We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bacchus

43 Alexandra Street, Southend-on-Sea ss1, England
01702 348088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #170 of 454 restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
Cuisines: European
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    90
    38
    23
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 NEW

This place is great. It is so quirky and fun, there is so much to look at, you could never get bored! Great mis-match tea pots and cake stands, with a good selection of treats means that you can't really go wrong. The cakes were tasty, although there is one that stands out by far. The black forest cupcake! It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 NEW

We eat out a lot and love a nice fine dining restaurant. This place was recommended to us. It was amazing. Beautiful setting and atmosphere. The food was unique, unusual. It was well presented and taste amazing. Staff were good. Will definitely be returning very soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I have been to this restaurant a number of times and have always been absolutely satisfied with the service, food and atmosphere. The staff are always very accommodating, happy to explain any menu items that you aren't familiar with and not at all condescending. I have been here for birthday parties, hen meals or just a treat, and the staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mariee770, Owner at Bacchus, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review we hope to see you soon. More

Southend
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Must admit, I misjudged this place. At first I thought it was a tat shop but decided to pop I'm for a quick bite. I have to say, I was very impressed with everything, food, service decor, price. I even booked afternoon tea for my missus and a few of her friends. They said it was wonderful and enjoyed it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mariee770, Owner at Bacchus, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review we hope to see you soon More

Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Come to Bacchus & enjoy a unique experience, great service great food and amazing surroundings. Delicious homemade cakes, spotless cleanliness, lovely, unusual decor, friendly, polite & attentive, but discreet staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mariee770, Owner at Bacchus, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review we hope to see you soon More

Hadleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Too often all there is on offer in Essex in chain food or a poor attempt to emulate London. Bacchus gets the balance right between cool, price and quality. I noticed this place two years ago and had a coffee. My partner and I, then ate in there twice (covertly), as we were looking for a venue for our wedding... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mariee770, Owner at Bacchus, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review we hope to see you again soon. More

Wickford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

very poor service and slower then a life time to get the food. I don't know if they cant cope when they are busy but rude servers are never a good way to help with customers asking when there food will be ready. strange atmosphere, must try harder! oh... and the price... yes when the food got to us is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mariee770, Owner at Bacchus, responded to this review

Dear Bob Thank you for your tips, unfortunately if you prefer Mc Donald's I recommend you go there as unfortunately for the quality of produce we buy in we can afford to do a roast for £6.00. Our 3 course Sunday roast for £20.00 is one of the cheapest prices in the area and we try to go the extra... More

Billericay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We have been to this restaurant many times over the years and it continues to be a favourite. When it was The Glass House we used the private dining room to host my husbands birthday with Sunday lunch for 24 friends - a memorable and wonderful afternoon . I have returned 3 times in the last few weeks - for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mariee770, Owner at Bacchus, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovley review More

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The menu looks interesting, but this place is very pretentious and the dishes lack balance, for example 1 massive insipid horseradish quinelle drowned a tiny bit of beef. The portion sizes vary hugely, my pork belly was literally half the size of a neighbour's. The fillet steak wasn't great quality. The vegetables were cooked to within an inches of their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mariee770, Manager at Bacchus, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and your honesty but as we don't have a fillet steak on the menu and Pork belly on our menu, I was just wondering when you came as it must of been an number of years ago as we took fillet steak of our menu due to high prices and customers not wanting to spendd... More

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Having been round to 6 venues during our stay of a long weekend we certainly saved the best place till last for the red wine, even the casino couldnt match the wine most of it was undrinkable,but this red wine was lovely it was the Merlot it was so nice we had two! just over £7 pound for a medium... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mariee770, Owner at Bacchus, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovley review More

Travelers who viewed Bacchus also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacchus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing