We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Great Western Arms

$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Station Road, Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh OX17 3BP, England
01386 700362
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Great Western Arms and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 230 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 103
    Excellent
  • 83
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Huge Choice

Nice atmosphere. Spoiled a little by Christmas party groups cramping the dining space on the night we visited.

4 of 5 starsReviewed December 12, 2015
David R
,
ayrshire, Scotland
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having visited Blockley for the first time today and been stunned by its natural beauty, quaintness and history, we decided to stay within the village for Sunday Roast and came across The Great Western Arms. We entered the pretty looking pub and found an atmosphere to die for, well it was dead with only one elderly couple sat at a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Lzygo
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Mediocre food choice but chef had a broken ankle. Lovely people and comfortable. Not open for lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Tom A
Frimley Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

We originally planned to go here new years eve, but it was closed at 6 when we arrived, admittedly that was early but we were not sure if they were doing food so we wanted to get in early. So instead we got a takeaway from a lovely Indian restaurant in Moreton. We booked a table for 7.30 on Saturday,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frances647
freya k, Owner at The Great Western Arms, responded to this review

More 

Atascadero, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

We stayed for a week in Blockley and ended up eating at the pub quite a few nights. On the first night, I had the cottage pie with cheddar mash and mixed vegetables. The vegetables were cooked well and the cottage pie was excellent. The mash was creamy and very cheesy, cooked perfectly with just the slightest crispiness to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Victoria K
freya k, Owner at The Great Western Arms, responded to this review

Dear Victoria, thank you for your super review, and I am delighted you enjoyed your food here at the Great Western Arms. and thank you for taking the time and effort to write the review. We wish you and your family a very happy and healthy New Year. Best wishes Freya and David Shakespeare De More 

Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

Rupert from the Snugborough Mill recommended dining at the Great Western Arms. We were not disappointed. Freya, a talented Chef served us delicious, mouth-watering meals. When the Chef says she has prepared something special, believe her and order it! The Pub was cozy and warm with good red wine. The pub has a wood-burning fireplace. David, a polite, quiet chap... More 

Helpful?
Thank Johnnie C
freya k, Owner at The Great Western Arms, responded to this review

Wow,, what a lovely review, from a delightful couple. we really enjoyed your company and are so pleased you enjoyed us too. David and I wish you and your family a very happy Christmas, Best wishes Freya Shakespeare More 

ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

Nice atmosphere. Spoiled a little by Christmas party groups cramping the dining space on the night we visited.

Helpful?
Thank David R
freya k, Owner at The Great Western Arms, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you so much for taking the time to send us a good review, I am just sorry your visit was spoiled by one of our Christmas parties. I am afraid its that time of the year, but once again please accept by apologies. And I hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas. Best wishes Freya... More 

Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

We have been to thus pub on about four occasions in the last two years. On each occasion the landlord just ignores you , no welcome ,no eye contact , absolutely nothing. Very poor as the food is good and the other staff are very welcoming . The landlord is a disgrace , he has zero skills in making you... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank nodder2015
freya k, Owner at The Great Western Arms, responded to this review

More 

Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

We turned up early evening on spec to see if we could have a meal for a family of four plus take our well behaved dog and we were all made very welcome. The food was good, hot and tasty. We enjoyed the atmosphere in the pub and it was made all the better as we were only staying literally... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy s S
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015 via mobile

Booked in for lunch at the pub, food had been pre-ordered so just a case of sitting down and waiting for it to be brought out. When it was served it turned out to be completely the wrong order, and when the landlord was told this he said that's what we've cooked so basically we had to have that or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris T
freya k, Owner at The Great Western Arms, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Please accept my apologies if your visit was not up to standard, we pride our selves on our food and our service. I don't understand why you received the incorrect food! but often we do get customers that pre-order, or someone has ordered for them that say I did not ask for that! We do prefer emailed food... More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015 via mobile

Fantastic. Food. Excellent service... huge portions. Went with family last night after being away on holiday... highly recomend

Helpful?
Thank chippy2015
freya k, Owner at The Great Western Arms, responded to this review

Dear Chippy You made my day with your lovely review, I am so pleased you and your family enjoyed your visit to The Great Western Arms. I hope we see you again soon, Best wishes Freya Shakespeare More 

Travelers who viewed The Great Western Arms also viewed

 
Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Great Western Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Station Road, Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh OX17 3BP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Moreton-in-Marsh  >  Blockley
  • Phone Number: 01386 700362

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 23
  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Great Western Arms and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
South Shields, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Great Western Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?