We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

FujiYama

126 Hamlet Court Road, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea, England
01702 331 666
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
24 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    18
    11
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This restaurant is simple yet fairly well presented for Westcliff, a deprived and rundown-looking area. The sushi is good yet some staff are grumpy. Young female waiters were friendly but an older-looking woman who kept counting money behind the till, perhaps the manager or owner, was rather rude to them and customers. Nobody likes to see that.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Oh where do I start. I had Chicken Teriyaki . My chicken had more skin than meat. The meat was cold ( most likely pre-cooked and chopped) and the sauce was tasteless, what I can only describe as soy sauce with sesame seeds. The best thing was when my vegetarian friend got her veg tempura with wee fishtails sticking out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FJY126, General Manager at FujiYama, responded to this review

Dear Alice, Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your experience at FujiYama. We are sorry to hear that the Chicken Teriyaki was not to your liking. We don't precook our meat and I am quite surprised that an issue was not raised on the night if the chicken was not hot. We keep the skin on... More

Rochford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We went with a group of us on a week night for the Teppanyaki. Not everyone wanted this option but we were told if we wanted to sit together we would have to all have this, so i agree on the other reveiews about them being inflexable. The chef was very amusing and made us laugh throughout the evening, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Too expensive!!!!! Not flexible!!!! Poor experience all round!!!! Each item was cooked in the same sauce so everything tasted the same almost unless the chef put a small amount of brandy on the hot plate. Low level of interaction with the customers and this was shown when people were expected to catch just one small piece of egg. Yawn. That's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Had heard the tepanyaki show cooking is fun but its really expensive for what you get (only lasted an hour or so) and they wouldn't be a bit flexible with it so I could just have what I wanted.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FJY126, General Manager at FujiYama, responded to this review

Hello, Firstly thank you for taking your time to write a review of your experience. I was working on the evening of your visit and from what I recall you ordered the Meat set meal which came with mains of Chicken and Fillet Steak of which you wanted to swap Chicken for another portion of Fillet Steak. Unfortunately, because the... More

Northwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We went here as a party for the Teppanyaki experience. The food was lovely, huge portions, the cooking experience was fun and the waitresses very attentive. We did have to move towards the end as there is another sitting which was ok, but it was the way we felt we were yesterdays news. We asked about a few items on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My family and I visited this restaurant in October 2013. We were asked if we had ever had Teppanyaki food before and we said "yes, we have."and he asked where we had it?My father said Benihana.The man then replied by saying "We cook much better food than the chefs there." We all looked at the man suspiciously to say are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We walked into the place and the owner's initial question to me was if I had ever experienced Teppanyaki before. I said "Yes" and he asked where? I said Tsatsuso (the closed one in Broadgate circle) and Benihana. He said "Our food is much better than Benihana". I waited with such optimistic enthusiasm for what might lie ahead. The chef... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FJY126, General Manager at FujiYama, responded to this review

Dear ChrisGower1975, Firstly, we'd like to thank you for taking your time to write this review as we always like to hear our customer's comments. We have checked our records and on the night you ordered 2 x TeppanYaki Meat Sets (Chicken & Fillet Steak) at £29.90 each, 1 x TeppanYaki Deluxe Set (Lobster, Scallops, Giant Prawn, Chicken, Steak, Seabass)... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Only tried the Tepanyaki and not the menu. It was pretty good, starters and soup not great but the tepanyaki was first class. If they bother to answer there emails any time soon ill be having our works christmas party there too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FJY126, General Manager at FujiYama, responded to this review

Dear Peter D, Thank you for your review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your TeppanYaki experience! Unfortunately, it has been brought to our attention by a few customers and we do seem to be having some issues with our email at the moment. We are currently working with our technical team to try and solve this. Meanwhile,... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited Fujiyama as a party of 8 for a birthday. At the start they clarified how we wanted the bill, if we wanted to split it or have separate bar tabs running which I think was a good idea as sometimes it can get confusing if left until the end to decide. We sat up at the teppenyaki bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FJY126, General Manager at FujiYama, responded to this review

Dear Kate123elizabeth, Firstly, we’d like to thank you for choosing FujiYama for your birthday party. We cater for many larger groups and so we like to make the evening as stress-free as possible for everyone. If we know in advance that you are visiting for a particular occasion, we try to make a special effort. We are glad you found... More

Travelers who viewed FujiYama also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to FujiYama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FujiYama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing