We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
33 Alexandra Street, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1BW, England
01702 344600
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Fri - Sat 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 167 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 66
    Excellent
  • 56
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Night out

The the food was very nice but the service was very poor the price was fair the staff don't speak very much English

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 30, 2015
marcshepherd
Good for:
  • Large groups
  • Dining on a budget
  • Doing business
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015 NEW

Surprised by the last few bad reviews i feel compelled to write about our last 2 visits, last visit Thursday 14th May and before that early April both Lunchtimes, food has been good, the steamed dumplings are packed with filling, the aubergines are very very moorish in that 'special' coating, pancake is shredded pork, rice and noodles are good, prawn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

IT IS ABUNDANTLY CLEAR THAT NO ONE WITH ANY COOKING EXPERTESE CHECKS WHAT IS BEING SERVED HERE. Lunchtime, miserable staff, dirty restaurant, and the worse Chinese food anyone could ever want to eat. Everything was over cooked and hard. Everything was tasteless. Everything was slop. Many dishes were greasy fried battered to death grease bombs. The ribs were hard, tough,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your visit to East. We are sorry that you have not enjoyed dining with us. We do not recognise your description of East. If we are indeed the worse restaurant in Essex we would not survive all this time and would have closed by now. It is also a bit arrogant and insulting to all... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

Sadly, I will not be coming back. We used to eat here a lot. This was our second visit this year, and it has changed for the worse in a matter of months. First impressions were not much has changed. The staff greeted us but I am not sure they could understand English. We ordered our drinks and headed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for your review of your latest visit to East. We are sorry you have not enjoyed dining with us this time. As I said to your friend who provided the previous review, we have a couple of new staff which does explain a few things. They are still learning their routine. This could be the reason... More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015 via mobile

I have loved coming here for years now. So today me, my mum and sister were excited as it is one of our favourite places to eat. Although we left disappointed today. None of the staff could crack a smile, they all looked utterly miserable. waitress barely said 3 words to us. As we went to get our food, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for your review of East. I'm sorry that you have not enjoyed dining with us this time. We do have a couple of new staff and because they are new they are not confident both mentally and verbally, which can make them a bit tense. They are gradually improving and with time will be more confident... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015 via mobile

This place has gone bad in every sense. The food that is served at this restaurant is dangerous and can cuse serious health hazards. They are displaying raw meats at the stir fry section which is not being kept at the correct temperatures. I had some of the meats from this section and had to go to hospital for food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you had food poisoning and had to go to hospital. I can assure you that all our food, cooked or un-cooked are kept at appropriate temperatures. The refrigerated section where the raw meat are laid out has a temperature display that tells us the temperature and this set at the required refrigeration. Food poisoning can be caused... More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Wife and I went for buffet lunch Wednesday 1.30pm. All you can eat £7.50. The restaurant was busy and clean. Staff were polite and efficient at clearing the table. We tried the various selection of food available, there was a good variety on offer. The majority of dishes were fairly tasteless, bland, apart from the beef which was overpowered with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank for writing a review of your visit to East. We are very sorry that you and your wife have not enjoyed dining with. Chinese buffet isn't for everyone. Some people prefer to pay more to eat in non-buffet restaurant and that's OK. Fortunately for us we do have a lot of people who do enjoy dining with us and... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Just been to East yet again for a £7.50 eat all you can Lunch! Absolutely brilliant value - even the Tapanyaki Man is available at lunchtime! Food continually refreshed even when it's getting late and you are not rushed. I have been in the evenings too and although more expensive still great value for the many dishes available. Staff very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to East. we are pleased that you have enjoyed dining, and found us good value. We always try our best to provide the best service with good food and good selection.. More 

Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

My partner and I were regulars here. We love a good buffet. The staff are friendly, range of food is good and its not too pricey. I especially like the desserts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to East, and for your continuing support. We are pleased that you have enjoyed dining with us and have found us good value. We hope to be able to continue to serve you well again soon. Cneers More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

The the food was very nice but the service was very poor the price was fair the staff don't speak very much English

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your review of East. We are pleased that you enjoyed our food. I'm sorry that you thought our service was poor. We have a couple of new staff who are still trying to get to grips with "local" English. This will improve in time. Generally we do receive a lot of praise for our staff.... More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Visited after hearing good things about this restaurant. Whenever i think of 'All you can eat Buffets' i imagine mountains of food which is virtually tasteless and been sitting around for hours.....not here though!! Food was full of amazing taste and pipping hot. The quality of the food was as good as any Chinese restaurant i have been to. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your visit to East. We are pleased that you have enjoyed dining with and thank you for your positive comments. Your thinking behind the "all you can eat buffet" that usually turn out not so good is a common one. We at East are aware of that and do... More 

Travelers who viewed East also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 33 Alexandra Street, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1BW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: 01702 344600

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Chinese, Thai, Malaysian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Thursday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of East and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from East staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?