We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Hatfield Peverel Restaurants

Duke of Wellington

The Street, Hatfield Peverel CM3 2EA, England
01245 380246
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Duke of Wellington is a busy pub in the heart of Hatfield Peverel. It is just 7 miles outside Chelmsford, and the perfect place for anything from a light lunch to a three course dinner. We have an exstensive wine menu with a range of world wines, and a cask marque for our real ale. Recently rated 4star by the food assosiation and environmental health.

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    23
    17
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Giggleswick, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014 NEW

Food is adequate and the cost is reasonable. Friendly staff though the service was slow. If you are looking for an average price meal then this pub is just the ticket.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I came on here to write a positive review having eaten here twice - and was slightly surprised at some of the negative ones on here. Went here last week (Saturday lunch) with three adults and two children. The atmosphere was very nice. The staff were really good and very friendly. They made our children feel very welcome which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us here at The Duke such a great review that reflects our passion for great food and drink in a friendly and welcoming enviroment. Look forward to seeing you and your family on your next visit, Sarah More

essex
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Just left this place without being fed. Told there was a half hour wait for food when we ordered but it actually took longer than that. There were no roast dinners available on this Sunday at 5.30 pm. Ordered an 8oz rump steak instead. I was eventually served atwo small pieces of gristle on a plate next to each other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

This was our second visit within about 4 weeks, the first visit although they were very busy they soon seated us (4 adults) and service and food was reasonable. went again last night although it was busy when we arrived there was plenty of seats, we ordered our food and was told there would be a 40-45 minute wait, after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review from your visit. Whilst we are sorry you felt you were not communicated to the wait on food service was due to the large number of customers dining in our garden on a very busy sunny Sunday evening and the duty manager had noticed you had been waiting a little longer and gone to check... More

essex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014 via mobile

Lovely food.... Lovely wine.... No complaints from us :) Staff very friendly The decor in the restaurant is nice and modern and very clean Will definitely visit again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review and for taking the time to help us recognise all the hard work our team put into making The Duke a great place to visit!! Cheers!!! More

Leyland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

First visit to this pub when travelling out from Chelmsford on a busy Sunday evening. We found a table for four and ordered pre- meal drinks good choice of beers and wines and a plenty of choice in the menu to suit all. Two of choose the white bait starters and were both disappointed with the less than fresh of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your visit to our great pub but are sorry to hear you felt you waited longer than you would have liked to order dessert. We look forward to seeing you on your next travels trhough Essex. More

Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We have visited this Pub about three times in the last year. We have always been very satisfied until last night. Our friends and us were very disappointed with the meals. Certainly not up to their usual standard. When asked how our food was, we told them...........but no one acted upon this. So it is highly unlikely that we will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear you were no completely satisfied on this visit but as you have visited on previous occasions we would like to welcome you back to restore your faith in our usual high standards of service and quality. More

Braintree
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I have eaten here several times and have always been happy with the food and service. When the sun is out it has a nice outdoor play area for children. Will 100% be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review for us, our team strive to ensure each customer has a great visit and can enjoy all the pub has to offer. Hopefully you will be able to enjoy the garden and play area outside a little while longer before Autumn really sets in! More

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We went there on Tuesday 19/8/2014 for a Birthday Meal with Friends tables were booked and they knew we were coming Surprisingly the lack of bar staff to start having to wait a considerable time to get a drink this did get better but in a pub that was half full not a great start to the evening There was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and are sorry you felt disappointed with your visit. Experience has taught us that large groups ordering separately often leads to delays and this is why when there is sufficient lead time we request an advanced order from large groups. This also enables us to deliver all the meals together avoiding couples meals being separated... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch with husband and daughter. Food was good, only shame is not waitress service all the time, order food at the bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again for our fantastic Sunday Lunch! More

Travelers who viewed Duke of Wellington also viewed

Hatfield Peverel, Essex
Hatfield Peverel, Essex
 
Hatfield Peverel, Essex
Youngs End, Essex
 

Been to Duke of Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Wellington

Address: The Street, Hatfield Peverel CM3 2EA, England
Phone Number: 01245 380246
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Hatfield Peverel
Cuisine: English

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing