We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

East

33 Alexandra Street, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1BW, England
01702 344600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 458 Restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    48
    44
    15
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

Every dish is fresh, well made and plentiful. And you get to pick from the lot. recommend forcing dessert down as well, over a pot of their chinese tea. Incredibly clean and well run, great service, and not expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for writing a review of your visit to East. We are pleased that you have found dining with us enjoyable. We try very hard to provide a good service with good food and it's great to be appreciated for our efforts. Enjoy the rest of your stay and have a safe journey back to Oz. More

Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We go here a lot, service is always incredible, the staff are always happy and helpful and quickly refill containers. We always find the food to be available and well-cooked, with a good selection. There're always a lot of customers and can get a little noisy but is perfect for families especially with fussy eaters as there is something for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you very much for your positive and supportive review. It really helps boost staff morale when we get words of encouragement-when deserved of course. We do appreciate all comments, positive and negative as this helps us to provide a good and efficient service. Cheers More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had the lunchtime buffet on Sunday at £8.95 a head food was good with a varied selection of dishes and plenty of choices of desserts , on the downside staff kept trying to take away plates before we were finished but overall very good and we will return

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi there, many thanks for taking the time to write about your visit to East. We are pleased that on the whole you have enjoyed dining with us. I'm sorry that your plates are sometimes taken away too quickly. As previously explained we have had customers put plates on another(vacant) table or call us when we haven't been quick enough... More

Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Our favourite Chinese restaurant! However... I really hate banana cake! By time I get to dessert any chocolate cake will have disappeared and ALWAYS replenished with banana cake :( Friendly staff, always clean and very reasonable!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your supportive words. I'm really sorry about the banana cake situation, this only happens if we do run out of chocolate cakes. However some do demand for the banana cake when we are not serving them. More

Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

A good selection of food is available and is constantly refreshed. The tepanyaki grill was great as you could have your selection of fresh food cooked to order. The only down side to the restaurant was lack of ambience, but as long as you are not looking for a romantic night out I can recommend going to East.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to East. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed dining with us. Yes, as previously stated, we are more of a big, happy, buzzy, place rather than a small quiet and intimate although during times in the week it could be so. We are more of a foodie... More

london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I have just visited East. no complaints about the food it was as nice as it usually is, My complaint is about the fact that i asked for a J20 Orange Juice & passion fruit which came in a bottle clearly marked 'not for individual sale' considering you charge £2.20 per bottle when you can buy a multi pack of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing to our attention the situation with the J2O. We have traced the stock you mentioned and found this to be a mistake on the part of our supplier. We were incorrectly sent 2 cases of J2Os of one flavour, Orange and Passion fruit. We do not have a fridge full of “Not to be sold Individually”... More

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The variety of English food that they do here isn't quite as vast as Aroma, however the alcohol selection more than makes up for it; I find not all oriental restaurants serve continental lagers, Tiger, Tsingtao and a selection of spirits/liquors. They provide a cheaper option at lunch with nearly as much variety, ££ at lunchtime, £££ at dinner time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of East. Yes we have deliberately not put out a large range of English food so as to be able to provide more Chinese food. It'll be all too easy to throw in some chicken nuggets, beef burgers, onion rings or roast potatoes, etc but that's just not quite Chinese is it. And yes we... More

Canterbury
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Coming home to Southend from uni, me and my dad enjoyed coming to east. The all you can eat buffet is pretty good although you feel judged for having multiple helpings. The service is particularly redundant here seeing as you help yourself although they are friendly enough to serve you drinks, although you do have to call them over to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi there, welcome home and welcome back to East. We are very pleased that you and your Dad enjoy dining with us. I'm really sorry that you feel judged for multiple helpings. I can assure you that that is not our intention/policy, in fact we loved that people enjoys our food and want multiple helpings. We often would encourage people... More

Budapest
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

It's a big bright airy restaurant that's seats large numbers so has no issue with large parties. Service is efficient more than anything else. Pleasant enough but no great touches. Food is mass cooked and ok. Doesn't compare to a " real" Chinese experience - it is the McDonalds to a Steak House. Reasonable value although price does go up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write something about your visit to East. Yes, agreed, we are more of a happy, buzzy eating establishment rather than an intimate, romantic dining, although during some weekday evenings when there are less people in this could be achieved. Not sure what you mean by "real" Chinese experience, I'd like to think... More

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Very nice food great morale very friendly staff great choice of food to chose from and great Buffett and very good price too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hey Joe, many thanks for the short, precise and supportive comment. We appreciate all words of encouragement we get. It's a great help to try and achieve our very best. Cheers More

Travelers who viewed East also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing