We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
33 Alexandra Street, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1BW, England
01702 344600
Website
Improve this listing
Today
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Fri - Sat 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 188 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 75
    Excellent
  • 63
    Very good
  • 25
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 18
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
One of the better buffets I have eaten from

I went for a buffet lunch with a couple of friends, one of whom is from Malaysia and so should know a bit about that cuisine. He raved about the noodle dishes which he said were wholly authentic and was especially pleased as these are cooked to order at a Tepanyaki grill rather than sitting with... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 24, 2015
Doug W
,
Essex, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Dining on a budget
  • Large groups
  • Doing business
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015 NEW

Came here as a family of 5 and won’t be coming back. First impression! You walk in and are greeted by a crime wall of pictures of everyone who has walked out and not payed (These are the clever people) in any case, it isn’t very inviting!!! What an awful waste of money for the quality of food you receive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uk
Level Contributor
141 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015 NEW

We visited as a family of 4 and we have no complaints about the food. We didn't like the service as everyone who either took our drink order or removed our plates did it 'because they had to' there was no pleasant chat or any dialog between us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

I went for a buffet lunch with a couple of friends, one of whom is from Malaysia and so should know a bit about that cuisine. He raved about the noodle dishes which he said were wholly authentic and was especially pleased as these are cooked to order at a Tepanyaki grill rather than sitting with the other dishes. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015 via mobile

Very good, you should go there and taste for yourself. My favourite restaurant. Even the afters are yummy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

been coming here for a few years now good place to come to eat with family very polite staff and a large variety of dishes to choose from would recommend and will return again soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

I absolutely love it here! The food is always fresh & the choice of dishes is fantastic, not to mention such good value for money. 10/10, well done!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

I came here believing it to be the restaurant I visited some years ago, If it is the same place, it is now very different. It is now a buffet and the decor is industrial as opposed to the linen napkins and Chinese surroundings of the past. Seemingly the only place open for food in this part of Southend (the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

We went on a weekday evening. It was our first time here and we were surprised by the amount of choices. Unfortunately, I did not like it at all, but my boyfriend and my parents enjoyed it very much. The food was always fresh and hot. It was a shame for me, because I did not eat a lot. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to East. We are sorry you have not enjoyed dining with us because you don't like spicy food. We believe there is something for everyone here, not everything is spicy, and even at the Tepanyaki you can have it cooked plainly or very spicy. Cheers More 

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

East offers a good buffet. You can find a little bit of everything Malaysian, Indian and Chinese food. The restaurant is clean, food is good and selection is big enough. The prices varied lunch is cheaper than dinner, Friday and Saturday are more expensive. You pay a flat rate for the buffet and you can eat as much as you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of your visit to East. We are pleased that you have enjoyed dining with us. Cheers More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

I have been here numerous amount of times and everytime the food is delicious. There is such a variety to choose from and the fact you can eat as much as you want is even better ! It is well worth the money and very affordable ! Definitely one of the best places to eat in Southend !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you very much for your complimentary review of your visit to East. We are pleased that you enjoy dining with us and appreciate your continuing support. We look forward to looking after you well again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed East also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 33 Alexandra Street, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1BW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: 01702 344600

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Chinese, Thai, Malaysian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Doing business, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Thursday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of East and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from East staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?