We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
33 Alexandra Street, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1BW, England
01702 344600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #149 of 479 Restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Fri - Sat 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    50
    20
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015 NEW

I cant have lemons and i am allergic to them. I asked for a coke with no lemon and no ice, they came back over with my drink and it had LEMONS and ICE, i asked them for another coke and they took it away and brought back a new coke AT LEAST THAT'S WHAT THEY WANTED ME TO THINK.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your visit to East. I am sorry about the situation regarding your coke. This is a common practice not just at East but I have seen it at other establishment, and generally customers do not have a problem with just removing the lemon and ice. Not to say that this OK in your situation,... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Have the time of your life in Chinese food heaven! Have desserts, and let your children take a mint at the end! Lots of space, nice decorations. Birthday Parties are allowed for your kids and family as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you for your supportive comments about East. It's nice to get a balance of redress and helps give us all a little "lift". Many thanks More 

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

I have been to East many times both in a group and as a family outing and I do not recognise some of the comments made on this site. I have always found the staff to be helpful and friendly. The choice of food is good and when things run low they are frequently to be seen replenishing the bowls.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visits to East. We appreciate your support. We do all we can to try to ensure everyone enjoy dining with us, after all it is in our interest to do the best we can. It does not make sense to do otherwise. But we accept we cannot please everyone, and... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

I have been coming to East for many years. The kids love it they eat so much i think they are about to burst but they still have space for deserts and ice cream. Very good value as they have a good selection of seafood and specialised Chinese dishes. Always left there happy with service and food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you your supportive comment and taking the time to say so. We are pleased that you and your family have enjoyed dining with us. We look forward to looking after you all well again soon. Cheers. More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We went to East on New Year's Eve - firstly, full marks to them for charging the same price as they do on every other night, and not bumping it up for NYE. Food was good, as usual but since I last went there I've developed an intolerance to MSG. (Why do they use it? - the best Chinese meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi thanks for taking the time write about your visit to East. I'm really sorry that you had a long wait for the tepanyaki. Fortunately this doesn't happen too often. It's unfortunate that because of your intolerance to MSG that you had to stick solely with the tepanyaki. We, like 99% of chinese restaurants/take away uses MSG directly or indirectly.... More 

southend
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Tuesday 30th Dec 2014... I have always come here during the day + the food + staff seemed fine but tonight at around 9.30 we walked in + nobody was in the restrant we asked if they was open + a waiter said yes, we sat near the window + another waiter got a bucket of water + a mop... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for your review of East. We are sorry that you were put off by the staff "mopping" the windows, and thought staff were rude in doing this task. As you noted the restaurant was empty, so staff always takes the opportunity to clean and carry out maintenance tasks. We have very large glass windows which causes... More 

S
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

I have been coming to East for a good few years now and never had a complaint! The staff are always lovely and smiling and make you feel really welcome! Last time we came they were fussing over my little boy it was really nice! The food is exceptional, always tastes nice plenty of it and hot. I don't have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of East following your recent. We are pleased that you have continued to enjoy dining with us and look forward to serving well again soon. Cheers More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

After attending East yesterday evening with my friend, we were not welcomed with a smile rather like a guy who looked like he was doing us a favour by showing us to the table. Myself and my friend have never been to East before but are aware of the style of dining and were firstly disappointed by the lack of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi Joey. Thank you for your review of East. I'm sorry you were unhappy following your visit. We really do not have any problems with anyone reporting us to Environmental Health because if there was something that we were doing wrong we would rather be corrected. Of course we would prefer that they speak to us first. We had nearly... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014 via mobile

This place is a perfect waste of time and money. I have been there on more than one occasion and it is always something. Either they don't have everything on the menu, or out of certain wines, or no cold beer, or regardless of how empty the place is you have to seemingly beg for service/attention. The list goes on!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your visit to East. we are sorry that you have not enjoyed dining with us and found so many things wrong at East. As previously stated it is very difficult to please everyone. Fortunately we are able to please the majority of our customer, otherwise we would still be trading. If the food, service... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

Not been in for a while, so popped in for a buffet lunch, and pleased to report its still great, nice selection of favourites thats topped up when gets low,good flavours and good ingredients, and then theres the fresh cooked infront of you teppenyaki grill (beef, chicken, squid, veg, noodles and egg), good dessert selection, fruits, jelly cubes, cakes and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your latest visit to East. We are pleased that yet again you have enjoyed dining with us. We are proud to be able to maintain the high standard of food and service that the majority of our customers have come to expect, at a reasonable price. Obviously it is impossible to please everyone, and... More 

Travelers who viewed East also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East

Address: 33 Alexandra Street, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1BW, England
Phone Number: 01702 344600
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm  5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tuesday 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Wednesday 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Thursday 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Cuisine: Chinese, Malaysian, Thai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from East staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?