We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Golden Pot

Certificate of Excellence
English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Odiham Road | Shaldon, Alton, England
01420 80655
Website
Add hours for The Golden Pot and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Good for:
Breakfast/Brunch
Reservations
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 97 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 60
    Excellent
  • 19
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Valentine dinner

Good atmosphere, cheerful staff, but a little rustic for a valentine meal, food good, tasty, but more attention needed to detail.

3 of 5 starsReviewed February 15, 2015
Richard A
,
Upton grey
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Upton grey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Good atmosphere, cheerful staff, but a little rustic for a valentine meal, food good, tasty, but more attention needed to detail.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015 via mobile

Visited as an extended family - 10 altogether. The food was very good, although some items on the menu were 'not available' on certain days, though the menu didn't state that. This was a problem only for the children who wanted the pizza. Not great! When small children have their mind set on something can be difficult to change! However,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015 via mobile

Obviously difficult to marry what is obviously a locals pub with a serious restaurant. But felt uncomfortable hearing negative gossip about absent patrons, and surrounding pubs. Waited long times for attention for service, food was average and the portions were too too big as were the prices for pub food. I had been recommended here but was left feeling a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nik C, Owner at The Golden Pot, responded to this review

We are sorry that you a feel that our lovely pub and restaurant was "a bit gossipy". But to be honest, most people go out to socialise, chat, and gossip. We as owners really do not have that much control over what all our wonderful customers choose to discuss. The Golden Pot would indeed be a soulless place if people... More 

Hook, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

The Golden Pot seems to have undergone several changes in management in recent years but, judging by our recent experience, the current ones have got it right. There was a busy atmosphere at Saturday lunchtime but we had a choice of tables in the restaurant and a not unreasonable wait for our food. We tried the specials menu and enjoyed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015 via mobile

After recently moving to the area my husband and i have spent some time trying to find a good pub that serve good quality food and drinks. Finally our search is over and we have found this little gem!! On arrival we were greated by the lovely staff behind the bar, we asked for a table for 2, but asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

I'm afraid that I simply cannot recommend this pub. I stopped in for a pint and it was the worst I have ever drunk in Alton. My friends beer was flat and lifeless and my Guinness had mysterious bubbles on the glass that the staff couldn't explain. If you are after a swift pint on the way home from work,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Nik C, Owner at The Golden Pot, responded to this review

We can only deduce that this is another unwarranted and unfounded review. What can i say? I personally clean all the lines for beer and ale religiously each week and we take pride in the quality of the product we serve. There is NO complacency at this pub. We have many regular drinkers who visit us on a daily basis,... More 

England
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Myself and my family love going to this pub, the staff are very welcoming and the food is amazing. We have eaten a large range of foods on the menu and we have loved them all (So much!) We travel quite far to eat here, such a great place to eat! Can't wait to return :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

This place is amazing. I heard about it from a friend that said the food was great and the atmosphere friendly from both the staff and locals. So I took the family on the off chance of getting a table for the 5 of us, and luckily after a short but pleasant wait at the bar we were seated by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

We had eaten here a couple of times before our disastrous evening and found the food to be very good, and the service ok, so decided to book it for a birthday celebration. What a disappointment. I can only assume that the chef was drunk and the apparent lady-in-charge (let's call her the waitress) too busy chatting to friends in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Nik C, Owner at The Golden Pot, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to give us your input. When somebody reviews us in a less than positive manner, we always do our best to respond in order for us to show our concern. However, i have to say, that after reading your review i have struggled to know exactly what to say. It seems there was... More 

Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014 via mobile

After a non stop weekend, we went for supper at the Pot. We were quite close to the closing time for food. We were made really welcome and offered anything from all the menus. Some had steak. I had the lamb chops. The food was great. There was loads of it! Fiona and Nick are great hosts!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Golden Pot also viewed

 

Been to The Golden Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Odiham Road | Shaldon, Alton, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Alton
  • Phone Number: 01420 80655

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Golden Pot staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?