved Kind Regards - Shelley Dias General Manager More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice while staying in the town. A fairly varied and seasonal menu. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The stand out dish of the trip was the steak and ale pie. Proper full crust pie filled to the top with a tasty well seasoned meat. Not cheap but considering the prices elsewhere in town a fair price for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley D, General Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Hi Melanie Thansk you so much for your lovely review, I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit and found our staff to be friendly and helpful, I am so glad that you enjoyed our Steak and Ale pie it really is a popular dish - Kind Regards Shelley Dias More 

Alton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch there as a party of 6. Service was pretty slow from serving drinks, waiting for vegetables to accompany our lunch and waiting for our sweet to arrive. Food was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley D, General Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Hi There Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry that you were disappointed with the service during your visit to The White Hart on Sunday. We pride ourselves on our normal high standards of customer service. Last sunday we had two new staff on and they are still learning, I hope that... More 

Travelers who viewed The White Hart Inn also viewed

Stockbridge, Hampshire
Stockbridge, Hampshire
 
Stockbridge, Hampshire
Houghton, Stockbridge
 

Been to The White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Inn

Address: High St, Stockbridge SO20 6HF, England
Phone Number: +44 1264 810663 ‎
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Stockbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Hart Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?