We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

FujiYama

126 Hamlet Court Road, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea, England
01702 331 666
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
25 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

Dine here at least once a week. Great staff superb food and consistently brilliant. Easy on par with the London sushi restaurants. Go here, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 NEW via mobile

I went here the other night for my brothers birthday and it was so so quiet to say the least - granted it's a Sunday night and no where was exactly busy... Anyways the food - tepenyaki experience - was lovely, the chef was very entertaining and quite the artist I must add, the food was perfect and if you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I have eaten here on several occasions, and the food is consistently very good. There are two main eating options: sitting at the teppanyaki grill, or in the main restaurant. The former is fun: the chef puts on a bit of a show as he cooks in front of you. The quality of the ingredients is exceptional. In the main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
london
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We have been here many times over the years. This is a family run business and the staff are always so polite and nice. The food is lovely, we often dine at nobu/sushi samba etc and the food here is nearly on par. There is a wide selection of sushi, sashimi, vegetarian, and hot dishes. The only thing I would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Me and my friends are big fan of jap foods thought we'll give it a try but it turn out our dishes nearly an hour late what's really annoyed me is the table next to us came in half an hour later then us got their foods before us we kept asking the manager but he didn't even bother to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

And that is a bold statement for me! Amazing sushi, great service. I'm new to the area so I'm really pleased I found this place :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This restaurant is simple yet fairly well presented for Westcliff, a deprived and rundown-looking area. The sushi is good yet some staff are grumpy. Young female waiters were friendly but an older-looking woman who kept counting money behind the till, perhaps the manager or owner, was rather rude to them and customers. Nobody likes to see that.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Oh where do I start. I had Chicken Teriyaki . My chicken had more skin than meat. The meat was cold ( most likely pre-cooked and chopped) and the sauce was tasteless, what I can only describe as soy sauce with sesame seeds. The best thing was when my vegetarian friend got her veg tempura with wee fishtails sticking out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FJY126, General Manager at FujiYama, responded to this review

Dear Alice, Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your experience at FujiYama. We are sorry to hear that the Chicken Teriyaki was not to your liking. We don't precook our meat and I am quite surprised that an issue was not raised on the night if the chicken was not hot. We keep the skin on... More

Rochford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We went with a group of us on a week night for the Teppanyaki. Not everyone wanted this option but we were told if we wanted to sit together we would have to all have this, so i agree on the other reveiews about them being inflexable. The chef was very amusing and made us laugh throughout the evening, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Too expensive!!!!! Not flexible!!!! Poor experience all round!!!! Each item was cooked in the same sauce so everything tasted the same almost unless the chef put a small amount of brandy on the hot plate. Low level of interaction with the customers and this was shown when people were expected to catch just one small piece of egg. Yawn. That's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed FujiYama also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Brentwood, Essex
 

Been to FujiYama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FujiYama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing