We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

East

33 Alexandra Street, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1BW, England
01702 344600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 462 Restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    46
    15
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

We tried this place in the summer and found it really good value for families with kids. We paid 7.50 pounds per adult and half for our daughter. The food was really tasty, with well over 20 dishes to choose from (Chinese, Indian and Malay) and the waiters were constantly stocking up the food which was hot and fresh and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
southend on sea
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 NEW

this was for a work do and for £12.95 its an absolute bargain. the food was hot fresh and good quality. the tepenyake bar was fantastic. I rate this highly you wouldn't complain going to a different restaurant and getting 3 courses for £12.95 and that's what you get. very very good

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your supportive comments. We always aim to provide good food and service at great value. You're right to point out that there are not many places that serves up decent 3 course meal at £12.95 (currently there's a group discount offer at £11.00-weekday for parties of 10 or more), but more importantly as much food... More

Rochford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Me and my colleagues often go here for a meal together, and although I'm not usually one for a Chinese, I still go along for the chicken in lemon batter and fries. Never been disappointed. Staff constantly refill any of the buffet food running low, promptly and accurately get your drink order (I ask for my cokes without ice). When... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to East. We are please you and your colleagues have found dining with us a satisfactory experience. It does work well if you have only a short time to eat as generally you do not have to wait long for fresh food to be replenished. But if... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

I've tried a few Chinese buffets & this is by far the best! Tasty, fresh...what more can u ask. We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very generous compliment. We appreciate all comments we received and are always boosted by supportive reviews. We look forward to serving you well again very soon. Cheers More

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Every dish is fresh, well made and plentiful. And you get to pick from the lot. recommend forcing dessert down as well, over a pot of their chinese tea. Incredibly clean and well run, great service, and not expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for writing a review of your visit to East. We are pleased that you have found dining with us enjoyable. We try very hard to provide a good service with good food and it's great to be appreciated for our efforts. Enjoy the rest of your stay and have a safe journey back to Oz. More

Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We go here a lot, service is always incredible, the staff are always happy and helpful and quickly refill containers. We always find the food to be available and well-cooked, with a good selection. There're always a lot of customers and can get a little noisy but is perfect for families especially with fussy eaters as there is something for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you very much for your positive and supportive review. It really helps boost staff morale when we get words of encouragement-when deserved of course. We do appreciate all comments, positive and negative as this helps us to provide a good and efficient service. Cheers More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had the lunchtime buffet on Sunday at £8.95 a head food was good with a varied selection of dishes and plenty of choices of desserts , on the downside staff kept trying to take away plates before we were finished but overall very good and we will return

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi there, many thanks for taking the time to write about your visit to East. We are pleased that on the whole you have enjoyed dining with us. I'm sorry that your plates are sometimes taken away too quickly. As previously explained we have had customers put plates on another(vacant) table or call us when we haven't been quick enough... More

Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Our favourite Chinese restaurant! However... I really hate banana cake! By time I get to dessert any chocolate cake will have disappeared and ALWAYS replenished with banana cake :( Friendly staff, always clean and very reasonable!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your supportive words. I'm really sorry about the banana cake situation, this only happens if we do run out of chocolate cakes. However some do demand for the banana cake when we are not serving them. More

Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

A good selection of food is available and is constantly refreshed. The tepanyaki grill was great as you could have your selection of fresh food cooked to order. The only down side to the restaurant was lack of ambience, but as long as you are not looking for a romantic night out I can recommend going to East.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to East. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed dining with us. Yes, as previously stated, we are more of a big, happy, buzzy, place rather than a small quiet and intimate although during times in the week it could be so. We are more of a foodie... More

london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I have just visited East. no complaints about the food it was as nice as it usually is, My complaint is about the fact that i asked for a J20 Orange Juice & passion fruit which came in a bottle clearly marked 'not for individual sale' considering you charge £2.20 per bottle when you can buy a multi pack of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Eastmanagement, Manager at East, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing to our attention the situation with the J2O. We have traced the stock you mentioned and found this to be a mistake on the part of our supplier. We were incorrectly sent 2 cases of J2Os of one flavour, Orange and Passion fruit. We do not have a fridge full of “Not to be sold Individually”... More

Travelers who viewed East also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing