We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
33 Alexandra Street, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1BW, England
01702 344600
Website
Today
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Fri - Sat 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 173 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 68
    Excellent
  • 58
    Very good
  • 23
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 17
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Decent - can't complain!

Nice food, nice place, away from the bustle of the seafront. Reasonably priced. Some of the buffet items were a bit bland, but nothing was horrible. The only problem with it is it's all you can eat, and I can eat a lot!

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 27, 2015
Sam S
Good for:
  • Large groups
  • Families with children
  • Doing business
  • Dining on a budget
Add Photo

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 NEW via mobile

Went for dinner with partner & 2 children the food on offer was awful, stir fry full of fat and meat in it very dry and tasted like it had gone off. The other food was even worse and tasted like it was yesterdays left overs! We complained to the snooty staff member who said arent we happy with it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015 NEW

Nice food, nice place, away from the bustle of the seafront. Reasonably priced. Some of the buffet items were a bit bland, but nothing was horrible. The only problem with it is it's all you can eat, and I can eat a lot!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi Sam, many thanks for your review of East. We are pleased that on the whole you have enjoyed dining with us. Buffet dining does give patrons the options variety or quantity or both, so it's good for most people. I'm glad you are able to enjoy eating lots with us. Cheers More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Great buffet Chinese, you can also have stuff cooked to order. Eaten here several times always consistently good with plenty of fresh dishes coming out

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of East. We appreciate your support. It's really good to get a balance of things which goes a long way to boost staff morale. Cheers More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

wonderful tasty food at a good price and great friendly service from everyone of the staff. Canteen atmosphere. English tunes. highly recommend visiting here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hey SusieQ, I like the way you walk, I like the way you talk........... Thank you for your simple but concise review of East. We are pleased that you have enjoyed dining with us. We look forwward to serving well again soon. Cheers More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

We really enjoyed our first couple of visits to East as the food is lovely, and this time was no different! The let down came with the staff who were offish, bordering on rude! We asked the same waitress 3 times for a bottle of mineral water before a waiter brought it to the table. In short, keep up the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi there. Thanks you for taking the time to write about your visit to East. We are pleased that you have continued to enjoy the food at East. I would like to apologise for the unacceptable service that you received on your last visit. We have a member of staff who has recently started which may account for the incident.... More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

I have been coming to East for family meals ever since it opened and could honestly not compare it to any other Asian eatery in the area. I now use this fantastic restaurant as a regular meeting place for myself and friends for social get-togethers. I honestly do not understand why East had so many negative reviews recently as it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience of East. We appreciate your continuing support and kind words. It makes a lot of difference to us to receive words of encouragement and helps us to endeavor to strive for the best we can offer as an establishment. We look forward to serving you, your friends... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Surprised by the last few bad reviews i feel compelled to write about our last 2 visits, last visit Thursday 14th May and before that early April both Lunchtimes, food has been good, the steamed dumplings are packed with filling, the aubergines are very very moorish in that 'special' coating, pancake is shredded pork, rice and noodles are good, prawn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to write a very detailed review of East again. The picture you paint is exactly how most of our customers see East. We do welcome criticism if they are constructive. We are happy to review what we do and listen to suggestions and where possible act on them. One recent example is... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

IT IS ABUNDANTLY CLEAR THAT NO ONE WITH ANY COOKING EXPERTESE CHECKS WHAT IS BEING SERVED HERE. Lunchtime, miserable staff, dirty restaurant, and the worse Chinese food anyone could ever want to eat. Everything was over cooked and hard. Everything was tasteless. Everything was slop. Many dishes were greasy fried battered to death grease bombs. The ribs were hard, tough,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your visit to East. We are sorry that you have not enjoyed dining with us. We do not recognise your description of East. If we are indeed the worse restaurant in Essex we would not survive all this time and would have closed by now. It is also a bit arrogant and insulting to all... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

Sadly, I will not be coming back. We used to eat here a lot. This was our second visit this year, and it has changed for the worse in a matter of months. First impressions were not much has changed. The staff greeted us but I am not sure they could understand English. We ordered our drinks and headed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for your review of your latest visit to East. We are sorry you have not enjoyed dining with us this time. As I said to your friend who provided the previous review, we have a couple of new staff which does explain a few things. They are still learning their routine. This could be the reason... More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015 via mobile

I have loved coming here for years now. So today me, my mum and sister were excited as it is one of our favourite places to eat. Although we left disappointed today. None of the staff could crack a smile, they all looked utterly miserable. waitress barely said 3 words to us. As we went to get our food, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for your review of East. I'm sorry that you have not enjoyed dining with us this time. We do have a couple of new staff and because they are new they are not confident both mentally and verbally, which can make them a bit tense. They are gradually improving and with time will be more confident... More 

Travelers who viewed East also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East

Address: 33 Alexandra Street, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1BW, England
Phone Number: 01702 344600
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm  5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tuesday 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Wednesday 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Thursday 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Cuisine: Chinese, Thai, Malaysian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 33 Alexandra Street, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1BW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: 01702 344600

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Chinese, Thai, Malaysian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Thursday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of East and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from East staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?