We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Hart Inn

Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
High St, Stockbridge SO20 6HF, England
+44 1264 810663 ‎
Website
Add hours for The White Hart Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Set in a traditional 16th-century coaching inn, White Hart in Hampshire...
Set in a traditional 16th-century coaching inn, White Hart in Hampshire serves up an eclectic array of gastro pub cuisine. Using locally sourced produce, including fresh fish from nearby River Test, the menu is filled with creative and inventive dishes. The spacious beer garden gives ample opportunity to enjoy the picturesque Hampshire countryside, whilst the White Hart also offers Cask Marque approved ales and Master Cellarman status.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 99 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 38
    Excellent
  • 30
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Steak pie is delicious!

Frequent visitor as living locally, food is good, especially the steak pie, although a huge slice & too nice to leave, so greediness takes over. Atmosphere is good, staff are friendly apart from one of the older ladies (dark hair) not the best at customer service!

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 23, 2015
Michelle72145
,
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

Frequent visitor as living locally, food is good, especially the steak pie, although a huge slice & too nice to leave, so greediness takes over. Atmosphere is good, staff are friendly apart from one of the older ladies (dark hair) not the best at customer service!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Warm welcome for a group of vintage car owners to fuel up on Drive It Day from the staff. All the roasts were tasty and plentiful and service efficient. Thank you to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley D, General Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, It was lovely to see you all on Sunday and we already look forward to next year. I am so glad you all enjoyed your roast dinners, Our roast dinners are very popular, We look forward to welcoming you to The White Hart again - Kind Regards - Shelley Dias... More 

Chester
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Stayed at the White Hart for one night as had been staying in Salisbury and wanted to see Stockbridge again. This place really is worth a visit - either to stay or just for a meal. As we had a little dog we were given a room specifically for guests with dogs I think so the room was a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley D, General Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Hi Madelaine - Thank you so much for your lovely review I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff to be excellent, We pride ourselves on our fantastic customer service and I am so glad that it has been reconised. I look forward to welcoming you back to The White Hart again in... More 

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

This, a traditional pub with added facilities is darn good. Good beer, good food and very nice staff. Lots of places both inside and outside to sit and chat and to enjoy better than average pub food from a menu that leaves you spoilt for choice. Will we return is always the burning question and yes we will.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley D, General Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Hi There Thank you so much for your kind review I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to The White Hart and even more pleased that you will be back. We look forward to welcoming you back to The White Hart - Kind Regards Shelley Dias - General Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

We had a lovely meal at the White hart. Food was lovely and fresh and locally sourced. All dishes were tasty but had the prawn starter, took a while to eat as you have to peel half a pint of them. Service was very good and food was value for money for the quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shelley D, General Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, I am so glad that you enjoyed the food and service these are the 2 things we work hardest to get right. I will pass your commmets on to my team. Kind Regards - Shelley Dias - General Manager More 

Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

The restaurant offered good locally sourced food. My trout fillets were perfectly cooked and the dish as a whole was lovely

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley D, General Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review I am really pleased you enjoyed your Trout, We pride ourselves on fresh local home cooked food and its lovely to know you enjoyed it Kind Regards Shelley Dias - General Manager More 

Salisbury UK
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

We visit The White Hart regularly and have always been happy with food and service, that was until I decided to have fish cakes. Deep fried mashed potato was the best way to describe them; no fish and no seasoning. I took them home for the dogs. They enjoyed them but I felt guilty about what I had given them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley D, General Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Hi Geoff, Thank you for your review. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your fishcakes, Our Fishcakes are a very popular choice and I am disappointed that they were not to your satisfaction. I have passed your feedback to the kitchen team. I do hope you will visit us again and give us a second chance, Thanks... More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Our first visit and what a pleasant surprise. Beers were good and food was excellent. We ordered the mixed sharing platter which including Buffalo meatball fantastic As a main course we both had the Buffalo Lasagne - wow fantastic the best Lasagne I have ever had!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley D, General Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you wonderful review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your meals, our Lasagnes really are a little special. We look forward to welcoming you back to The White Hart again soon Kind Regards - Shelley Dias - General Manager More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

my friend and I went here yesterday 29th december, and we had a delightful meal, I had the liver and bacon and mash a very comforting choice, and the apple crumble was excellent just as you would make it at home. The service was good the people pleasant and I would recommend this place highly,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley D, General Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

HI Janet, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed the food and service this is something we work hard on to make sure that we meet or exceed everyones expectations and I am glad that on this occassion we did. We look forward to welcoming you back to... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

Sadly yet again felt disappointed by this place, visited with friends on a sunday evening had roast dinner and sadly the met was nice felt rely disappointed with the so called fresh vegetables - they where not fresh and had obviously been reheated in the microwave from earlier in the day, so dried up vegetables with no taste just not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley D, General Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Wendy, I am so sorry you again felt disappointed with your meal at The White Hart, especially that you were not happy with your sunday roast. We normally get such great feedback from our roast dinners. I want to assure you that our vegetables are always fresh. I will however pass you commnets to my Head Chef. I would like... More 

Travelers who viewed The White Hart Inn also viewed

Stockbridge, Hampshire
Houghton, Stockbridge
 
Stockbridge, Hampshire
 

Been to The White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: High St, Stockbridge SO20 6HF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Stockbridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1264 810663 ‎

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Pub

Description

Set in a traditional 16th-century coaching inn, White Hart in Hampshire serves up an eclectic array of gastro pub cuisine. Using locally sourced produce, including fresh fish from nearby River Test, the menu is filled with creative and inventive dishes. The spacious beer garden gives ample opportunity to enjoy the picturesque Hampshire countryside, whilst the White Hart also offers Cask Marque approved ales and Master Cellarman status.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Hart Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?