We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 82 Andover Restaurants

Wyke Down Country Pub & Restaurant

Walworth Road, Andover SP11 6LX, England
01264 352048
Website
Improve this listing
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #10 of 82 Restaurants in Andover
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Sun - Thu 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Fri - Sat 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Cuisines: British, Pub, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    28
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 NEW

A group of 20 of us enjoyed a lovely 3 course meal here, which we had pre booked in advance. Everybody got the dishes they had ordered, the food was hot and tasty, service was very good. Our room was comfortable and well decorated, we could not have asked for more, thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

We went here for a 30th Birthday meal for my son-in-law; from start to finish it was a good experience, service was good and the meals were good, anyone that wants a good hot meal should try this out, it is good value for money, we would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Overton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

visited this restaurant for a surprise birthday party for my wife with fourteen friends,we ordered the food for 7pm arrived at 6.30pm for pre drinks before eating the restaurant had a nice atmosphere and tables were well presented,considering the number in our party the meal was ready at 7pm as ordered and served by a well presented staff dressed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abi D, Manager at Wyke Down Country Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. We try to ease customer service by asking customers in larger parties to order their food in advance ( we have menus on our website). We hope this means you can enjoy your time together rather than worrying about ordering and waiting for the food to be cooked. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

We've just eaten here for the second time in almost two weeks and both times it has been great. First time we arrived just after 17:00 on a Saturday and recently about 18:30 on a Thursday, both times I was surprised at how busy it was so early on. This however didn't stop the staff from being very welcoming and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abi D, Manager at Wyke Down Country Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank-you for coming to visit us so frequently and we're pleased that you enjoyed both visits. We are open from 5pm on Fridays and Saturdays now but still from 6pm on weekdays. Our Steam puddings are made with suet-crust pastry and are a firm favourite with our customers. As our menu has changed slightly recently to adapt to our wonderful... More 

2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The family visited this restaurant for a traditional Family Sunday lunch, the party included four Children aged between 2 and 7 years old. We were all made very welcome and the guy who took our order was very friendly and interacted with the three eldest of the Children. The service was rapid but without us feeling hurried or pressured. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abi D, Manager at Wyke Down Country Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review

Glad to see you had a good Sunday roast with your family. As a Freehold family run pub we hope to provide a relaxed homely experience. Our Sunday lunches are always very busy so it is best to book especially if you have children. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Arrived at 6.35 pm. Very busy bar and restaurant, welcomed with a smile and polite" how can we help"? We were after a table for 2, told there was a table of 10 & 7 to order if we didn't mind a wait. Hold on chef says if you order now no wait! OK 2 burgers then please with Stilton.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abi D, Manager at Wyke Down Country Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank-you for coming to visit us and placing a review. Our burgers are home-made and produced with our own beef, we have a range of toppings too. We can become very busy so booking is advisable although we always do our best to feed everyone who arrives on our doorstep and advise waiting times . We have won cask-marque awards... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We chose to book a table here after seeing that the reviews were ok. The place was clean and tidy, however, we weren't impressed from the start. We got to the bar only to wait 10 minutes for a lady to serve us. She then pointed out our table and carried on with her work. We were stuck in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abi D, Manager at Wyke Down Country Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank-you for placing your review. We apologise if things weren't quite right this time. We try very hard to always provide a friendly service and good quality but reasonably priced food. Obviously we're human and unfortunately got it wrong which is a shame as we pride ourselves on our customers enjoying themselves and being able to take time to have... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

We stay on the campsite regularly and thoroughly enjoy both the site and the bar/restaurant. Last weekend it was my partners birthday so I booked a table for Saturday night. When I booked I asked if a candle could be put on his desert to make it a bit special if he chose to order. "Certainly" I was told, "we'll... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abi D, Manager at Wyke Down Country Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review

Oh no, I am so sorry you didn't get your candle and your puddings but hope you enjoyed the cheesy chips! If i'm around next time you're in we shall do a belated Happy Birthday for you. We were very busy that evening but that really is no excuse. Thank-you for placing the review and we look forward to seeing... More 

Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

have been using Wyke Down for many years and have never had a bad meal. The owner took over from his Father some years ago and has continued the very high standard. You can eat in the restaurant or in the bar. The owner breeds his own beef and will sell it to you to take home. The regular menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abi D, Manager at Wyke Down Country Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank-you for placing your lovely review. We're glad you had a lovely birthday meal. We cater for larger parties and even have a room which you can have to yourselves for groups up to 35. Our boss, Peter, has been here a while, although he's usually in his wellies these days! Our Chefs cook the ham themselves and roast it... More 

UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stayed at the Wyke Down campsite and booked dinner at the pub for the Friday night. We were a bit late arriving, but the fabulous Nicola (make sure you get your cheesecake!) and the other staff made sure we got our dinners quickly, despite being very busy, and were all very entertaining - laughing and joking with us all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abi D, Manager at Wyke Down Country Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to place a review. Nicola is obviously hoping for a pay rise soon!! We try to create a happy informal atmosphere but still give good service and lovely home-cooked food. The cheesecake changes regularly, we do offer takeaway dishes so if you're full you can take a dessert home to sit in front of the... More 

Travelers who viewed Wyke Down Country Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 
Andover, Hampshire
Andover, Hampshire
 

Been to Wyke Down Country Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyke Down Country Pub & Restaurant

Address: Walworth Road, Andover SP11 6LX, England
Phone Number: 01264 352048
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Andover
Open Hours:
Sunday 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Monday 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tuesday 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Wednesday 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Thursday 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Cuisine: British, Pub, Family Fare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wyke Down Country Pub & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?